We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and very friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2800 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 40% off!
Ranked #58 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Otis Orchards, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice pool and very friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent a week here as guests of an owner. I really liked the location of this resort. It is located near the edge of town and the area is very quiet. We were able to find some really nice hikes right across the street. We also really enjoyed the pool. The life guards, the towel room attendants, the activities people and the bartenders at the pool were all very friendly. Also anytime we needed something all we had to do was call the desk and the item was delivered promptly by very pleasant staff. We stayed in the Oasis building and when we first walked down the hall to our room I was a little worried about what our experience was going to be like. The walls and doors to the rooms in that building are pretty beat up. Scratches and dings everywhere, which made the hallways look dirty. Our room (while dated) was clean. After a day or two, though, we pretty much didn't care about the looks of the place because everything else about our stay was so pleasant. I would stay at this resort again, but if I was paying full price would probably insist on staying in one of the updated buildings. Also, it was nice to be able to park the car in the shade in the underground parking.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the recently updated buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    178
    118
    70
    64
See reviews for
215
142
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a very friendly greeting at the front desk and staff were most accommodating on our requests for top floor, view unit. The unit itself was large, well laid out, quiet, fairly well equipped and our query about why no wine glasses in the room was punctually dealt with. We liked the area, close enough to city centre and yet quiet and surrounded by beautiful hills.
We met with the “concierge” staff who greeted with us with gushing warmth and cordiality...until we made it plain that we were not the least interested in a time share presentation. We do understand their chief function is to initiate support for time share but, please, do not make it quite so evident by your attitude of constrained boredom when no time share potential is evident. It would have been nice to have concierge staff inform us of details of fitness room, pool and pool bar/cafe hours etc. The pool area is very nice and poolside cafe/bar had good food and beverages and pool area staff were very friendly.
About our unit: the room was dated. Furniture was tacky, worn and in need of update/cleaning, Carpet was stained in places, couch appears dirty. The shower curtain has been poorly installed and was loose. As a result the shower curtains slipped toward the middle allowing water to escape to the floor. This resulted in unattractive cracked and even missing grout at the base of tub. Future much more serious problems could accrue from this constant water exposure. On using the the kitchen sink garborator water soon flooded the under sink area and kitchen floor as the unit was rusted out. We appreciated that the front desk staff arranged for a quick repair while we were out. Management might want to consider hiring a new painting contractor as sloppy paint work in the bathroom greatly detracts from what might be an otherwise ok room.
The room was clean enough, especially after I cleaned the baseboards and shower stall shelf with a wet cloth. On our scheduled cleaning day our request for a early room cleaning was responded to cordially but on our return over 5 hours later no cleaning had been done. We were told a mistake had been made and staff were dispatched to clean the wrong room. The manager of housecleaning gave us a completely unexpected,, but much appreciated, $25 gift voucher. The cleaning staff were very pleasant and appeared most willing to do their best to accommodate us. On our return the room was adequately clean but small things like cleaning the soap dishes had been missed. A floating orchid I had left for my wife had been thrown out. Perhaps a bit more training is in order in some areas.
While we might not rush back or recommend this condo to friends, staff like Fernando, others on the front desk, Shelley at housekeeping and the pool area staff might make us reconsider as, because of them, our stay was mostly positive.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

we bought a groupon for two nights, and stayed this weekend. Customer service was good, but when we walked into our room, we were hit with the wall of grandma cig smoke - totally fowl.
Everytime we walked into our room, we gagged. It was so gross. Is smoking even allowed in those rooms??
Then upon immediately entering,we noticed that every cupboard in the entire place was open, including the microwave, really weird! The bathroom trashcan was on top of the toilet, and the TV remote had no working batteries in it.
Our view for our balcony was of the ugly parking lot/entry way/drive way, and then we noticed that our room was directly over the entrance to the parking garage!!! Every time a car went in and out, we could hear the tires hitting the group metal - sounded like distant gun shots.
The place in general is just super out-dated and run-down. The decor is pastel pink and blue, with horrible hotel artwork randomly placed.
The only plus about this place is the water slide at the pool, and that the pool is a good size.
I would probably not go back :(

Room Tip: make sure it's a room that hasn't been smoked in, and don't get one over the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is the first time I have had to write a bad review. Sorry Palm Canyon, but I didn't think I got a grest deal. First of all, they didn't find my booking for about 10 minutes. Then we got lost, because the room number postings (directional arrows) were wrong. We even had to help another couple. We had no toilet paper, no towels, the restroom floor still had dirty Qtips, and the coffee maker was filthy. By the way, there is no free wifi. However, they brought these items happily when I called the front desk. And when I was checking out, when the desk staff asked me if I had a good visit, I replied not really. She said ok, and gave me my receipt. That's it. If I hadn't spoken up, she would have never asked me why. That was just poor customer service. Luckily the pool was nice and the bed was comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I booked a couples massage on our honeymoon.
It had put a downer on the whole thing!
We drove for over 45 minutes trying to find this place...No signage for the spa....even asked at the next resort over where the canyon spa was...they have never heard of it!

They charged my CC, when we got back to our condo we called them and they do not answer or return calls....very poor....will be calling visa when back in canada....

Do not book here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights at The Palm Canyon Resort and Spa in Palm Springs! The room was clean and had everything we needed. The pool area was wonderful! Our patio looked out to the pool and we enjoyed sitting there and enjoying the warm weather. We used the gym two of the mornings while there and it had all the equipment we needed for a good workout. We definitely would come back for a vacation! Thank you Palm Canyon Resort for a great break from our hectic schedule. Can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: By the pool area! We loved using the pool and whirlpool and when not at the pool it was fun sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are delighted that our location and comfortable accommodations contributed to you having an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. Naturally, we are pleased to learn that our pool area and fitness center are worthy of your appreciation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to be our valued guest on your next visit to Palm Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This resort is so old and outdated it should be closed. The restaurant wasn't available, unreasonable parking restrictions because of the 6ft clearance, all features of the rooms old and very worn, overall many better options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations or ours. As Palm Canyon Resort is one of the newest resorts added to the Diamond International family, it is our goal to provide the highest level of guest satisfaction with our wide array of resort services and amenities and gracious hospitality. Although the furniture may be considered out dated in some units, we are working hard to ensure that each guestroom is brought up to our Diamond standard of amenities which will soon include flat screen televisions, name brand appliances, premium bedding and linens and new dining room tables and chairs in the units. We assure you that if notified, our front desk staff would have done our best to offer you a solution to this issue, such as an alternative room. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced if you tried to access the restaurant after hours or when it was closed. We hope that you were able to access our bar and cocktail lounge, café or coffee shop as an alternative. We are happy to also provide friendly room service to our guests if requested. While our covered parking garage does have a height restriction, it is actually quite popular with our guests due to the added convenience of having their car away from the sun in a covered environment. We also provide additional nearby parking outside, with a short walk to the front desk. We truly hope this has not marred your stay and you will consider us for your future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 2800 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.