We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Bridgenorth, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter and I returned for our third stay and it was just like old home week. It was great to catch up with Larry, Patty, Steve, Judy and Jay. Everything at the hotel was as beautiful and relaxing as always. We loved the new Harley Davidson Limo and thoroughly enjoyed Jay driving us to dinner downtown. The car is quite a head turner and conversation piece.
We enjoyed the local restaurants. Every morning we would walk to Elmers and have breakfast or brunch. It is clean with great service and great food. Very reasonable and consistent The Lyons is also within walking distance and has excellent prime rib for dinner. (or seafood and steaks)
Also loved Melvyns downtown...wonderful steak and sea food. The restaurant is a window to the bygone days of the Rat Pack era. It is a marvellous fine dining restaurant and worth every penny.
We always go to the fire bar at Matchbox downtown for happy hour and appetizers. Such a great view of the main drag and you meet lots of interesting people there.
It is always nice to return to our hotel and enjoy the beautiful grounds, heated pool, and comfy rooms.
Now that I am back to Canada and enduring our crazy winter storms, I am already dreaming of next years trip to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,245
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
929
39
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marysville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms are fun and functional but still retro. The property is Perfect! So pretty and a nice place to end a day of activities. The hosts are really great. There when you need them but out of the way when you want romance or privacy. Loved everything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

As always this is a place that never disappoint us. This time we took the opportunity to ride with Jay and the awesome new limousine to a night out on town. He made us feel like celebrities and we had the best night! This hotel has the best owners, staff, service and sheets you can possibly think of.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Desert Riviera is delightful from the moment you step on the property. The owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly, and our every request was promptly met with good cheer. This is a small property with a big, heated pool that is lovely and peaceful for daytime relaxation. In the evening, guests can gather around the fire pit -- the perfect foil for chilly desert evenings -- and chat over a glass of wine. It's a nice way to connect with other guests if you want to. The rooms are extremely clean and tidy with the added bonus of heavenly, cloud-like pillows (not always the case with hotel beds!). There is a welcoming basket of snacks in the room, a complimentary coffee/tea self-serve area near the lobby, a nicely-stocked little library (both books and DVDs), and bicycles for those who want them. Overall, we had a very pleasant 3-night stay and would most definitely return.

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms, and they all open onto the pool area. The lower numbers may be the quietes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The Desert Riviera is a great place to relax and unwind. The staff are welcoming and call you by name. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Every other guest that we met was a repeat visitor. This was our first trip to Palm Springs and we'll definitely stay at the Desert Riviera when we return. The location is fantastic (an easy drive from the airport, to the downtown area, the outlet mall, and El Paseo, aka the Rodeo Drive of the Desert and if you don't want to drive there are a number of restaurants within walking distance.) Read the previous reviews for more detail (they are all true!). The Desert Riviera does not disappoint!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I hate to say too much because even more people will want to come and I won't be able to get a room. Notwithstanding, this is a funky little 1950's motel (11 rooms) that has been completely and tastefully remodeled. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the price is reasonable. Best of all, they don't nickel and dime you for all the amenities and there are many (wifi, shuttle, bicycles, etc). Other hotels/motels might want to take notes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a solo stay mid week recently. The place was clean and the employees were nice. The hedges wrap around the pool and keep things pretty quiet and private. I was surprised the hot tub wasn't very hot. The hotel has some nice amenities, beverages, movies, and fresh fruit. They are returning a phone charger I left behind so kudos for that... I wish they would have been more understanding as I had a crisis at home and had to cut my stay a day short. The fact that they didn't offer a future nights credit or refund of some amount seperates them from a true first class/5 star environment. Ultimately, nice enough but not at the top of my list for my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list