We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Canyons

Indian Canyons
38500 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
(760) 323-6018
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Indian Canyons like an insider
$125*
and up
Ranked #5 of 100 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Incredible views, there are many trails to choose from. You can see an oasis in the desert. Start when they open in the summer to beat the heat. Most open at 8:00 am.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    132
    14
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yokosuka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun hike with family with small children.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Just finished hiking at the Indian Canyons with three adults and four kids age ranging from 9 yrs old to 4. We hiked on Palm Canyon Trail and Andreas. The temps were about high 90s. However, we didn't feel the heat in the valley, only when we came back up the trail on Palm Canyon. We brought plenty of water and snacks (plenty of places for rest and picnic). We cut our hiking short on Palm Canyon after we spotted a sleeping rattlesnake next to the trail. We didn't want to take a chance given that we had four kids. At Andreas we kept cool by hiking in the stream with the kids. I saw a black snake that scared away by our noise. The kids loved being in the water during our two-mile hike round trip. It was worth the $21 we paid for (5 and under kids were free. It cost $5 adult and $3 child in the summer.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A GENUINE ATTRACTION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A look back to the indigenous peoples who lived here before Hollywood discovered it. Worth it as a nature experience. Unlike Palm Springs in general, genuine and real.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“back to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

we enjoyed the walks the waterfall was amazing, the gift shop had a variety of souvenirs and memorabilia.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went with a Ranger and he made the sights come alive with info on the Native Americans, plants, geography, etc. the views are lovely. Just bring water, a hat, and sunscreen.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Canyons also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Indian Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.