We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL RESORT IN THE MIDDLE OF COMPLETE RENOVATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palm Canyon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2800 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Encinitas, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL RESORT IN THE MIDDLE OF COMPLETE RENOVATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Disregard every negative review that you have read. Think of this as a new exciting book and you are on the first page. This resort was in Chapter 11 bankruptcy when Diamond International purchased all 9 of the Monarch Resorts about a year or so ago. All of the staff were very nice and friendly. Our stay was all booked at the last minute checking in on a Tuesday and checking out on the following Sunday. The phone reservations went very smoothly and they made special accommodations to get us the days that we wanted.

There was no possibility of a pool side room, so we got a 3rd floor room with a view of the mountains. Do you know how beautiful those mountains are in the morning with the sun almost making them a brilliant red? I have had enough pool and beach views to last me a lifetime. Keep in mind that this was all last minute. And, the resort was 100% booked beginning on Thursday. Also, the Oasis building was closed for a complete renovation. We were in the Sunset building.

Yes, the rooms are dated, but not unreasonably and our room was very comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom. We had a new flat screen TV in the living room and bedroom. The bathroom was very large with tons on counter space and 2 sinks. We had 7 wash clothes and more wonderful towels then we could possibly use. The shower was excellent with lots of hot water. And, of course, there was a Jacuzzi tub. The king sized mattress was so comfortable that my wife wanted me to tear off all of the bedding, so we could get the brand. I declined.

In the kitchen, we had a built in microwave, stove and refrigerator, all of which were nice. And, there was a counter with stools between the kitchen and living room. There was a completely separate dining area. The kitchen was a very nice size. We actually had room to have a small table and 2 chairs in the kitchen. Something like you might find on the streets of Paris. But, of course, we didn't, but there was room.

I agree that the pool bar drinks are at a premium price. The beers are $5 each, a margarita is $8 and a Cadillac Margarita is $10. We just got back a week ago from 10 days in an "all inclusive" resort in Puerto Vallarta, so you can imagine the sticker shock.

In talking with some of the employees, the resorts goal seemed to be to have the resort up to Diamond standards within the next 18 months. Overall, it was just a comfortable place to spend a few days relaxing. We would come back. As a matter of fact, we are already planning on next December. This is a resort in transition and we would like to see how it comes along.

P.S. No one forces you to accept the $50 gift card and go to the presentation. We chose to go because we like being completely informed. There was absolutely no high pressure and everyone was very personable, friendly and professional. There was even a Diamond employee there that introduced himself at the end of the presentation and wanted to be certain that we were treated as Diamond guests with no high pressure. We took our gift card and spent it on a very nice dinner out.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor, so you won't have anyone above you. And, you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    161
    95
    55
    50
See reviews for
186
117
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles,CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We used a week with II for a getaway to Palm Springs during our birthday week. Palm Canyon Resort has a very nice pool and the poolside bar is convenient for getting drinks/food. The one bedroom suite was spacious and the bed was outstanding. I wish I could buy a bed so comfortable. The staff was nice and accommodating. The downside of renting this for a week was the dishwashing liquid was horrible and did not suds up. (Purchased a bottle of Palmolive at the store), the TP was cheap (Purchased TP at the store), the kleenex was very cheap (Purchased kleenex at the store as my wife had a cold and the kleenex was rough), they only provided two dishwasher soap packets which was bizarre. (Purchased dishwasher soap at the store). The place is well kept and clean but there are NO bbq areas to grill food. In addition, you are not suppose to bring any alcoholic beverages to the pool area. Although you buy a `1 pack of beer, you cannot bring the beers to the pool area but they want you to buy them at the poolside bar at $5 a beer. Diamond Resorts newly bought this resort and I am certain it was never this way before. I told the man at the counter that I'd never buy a timeshare with Diamond resorts. I've stayed at Palm Canyon about 4 other times and never experienced this before. I love this area as it is protected by the mountains from the winds. One last thing is they provide you with 6 each green towels to bring to the pool. Do NOT lose those towels or leave them behind as you'll be buying them.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool area as it is very beautiful pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

