We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best couples hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Riviera Hotel
Save
You added Desert Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
El Segundo, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best couples hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I went to Desert Rivera for our 12th wedding anniversary (we also went for our 10th). If you want to get away form everything and relax, this is the place to go. We were extremely fortunate to have 80+ degree weather for our November trip and spent most afternoons lounging about the quiet and heated pool. As much as we love our son, we love having a place to go where there are only other adults lounging about. No screaming, splashing children at this pool. The limo service to and from dinner is excellent and the staff has excellent knowledge of the area restaurants. We look forward to future anniversaries spent in such a peaceful, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    52
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
123
1,025
39
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

TripAdvisor has done it again! Desert Riviera was rated at the top for Palm Springs lodgings, and it didn't disappoint. Like our stay last summer at the Phoenix in San Francisco, the DR is a remodeled 50s-60s motel, but with a stylistic flair and an accent on generous comfort. The owners/hosts, Larry and Patti, were so amazingly helpful, providing snacks, coffee, making reservations at local restaurant, recommendations, and always cheerful and fun. When we were there we found out that the NY Times had just done a profile on the DR. Hopefully, that won't make it too busy to get a room because we intend to come back.

Room Tip: We liked Room 8 with the little enclosed patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Desert Riviera deserves to be #1 in Palm Springs. As world travelers with extensive experience with B&Bs, 5 star hotels and everything inbetween, we were delighted with the warmth of our welcome and the extensive range of amenities that the owners/hosts, Larry and Patty Stearns, offer their guests. No detail for your comfort is overlooked. The place is well-maintained - immaculate! We stayed in their largest room with a separate kitchen which was spotless. The decor is well-conceived and well-executed. It was a pleasure to be in the room then walk out to the pool surrounded by imaginative landscaping. The entire place glows with care and attention. Desert Riviera gives you an opportunity to support an independent local business and you will really get value for your money. We feel terrific about staying there and wouldn't hesitate to go back. You will love this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

we had a fantastic two nights at the Desert Riviera Hotel. It was beautiful right from the start when we walked in the gate to see a little hummingbird hovering around us. The staff were all incredibly friendly and the facilities were wonderful. We loved the DVD options, the complimentary coffee and fruit, the gorgeous pool, and most of all the wonderful friendliness of everyone. We wanted to stay longer and we will definitely be back again. I woudl recommend this place to everyone! This is one of our favourite travel destinations now (and both of us travel a lot!). We are planning to visit every time we come to the US now, which is a few times a year. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: We selected a room adjacent to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for ten days in early November and were extrememly pleased with the property. Everything was immaculately clean, from the grounds to the rooms to the office and the staff went above and beyond what you would normally experience at a hotel. The rooms were spacious and the beds were huge and comfortable. The view of the mountains was spectacular and the pool was wonderful. THe only thing we would have liked to have seen that was not there was a safe in the room for valuables but that was not a major inconvenience and would not deter us from staying there again. If you are thinking of staying here, don't hesitate. Call now. Book the room.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the lower number rooms because the higher number rooms have views that are blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Let me say for starters I have never actually spent the time to review either a restaurant or a hotel until now. Upon returning home I felt compelled to express my sheer delight at staying at this property. First off, it is a beautiful setting. If you're into mid century architecture, the Desert Riviera is a feast for your senses. The only thing that exceeds the beauty of the property is the care and attention we received from the owners. Larry owns this property and the Hotel California which is nearly adjacent. We came with little or no expectations and left with the desire to return as soon as possible. This experience has completely changed my opinions on so called high end properties like the Four Seasons, etc. If your decide to stay at this hotel, you will NOT regret it. The bed afforded me the best night's sleep in months. For a first visit to Palm Springs, We felt completely at home and comfortable during our stay. If you're on the fence as far as where to stay in Palm Springs, GET OFF THE FENCE. Kudos to your complimentary limo service and driver and the fantastic staff that you employ.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. My husband couldn't go at the last minute and Larry and Patty made sure I felt comfortable, looked after me, and spent time chatting with me. They even let me have a late check out so I could enjoy their warm and wonderful pool. The area is like an oasis with hummingbirds and even a fire pit! Jay, the limo driver, was great too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.