We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days before I would leave the grounds, and that was just for diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4 days before I would leave the grounds, and that was just for diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

There are still only good things to say about the Desert Riviera Hotel in Palm Springs. We enjoyed our March break stay there immensely! The staff are so wonderful and accommodating that it feels, to me in a way, like we are loved members of the family - indeed when we arrived, Larry greeted us with a "welcome home".
Our room was spotless and ready when we arrived because the cleaning staff had been asked to attend to our room first because Judy knew we were arriving early! The pool is kept deliciously warm and inviting, the fire pit is on in the evenings and early mornings, pool towels are supplied and there is always a cold beverage offered if needed.
There was even a barbecue evening hosted by Larry and Patty, with some dishes and salads supplied by some of the other wonderful staff.
I can tell you that we would never stay anywhere else in Palm Springs. One evening sitting around the fire we, with our Palm Springs, plotted to give them a not so stellar review so that people would booking the place up for months in advance,so that we could book impromptu vacations there! But, we couldn't do that... If you are looking for a charming boutique type of hotel, the Desert Riviera is the best of the best.
DR gang, we love you guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in room one which is the room we always book but there are others who always book other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    52
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
126
1,037
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had another great week at this special place with our returning friends and the awesome hotel family. Gumby did his regular stretching by the pool each and Mrs. Gumby had a great time relaxing and catching up. Thanks again to Larry, Patty, Judy and company for making our visit special as always. We've be back! Gumby

Room Tip: Room 1 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a wonderful two night stay at The Desert Riviera Hotel. Upon entering through the wrought iron gate a feeling of calm & relaxation takes over. A friendly, clean, well run oasis. Grab a towel, lounge by the pool and let the hummingbirds entertain you. Looking forward to returning one day.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just finishing up 3 nights at this great boutique hotel in Palm Springs. It's a completely redone 1950's mid-century modern motel that used to be the main type of lodging here. There are less than a dozen rooms all grouped around a central pool area. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and it has all the trappings of a high-end resort but without all the hassles, kids and extra charges. This was our first "adult" vacation away from our 7 year old, and it really was relaxing. When you check in you are greeted by the sister of the owner/operator who offers you a beer or wine while you check in. The office is full of movies, books, golf clubs, fresh fruit and even bikes -- and nothing is extra. The rooms are clean and maintain their 1950s charm while being modern at the same time.

This hotel is a great romantic spot -- it's very low-key and relaxing. Definitely recommend and we will be returning!

Room Tip: We were in room #10 -- double queen. Very nice room but it butts up against a main drag so there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've had the chance to stay at many hotels in PS and the desert palms has become one of my favorites. They really make you feel special and at home when you arrive and stay. The place is small and very inviting. When you arrive youre offered a beverage of your choice - beer, wine, soda, or water. The rooms have a welcome basket of great goodies. It's something that most hotels will charge if you decided to have a bite. They even have a bbq for you to grill a great dinner for you and youre guest. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

When you first arrive at the Desert Riviera you may wonder why it is rated at number 1 on Tripadvisor. It is clearly not the modern 5 star hotel which you might expect to find given the ratings - it is far better! From the moment you get to the check in desk and meet Judy, the pleasant ambience and relaxed atmosphere starts to have an impact.

Set around a nice pool, the rooms are large and the beds are comfortable and this, combined with quality linen, makes for an excellent night's sleep. There is a modern kitchenette which means that you don't have to eat out if you don't want to. The ensuite facilites comprise basin, shower and wc.

After a day sightseeing it is nice to relax at the poolside, or if it gets cooler later on, there is an open gas fire which is good to sit around once the sun has gone down.

If you want to know anything - ask Judy. It doesn't matter whether it is golf courses, restaurants or local attractions, she seems to know pretty much all there is to know about Palm Springs and the surrounding area. She even gave us a recommendation for somewhere to eat in Las Vegas - our next destination.

This place has character. It is relaxing. It is good value for money despite being fully booked at some times. The larger hotel chains would be green with envy at the average occupancy of the Desert Riviera.

This is the second time we have stayed here and we surely will again - if we can get in!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

You can read in EVERY single review below this one. From the second we arrived to the second we left, plain and simple it was the best customer service we have ever had not only in Palm Springs but any hotel we have stayed at.

It was our first time there and it felt like it was our 100th. Everyone from the staff to the guests knew us by first name and it felt like we were visiting family on an anual trip :)

I am a partner in an 8 chain restaurant group in southern Ca. I can only hope that we create the level of experience that we received at the Desert Riviera.

Not only was the customer service excellent but the grounds were pristine as well.

You better book your reservation now, because your going to have to fight us for one in the future!

Room Tip: I don't want to tell you the room to stay in because, we want it all to our selves :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.