BEWARE. The Palm Canyon Resort website room photos are misleading and the units are old and tired looking. We had a large (1200 sq ft) poorly designed two bedroom unit. The living room - dining room was huge, perhaps 15x30, but only had a single light over the dining room table and one end table lamp. The "full" kitchen (wall-to-wall 7x8) was not much larger than a closet and was closed in with almost no counter space and extremely limited cupboard space. The toaster did not work and the minimal pots, pans and dishes made cooking in the unit challenging. The dish washer was not secured and tipped out when you tried to load it. It did a poor job of cleaning the dishes so it was necessary to pre-wash them before putting them in the dishwasher. The refrigerator door was reversed so that it opened the wrong way into the very limited space and made it very difficult to open.

The resort obviously lacks an interior designer which was apparent by its dull unimaginative all beige décor (walls, ceiling, furnishings). The awkward single bathroom had a large spa tub but the space between the vanity and wall was very tight and limited to one person. Master bedroom was huge with a king bed. The other bedroom was small with a queen bed. The inventory listed two alarm clocks but there were none. Bedroom night stand lights and ceiling vanity lights were missing bulbs. The air conditioning filter was filthy and “whistled” whenever it came on. We experienced multiple occurrences of no hot water and maintenance had to repeatedly "reset" the boiler. Pay washers and dryers were in common areas but the dryer on our floor would not accept coins.

There was no trash pick up or any other type of housekeeping service provided except on midweek (day six) of our stay.

They do not provide free Internet access and the cost is $.35 per minute or $4.95 per hour. This is unheard of in today's information based society. Nor do they provide newspapers. It was an imposition on the desk clerk to provide change for the newspaper dispenser and when it took our money but wouldn't work or refund our money her response was "it isn't our responsibility".

Positives about the resort: The maintenance staff (Tony & Lin) were very responsive and immediately fixed the maintenance issues. The resort has a very attractive exterior, great pools for adults and kids and includes a waterfall, slides, spacious patio and a good patio bar.

I made attempts to discuss these issues with the Resort Manager early in our stay and provided a draft copy of my comments but management could not find time to discuss them with me. I would not stay there again. There too many nicer properties to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family has owned a Monarch time share for almost 20 years. It is nice place to stay (especially if you have children under 12) but it is time for major update. We pay maintenance fee every 3 months, fee increases every 3 years but I do not see any difference in interior in 19 years. The furniture looks old and all rooms have "Vintage" TVs that take up space and look weird now.
Most of lampshades are cracked but the lamps are still working...reported them...were replaced with dirty ones!
The pool area still looks great! The spa is small but I like the service. It is great!

Room Tip: Important : Come to the resort as soon as possible, do not wait for check in time. If you are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I went to this location using my exchange with intervalworld. The only complaint I would have is them trying to make me do the 90 min tour. I can go back there using my timeshare why would I want to purchase again?????? The staff was wonderful.....this is a place where I would come back to every two years. Palm Springs is where the rich retires ohhhhh I coming back.

Room Tip: Pool view simply wonderful I enjoyed it to the max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The pool area is what makes this time share. Nice and relaxing. There is a separate children's pool which is nice. The water is nice and warm with two hot tubs. One is adult-only. The rooms were nice and spacious and the beds were comfy. The furniture and decor seemed a little outdated, but other than that, the room suited our needs. We stayed in a two bedroom and another bathroom would have been great! But now I'm getting picky. We stayed all week and the maids didn't clean mid-week. This was our first time at a time share and right when we checked in, they sent us from the front desk to the concierge to get our parking pass. But before they gave it to us, they immediately tried to set us up an appointment for the next morning to "hear about the updates, etc". This didn't make my husband very happy which was embarrassing for me. Other than that, it was nice. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This would be the exact reason I would not buy a time share, you are stuck with what you get, and they don't really care to give you service because it's already paid for, so it's not like you can get your money back or sell your time share. You get what you get and you can't complain.

Room Tip: The room was not set up in a "normal" way, the bed was so close to the balcony door you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 2800 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.