We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save Saved
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Palm Springs
vancouver, bc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thank you Trip Advisors for recommending this place so highly. We normally stay at big, high end hotels, but this time we wanted to go somewhere different for our 11th anniversary. We couldn't have chosen a nicer place. This family run establishment was quiet, peaceful, friendly, comfortable, extremely clean and refreshingly unpretentious. When you pay a good rate for a place to stay, it's nice to finally not be dinged by daily valet parking fees, resort fees and internet access. The pool lounge area included a hot tub, a BBQ, heaters, a fireplace, beach towels and sunscreen.

When we checked in, KC asked us what we wanted to do and gave us a list of restaurants to choose from and also shopping information. ( There is no room service but you can order in if you wish.) We arrived before check in time so we expected to wait, but it was not a problem. He checked our room (#6) before we went in. We later met Judy and her daughter who introduced themselves to us and were kind, gracious and hospitable. They offered their limo service if we needed it but we had a rental car. The accommodations were exactly as portrayed on their website. Cool, retro style with high quality towels, linens and amenities. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. It was spacious with a flat screen TV, seating area, kitchen area, bathroom with shower and two huge closets. Air conditioning options included a ceiling fan, air conditioner and a couple of fans. Overall the atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. Just perfect for a couple of tired parents who dream of sleeping in.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone who needs a little R&R. 5 minute drive to downtown Palm Springs, 15 minutes to tramway and 30 minutes to Desert Hill Premier Outlet mall.

Highlights: eating dinner at Lulu's Bistro and the Tramway. Also the Thursday night market in downtown Palm Springs.

Good to know: Places tend to close down early, so don't expect a lot of nightlife on the streets after 9pm.

Someone mentioned traffic noise, but it wasn't much of an issue for us. We're from the city so we're used to it. Also there isn't any traffic after 9pm anyway. We've stayed at large resort properties where you hear maintenance or service carts or drunks in the hallways at 2 am.

Room Tip: Initially we wanted a room away from the pool, because we were concerned it would be too noisy, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    51
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
971
39
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is my second stay here and if possible it was even better than before. From the moment you arrive to the minute you leave you feel like a VIP guest. The 10 rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, with a kitchenette and lots of complimentary extras such as snacks and sodas.The pool and gardens are beautifully kept and the place transforms at night with flickering candles and the inviting fire pit lit for guests to enjoy. But what sets this apart from other hotels is the attention to detail and warm welcome you get from the wonderful Judy, Steve, Larry and Patty. They really do make you feel very special. They will help you choose a restaurant, book it for you and then drive you there in the complimentary limo service. Then if that's not enough they will pick you up as well! On coming back after our meal out we then sat by the fire pit for a night cap. I cannot recommend this hotel enough! It is small and intimate and a real oasis in the desert!
Tips : they do not have a license so take your own booze and thy do not serve any food so be prepared to eat out or bring food back. You could even use their BBQ by the pool. This place would be perfect for a group, friends or couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was the best vacation we have ever had! In a time when the art of cutomer service seems to be lost, these folks have not only resurected it, but they excel in it. The hotel was clean, more than we expectednd oh so relaxing...the pool and hot tub were fantastic, but most of all the personal attention that we received, and the genuine desire to make our stay extra special is what makes this place unique and one you should consider, it's so worth it! You can relax by the pool or take in the sights, either way, they are there to help you in any way that you need, even helping to get a rental car, that comes right to your door! The ultimate in service, but you only see them when you need then or want them. I am usually quite critical, but I can't find anything negative to say, so do enjoy! Ellen & Mike

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with a Palm Springs getaway weekend. We were debating between this hotel and the Ace Hotel (located across the street), and we were very happy with our decision to stay at the Desert Riviera. This place is much, much quieter than the Ace. The pool and courtyard are serene, and clearly everybody is there to relax and enjoy the sun. The rooms have been beautifully renovated to the best of the Don Draper era. They also have a complimentary limo. Most importantly, everybody working here is so kind and accommodating. My wife and I will be back for many years to come. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and myself stayed at the Desert Reviera Hotel for two nights in the middle of october 2012 en route to Las Vegas and the the continuation of our holiday. I cannot praise this little gem of a hotel enough. Judy and Steve who run the hotel made us feel so at home ,helped with finding the perfect restaurants,printing out maps and advice about anything we asked, including Pappy and Harriets (Judy can explain this one) The hotel is beautiful, well maintaned gardens complete with humming birds.Complimentory bikes if that takes your fancy ,even sun lotion if you prefer the day by the pool. It set a standard that was never met at any of the other places we stayed, we only had two nights would now have preferred to have stayed five nights and given Las Vegas a miss.Will return sooner rather than later. Thankyou Steve and Judy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Larry, Patty & Judy have created an exceptional experience at the Desert Riviera. This is by far the best place in Palm Springs to stay (or anywhere else). The attention to guest needs is remarkable. Even though we rented a car, we couldn't resist a ride in the Harley Davidson limo (thanks Patty, great idea!!!!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second stay at the Desert Riviera and there will be many more in the future. The owners treat you more like long lost family, the rooms are spacious and well kept, and the quiet courtyard and pool make a great place to relax when you're finished with your adventures for the day. Many of the guests come and sit by the fire pit in the evenings...we've met great people from around the world. There are bicycles for use in the day and if you're in that sort of mood a limo to drop you downtown for dinner. Only 10 rooms keeps it intimate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.