We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciation for architecture and books, dvds to boot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Springs Visitor Center

Palm Springs Visitor Center
2901 N Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
760 778 8418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 60 Activities in Palm Springs
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Appreciation for architecture and books, dvds to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hubbie and I came to Palm Spring to take in some mid-century modern architecture. This being one of them (way back used to a gas station) which was taken over as a visitor's center which a great this to do - repurposing a building use. Staff inside were helpful in getting the books and dvds we were wanting and offered suggestions for our stay.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    10
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Celebrity homes self tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Provided with a map for $5 dollars to drive to celebrity homes. We saw a few just for novelty. Visitor centre itself not worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had only a few days in Palm Springs and wanted to put together a tailor made itinerary. The visitor centre was fantastically helpful. In addition to directing us to the main attractions such as the tram they told us about an app we could download which is a self guided tour of the architectural gems of the town. We each downloaded a copy the night before our tour and watched the videos and read up on the info in the app before marking our favourites and creating our own custom made tour to do in the car the next day. It was excellent. The map even shows your location in the car relative to the buildings you are looking for so you don't get lost. The app costs just a few dollars and is worth it. It is also a great souvenir and you can show it to others when you get home.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting building at the entry to Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was an old gas station that has been re-purposed as the visitor information center. It has the classic modern architecture so prevalent in Palm Springs. There are free maps available and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is at the base of the road leading to the tram so a good stop if you are heading up the tram.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Begin a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was open on Sunday! There was a very helpful and friendly man running the center when we stopped it. He had lots of suggestions and there was quite a bit of literature available. This is located right at the beginning of the road to the tram. The tram, unfortunately, was closed during most of August for maintenance. This was also a good place to get information if you want to do the self-guided tour of mid-century modern architecture. There is a downloadable audio guide for iPhone and Android which you can use, and there is a free map to show you where the buildings are located. A word of advice if you do this on your own: use a GPS and enter the various addresses into it because the map is not to scale and is missing many essential streets.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Visitor Center also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Palm Springs Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Springs Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.