We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Christmas holiday spent at The Old Ranch Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Ranch Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Patencio Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPECIAL SUMMER RATES
Ranked #9 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandy, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A memorable Christmas holiday spent at The Old Ranch Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

We were looking for a quiet, cozy place to avoid the hurried atmosphere of the usual Christmas rush...we found the perfect setting at the Old Ranch Inn. Our room was tastefully decorated in Old World charm and the bed was so comfortable we drifted off to dreamland very easily. Ed and Larry, the proprietors, made us feel like family and we looked forward to Ed's homemade muffins each morning baked in the outdoor oven on the lovely patio, where we also enjoyed picking luscious grapefuits, lemons and tangerines off the trees adjacent to the pool. Ed obliging helped us with suggestions of economical restaurants and a place for spa treatments. We loved their attention to detail in the rooms such as leaving a box of Christmas candy on our bed Christmas morning down to decorative wine glasses for our use in the kitchen. We definitely plan to repeat our visit to this quaint inn! Sylvia & Doug Buchanan, Sandy, Utah

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    46
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
383
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

This Inn proved to be our best yet Palm Springs experience. We will definitely return next year. The rooms are tastefully decorated, every little thing is thought of and the owners are so pleasant talk to. The pool area is wind protected and very picturesque. We also own a B&B and would highly recommend this one to our clients. Very clean, efficient and lovely to look at.

  • Liked — quiet peaceful location
  • Disliked — needed an area in the room with mirror and lighting for putting on makeup
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from the Old Ranch Inn where we spent 3 glorious nights. It's hard to come up with anything new to say about this wonderful wonderful little inn; the other reviews say it all. The facility and courtyard are beautiful, the rooms are lovely, comfortable and immaculate. The location is great - tucked into the charming "old" Palm Springs residential area and just a few short blocks from Palm Canyon Drive. Larry and Ed are the perfect hosts. They are exactly the right people to be running a place like this. From the moment we walked through the wrought iron gate and ate our first luscious tangerine fresh from the tree, we knew we were in for a treat. I would not hesitate to recommend this inn to anyone who wants a special place to escape from everyday life. It was one of the most relaxing and lovely getaways we have ever had. What's not to like about a pool right outside your bedroom door and palm trees overhead? Our friends were staying at a large older resort hotel in Indian Wells and the moment they walked into our little desert oasis, they booked themselves a 3 night stay.

  • Liked — beautiful ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

This is a fantastic place to stay when in Palm Springs! The Old Ranch Inn is a quaint, cozy, romantic and execeptionally clean accomodation. Ed and Larry are wonderfully hospitable hosts, who are eager to make your stay memorable. They have put a great deal of thoughtfulness into the Inn. They provided fantastic recommendations when we were looking for restaurants and bars to experience the local fare and ambience of the region. They are great ambassadors of Palm Springs provided great insight into the history of the area. The location was perfect - 4 blocks from downtown Palm Springs - safe and easy to walk at night!

The rooms were well decorated, appointed and contained small kitchenettes (which meant we could make coffee and breakfast in the morning, prepare light lunches, etc.). A bonus was being able to enjoy fresh grapefuit from the fruit tree next to the pool. The beds were very comfortable, and the pool area was serene and lovely to linger at all day long. The views of the mountains with the swaying palm trees and bright sunshine made for relaxing afternoons by the pool.

We have stayed at some of the best accomodation all over the world, so what made the Old Ranch Inn so great? For us, it was all of the above, but especially the pool area, and Ed and Larry's hospitality. Ed and Larry make the Inn special because of the importance they place on their guests and their attention to detail. We will come back!

Jane and Ken Fedoretz
Calgary, Alberta CANADA

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Il.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

The Old Ranch Inn was as delightful as all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor had indicated. The property is an exquisitely refurbished older property in the tennis club district -- but close enough to town that even this lazy traveler could easily walk to dinner, etc. But the best reasons to stay there are the hosts, Larry and Ed -- they made me feel comfortable even before arrival. Ed gave several great dining recommendations over the phone when I asked about places I might dine solo on Christmas Eve (Zin was a winner). And when casually asked about where one might see overdone Christmas lights in Palm Springs, they researched and produced a sheet with driving directions which they distributed to all the guests! The only downside was the small area of sunny space around the pool at winter solstice time of year, but this was more than compensated for by beautifully styled and equipped rooms, wi-fi everywhere, beds and bedding so comfortable that I overslept every day, and the lovely atmosphere created by genial hosts.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

The reviews are true... this place is wonderful! My husband and I were even lucky enough to have the place to ourselves the first night. Ed and Larry are extremely gracious and helpful, and we felt right at home in our luxurious room by the pool. As the manager of a hotel myself, I was very impressed with their commitment to service and the way they personally respond to their guests' needs. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

This is the most charming and comfortable place we have stayed
in Palm Springs, and it is so convenient to walk in the center of Palm Springs. We have been there at least 6 times and have never failed to have a wonderful time. Great service. Ed and Larry, the owners, are wonderful hosts. I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — charm of rooms, hospitality of owners
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Address: 220 South Patencio Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.