We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrity homes self tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Springs Visitor Center

Palm Springs Visitor Center
2901 N Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
760 778 8418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 100 things to do in Palm Springs
Attraction details
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Celebrity homes self tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Provided with a map for $5 dollars to drive to celebrity homes. We saw a few just for novelty. Visitor centre itself not worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    10
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had only a few days in Palm Springs and wanted to put together a tailor made itinerary. The visitor centre was fantastically helpful. In addition to directing us to the main attractions such as the tram they told us about an app we could download which is a self guided tour of the architectural gems of the town. We each downloaded a copy the night before our tour and watched the videos and read up on the info in the app before marking our favourites and creating our own custom made tour to do in the car the next day. It was excellent. The map even shows your location in the car relative to the buildings you are looking for so you don't get lost. The app costs just a few dollars and is worth it. It is also a great souvenir and you can show it to others when you get home.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting building at the entry to Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was an old gas station that has been re-purposed as the visitor information center. It has the classic modern architecture so prevalent in Palm Springs. There are free maps available and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is at the base of the road leading to the tram so a good stop if you are heading up the tram.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Begin a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was open on Sunday! There was a very helpful and friendly man running the center when we stopped it. He had lots of suggestions and there was quite a bit of literature available. This is located right at the beginning of the road to the tram. The tram, unfortunately, was closed during most of August for maintenance. This was also a good place to get information if you want to do the self-guided tour of mid-century modern architecture. There is a downloadable audio guide for iPhone and Android which you can use, and there is a free map to show you where the buildings are located. A word of advice if you do this on your own: use a GPS and enter the various addresses into it because the map is not to scale and is missing many essential streets.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not particularly helpful...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

While the building and facilities were nice and very clean, the main reason for going to the center is to get information on local activities and honestly, I am not sure if the workers there at the time actually live in the area or have even driven through. We had limited access to internet for a few days prior to our visit, so we could not do our usual research on local activities. My wife asked about activities for families/children and the response was "We have nothing for children here"....eventually he came up with the Tramway (the main tourist attraction with the big sign right outside the Visitor Center.) The other questions we asked about were hiking and nearby parks (ie Joshua Tree), but they did not have any info on those activities. We don't like to give negative reviews, especially since the staff were friendly, but they really had no information outside of the brochures...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Visitor Center also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Springs Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.