We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan in the Desert

Manhattan in the Desert
2665 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-4827
760-322-3354
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan in the Desert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 262 restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Farrell
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

As a native New Yorker, the true test of a great deli is pastrami on rye. I can say without reservation, that " Manhattan in the Desert" is a piece of the "Big Apple." Don't forget the potato salad and the cole slaw!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    142
    75
    31
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

After waiting over twenty minutes for a table, but feeling it was justified by the good ratings on this site, we ordered typical diner fare: pastrami sandwich and club sandwich.

The first unpleasant experience is the level of noise - either everybody is yelling or the acoustics magnify sounds. You have a choice of not talking to your partner or joining in the cacophony and screaming too.

The second unpleasantness comes with the first bite of pastrami: it is SALTY!!! Sure, there is lots of meat and if one's grade were to be based on portion size, this would rate top marks. However, quality of food in my book is far more important than how much the kitchen has stuffed between two pieces of bread.

The third unpleasantness occurs as I reach for the mustard dispenser (the sandwich consists of bread and meat, period). The squirt bottle is so greasy I don't want to touch my sandwich afterwards without wiping my fingers with Purell first. The mustard helps the pastrami go down, but I know I'll be drinking water for several hours to offset this salt overdose.

The club sandwich was rated a 6 or 7 out of 10 by my partner. In other words, not too bad but not worth a second visit. As to this pastrami sandwich, I give it no more than a 3. Anyone who has tasted the pastrami at Schwartz's Deli in Montreal, Canada, knows that few places come close to matching its superb flavour; Manhattan in the Desert's offering is not even in the same league.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of New York in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

There were few restaurant options on Christmas Day, so we ended up at Manhattan in the Desert. You immediately see the impressively humongous desserts in the case when you walk in. The menu has tons of choices...maybe too many, but everyone in your party will find something to eat. The portions were huge and the service was good. The food was good and you will leave satisfied.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot in PS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our breakfast group just finished it's month long visit here for Dec. 2012. We had breakfast here each Wed. for the month, and some of us are regretting the fact that we will move on to another restaurant for Jan. 2013. Manhattan in the Desert has provided outstanding serve and food on each visit. Happily they set us up in their back room for greater privacy and better attention. While they have a menu that one would ordinarily find at a deli restaurant, they have recently introduced a number of different items to attract our taste buds. Today I had their lox, onion, tomato, scrambled egg combo on a cream cheese covered bagel, and it was outstanding! One gets rather tired of the average omelet for breakfast, but not something like this delight. Next time I think I'll go for their breakfast egg sandwich, but that will have to wait until the group finds its way back to this very well run and friendly restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Deli's in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Manhattan is always a treat. The food is fantastic. They have one of the best bakeries in town. Their sandwiches and food are amazing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan in the Desert also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Manhattan in the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan in the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.