We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks every box.....and then some.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Ranch Inn to your Saves list
Old Ranch Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South Patencio Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPECIAL SEASON GUEST RATE
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ticks every box.....and then some.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We first reviewed The Old Ranch Inn in 2007 - having been back several times since then, this is our review of our stay 5th sept - 9th sept 2012.
We booked Room 8 again - this room has a great position for opening up your bedroom door and taking 3 steps into the wonderful pool. It also has a little private side patio area with table and chairs. Tastefully appointed and all the amenities you could wish for - you simply can't fault the accommodation, the pool and patios and the wonderful mountain views at the Old Ranch Inn (and all only a few minutes stroll from South Palm Canyon Drive). What makes this place absolutely stand out from the competition is the ambience created by the owners, Ed and Larry. They haven't simply bought an inn and left it to others to run - they personally look after guests from booking through to departure and are present every day - not in your face, but warmly attentive, for example, bringing cold bottles of water out to guests each afternoon at the pool (definitely welcomed in the 100 degree heat!), checking us in for flights etc . Ed and Larry offer so much more than simply accommodation for your stay - they are great hosts who clearly have real pride & passion in the service they offer their customers. Our 4 days were wonderful - we left once again feeling so relaxed - Palm Springs is a glorious place for a chill-out break (just what we wanted before hitting Vegas!) and the Old Ranch Inn is definitely the oasis in this desert.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5, 7 and 8 open onto the pool. If you are an early riser, sitting watching the sun come u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    46
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
391
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

my experience at the old ranch inn was amazing. i stayed for three nights and truly felt that it was like staying in a private home. it was so peaceful and of course very very clean. ed and larry are so warm and welcoming.
the location is perfect, close to the airport, walking distance to restaurants and a beautiful view.
thank you larry and ed for the old ranch inn.
if you are reading this review, know that you will have an amazing stay at the old ranch inn.
i will be back i soon.
jodi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Called and had the manager hold two rooms for me, while I booked our air reservations. He seemed happy to do it, and said he'd hold the rooms for 24 hours. October is a busy time of year, and not much else was available, so I felt releived. Looked like a fun place to stay! Called back well with the 24 hour period and found that he had rented out one of the rooms. No apology whatsoever, just said he'd rented them out. This type of management can often ruin a vacation...so I guess in a way we're lucky. Be careful here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the moment you arrive it was like meeting old friends Ed & Larry are so warm & welcoming. Lovely room & very cozy. Walking distance to restaurants & $6.00 cab ride to casino. Check out Larry`s tile art work as you walk to the office, really cool.
Looking forward to going back real soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to the Old Ranch Inn-- and it was even better than we had hoped for! All three of us (myself, husband, and 19-year-old daughter) were each looking for something different . . . daughter just wanted a pool, lounge chair, and nearby shopping . . . I wanted to be able to take early morning walks into town, have a good cup of hot coffee when I got back, and a quiet swim later in the day/evening . . . and hubby just wanted to "veg" in a comfortable stress-free setting with wi-fi, TV, and restaurants. ORI and its wonderfully hospitable proprietors, Larry and Ed, more than met our wishes and expectations. We definitely plan a return visit in the near future!

The ORI is located in the historical (and Old Hollywood-pedigreed) Tennis Club district of Palm Springs. (The inn across the way was once owned by Gloria Swanson.) If you are looking for a small, quiet place (8 suites total)—with a location that is walking distance (3 easy blocks) to the center of downtown Palm Springs . . . along with a lovely pool, gardens, and a kitchen patio filled with bubbling fountains and even a fire pit—then ORI is the perfect choice. Guest are all adults (our teenager was a very adult-like exception, I believe), and seem to take their cue from the friendly and respectful behavior modeled by both Ed and Larry. Here is a place where you can be as chatty or private as you wish—during our midweek stay we met some lovely folks from Canada, Northern England, and San Diego.

Ed and Larry are great fun—and excellent resources for restaurant recommendations, cold bottles of water, and great conversation. They know so much about what’s happening in PS—history, events, civic issues . . . you name it! And they make sure that morning coffee and fruit “by the pool” are always ready for early-risers like me. Because there were three of us, we booked the property’s largest suite (separate bedroom with king bed, living room with fold-out couch, and kitchenette . . . unit #2). The kitchen is well equipped (fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, cutlery) . . . big bathroom . . . good AC . . . and there is easy on-site and street parking. We highly recommend the Old Ranch Inn . . . (but kinda hate to give the secret away, lol)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiddingfold
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

On arrival, Ed and Larry wanted to know what had kept us away!! They quickly pointed out that it had been three years since our previous visit! They were spot-on, it had been three years but we noted that there had been absolutely no decline in the warm hospitable welcome for which they are famed! From first enquiry to farewell handshake, we were made to feel like old friends. The room decor, the poolside ambience, the attention to detail, all came together to provide a stay that was relaxing and refreshing!! Within easy walking distance of Palm Canyon Drive and its wide variety of restaurants, we were able to leave the car and thus enjoy a glass of the local wine - and the walk home helped with our digestion!! So much to see, so much to do, so much you will miss out on if you ignore this wonderful Inn!!

Room Tip: Ask Larry for his 'favourite!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We decided to go to Palm Springs for our Anniversary, and I found Old Ranch Inn on Trip Advisor. Well, all the glowing reviews were accurate! It's a wonderful place to stay, pretty room, very cozy, extremely convenient to the main drag in Palm Springs, and the owners are fabulous. Larry and Ed are so friendly and helpful in every way. Larry recommended a great restaurant, for our Anniversary dinner, and made reservations for us. The bathroom in the room was very nice, and it was so handy having a little kitchenette, not only with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, but dishes and utensils. We checked in the middle of the week and no one else was staying there yet, but even when some people arrived, there are only 8 units, so it is quiet with a very private feel. The pool was available 24/7 and since we were there during an extremely hot/humid period, we used the pool a lot. We will definitely be going back to Palm Springs and staying at the Old Ranch Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Address: 220 South Patencio Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Ranch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.