We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a real Hard Rock hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   150 South Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Zoso Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT - LOWEST RATE
Ranked #42 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Palm Springs
1 review
“not a real Hard Rock hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at Hard Rock hotels in other locations and the one in Palm Springs does not live up to the hype. There are several problems with this hotel. It looks like a mediocre hotel was purchased, some Hard Rock trade dress added on and now its called a Hard Rock hotel. This is not a real hard Rock Hotel. We reserved 2 rooms with a patio to the pool and requested "early " check-in at 1pm. We got there at 2pm and our rooms were not ready. They made us wait until 3:30pm to get our rooms. We waited at the lobby bar and patiently watched a game until they called us. There was nobody behind the bar to serve us so we had to constantly go to the restaurant and order a drink and walk back each time.

At 3:30 they finally called us to say the rooms are ready. They gave us one patio room and a second room which was incorrect. I had to call the manager to get this fixed and they had screwed up booking so there was no second patio room available.

The room I stayed in was their most expensive room but it was not impressive at all. I could have just stayed at Best Western and gotten the same type of room. Sure it had some Hard Rock decorations but that's about it.

The mattress was old and was not comfortable. The pillows were small and also not comfortable. It was an overall very disappointing experience. So disappointing that I had to write this review. Save your money and stay anywhere but Hard Rock in Palm Springs. Other Hard Rock Hotels are nice but not the one in Palm Springs

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    61
    43
    45
    33
See reviews for
34
100
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are planning to be drunk all weekend long and don't care about a filthy pool, poor service and no amenities come and party at the hard rock hotel. Otherwise stay away from this place specially if you come with your family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had the best trip because Kyle took care of every little problem there was during our trip. It is really important to have a competent staff in the hospitality industry, and HRH Palm Springs really impressed us with their attentive team of managers and well trained employees. I'll be going back in two weeks to have another great experience. -Ed

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love_All_PS, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Edwin, thank you for your review and taking the time to give a shout out to Kyle! We think he rocks as well and we'll let him know you said so!
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall the hotel is beautiful. They have a great restaurant called Sessions with wonderful food. The pool is nice and on the weekends they have a live DJ. The only thing less than wonderful is their spa. They don't have any spa amenities; only treatment rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love_All_PS, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Kimberlee,
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! Sorry we don't have the room for a sauna and other amenities, but the ones we do have are spectacular! Hope you enjoyed one of the amazing massages by our therapists!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiguaviva, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think that the global experience is irregular, there are very good points but there are another that need to be improved, specially at weekends.
The Good:
Location is perfect and can't be beaten, it's very central and plenty of restaurants around.
Rooms were also very clean, spacious and very nice decorated and I didn't saw problems on cleanliness on the hotel as other reviews said.

The Bad:
We stay three days, one at Saturday night and then Saturday and Monday night. The Saturday there were a lot of people and the hotel was overwhelmed. The pool was full, it was impossible to get and umbrella (that's very important in Palm Springs summer), and after asking for an hour to 5 different people I wasn't able to get a towel. There was also a lot of drunk people.
After Saturday night and specially the Monday the service improved as the hotel was not so overwhelmed.
Another minor problem were that Fridge wasn't usable because is full of beverages that you can remove because there's automatic computerized minibar. Our electronic keys were reset every day and we have to go to reception to reactivate it.

Room Tip: Be careful specially at weekends. If you want a quietly room ask for one as far as possible from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love_All_PS, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Lujop!
We are so thrilled to have a guest from Spain staying with us! I'm sorry the pool party was not your scene; for sure it can be overwhelming if you are looking for quiet solitude! Please come back mid-week when it is quieter. And don't forget there is now a Hard Rock in Ibiza! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent! Very accommodating. We walked in off the street after a huge disappointment from a nearby hotel. Clean! Got great rates and early check in. Needless to say we immediately checked out of the 'roach hotel' and into the HR. They definitely made our trip a 'winner'. Thanks HR. Will definitely stay with you again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love_All_PS, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
3 Cohen Girls you are welcome back any time! Glad we could rock your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is similar to the chain's restaurants - all image and bluster, but not so much on the delivery.

I chose this hotel because I have stayed at this location before Hard Rock took it over a year or so ago. First, the location can't be beat; you are right in downtown Palm Springs - that's the good news. Let me break this down by category:

Housekeeping: It is true what other have said about cleanliness - the property is not kept very clean. I find this amazing, because they just spent a gwap of money refurbishing it after buying the former Hotel Zoso. Why they don't take care of their investment I do not know. The elevators were unclean, the floors needed vacuuming, room service trays needed picking up etcetera. The lobby seemed clean, but they can do so much better.

Fees: This was irritating to say the least. I don't think there should be an add-on of about 50% of the room rate to my bill to cover fees and taxes. Taxes are inevitable - I get that. But why a $35 per day resort fee for nothing? There are no tennis courts, no health club that I ever saw, not even a daily newspaper. They do have WiFi, but that costs them nothing. Also, they have mandatory valet parking, and they charged me additional daily parking because I drove separately - 2 cars = $$. Really ridiculous.

Rooms: The rooms were pretty nice overall. However, you can't really use the fridge because it is stuffed with various liquor that they want you to buy. I managed to make a small slot to put in some homemade salsa that I brought from home, and upon checkout, they wanted to charge me for minibar consumption because the fridge "sensed" that I had taken items out. TV was limited also, but I don't go on vacation to watch TV anyway.

Pool: For a place like this, I was very disappointed in the pool area. Palm Springs in summer gets up to around 110F in the shade, so it is important to have shade. There wasn't much of it to be had. Not nearly enough umbrella and misters. We didn't stay very long out there because we couldn't get an umbrella, even though we got out to the pool pretty early. Also, they sell pool passes for $20 to all comers. Anyone who wants to come into the pool area (evidently some people think this would be fun) are allowed to come in and take up space that I am paying for as a guest. I've never heard of this before, and I am not cool with it at all. Why should my limited pool space be taken by non-guests? This is a bad, money grubbing policy.

Bar: The lobby bar is pretty nice overall. They do have a roped off "VIP" section that can't be used by us common paying guests. I imagine it is reserved for those who offer large tips or fees. This is ridiculous, because it is a lobby bar - not a Las Vegas nightclub. They had a DJ each night, who was not particularly good. Couldn't figure out what he was trying to do; not house, not electronica, not hip hop, but something different, mixing a bunch of oldies. Experimentation of some kind.

Overall, we had a good time, but I would not come here again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ground floor facing the pool, because you get the pool environment, and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Love_All_PS, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Bartman!
Sounds like we didn't do a very good job of rocking your stay, and I'm so sorry about that! I would recommend a mid-week stay... it's much more chill. And the rooms are cheaper too, but the downtown is still super fun. Thursdays are particularly cool because of Village Fest, our little street festival they hold the next block over. Hope you give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 150 South Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Zoso Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#17 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs will offer 163 stylish rooms, a VIP rock star suite, Rock Spa®, a Body Rock® workout facility; the world famous Rock Shop®, featuring Hard Rock’s iconic merchandise; exceptional dining options, and a rock n’ roll oasis where guests can stretch out on lounges and warm up by a poolside fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoso Hotel Palm Springs
Zoso Resort Palm Springs
Zoso Palm Springs
Hotel Zoso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.