We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican in South Palm Springs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mirasol

El Mirasol
140 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8822
760-323-0721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 263 restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Since opening in the Spring of 1985, El Mirasol Cocinca Mexicana has built a reputation for consistently serving piping hot plates of artfully prepared Mexican regional cuisine and tangy, flavorful Margaritas. Both El Mirasol locations feature a singular focus on wholesome, fresh food with house specialties like Chicharron en Salsa, our rich aromatic Mole Sauce and hand made Corn Tortillas made fresh daily. Expand your Mexican food horizons with regional selections like Shrimp, Scallops or Chicken in Pipian Sauce, Spinach Enchiladas in Chile Verde or enjoy traditional favorites like Carnitas, Carne Asada and Chiles Rellenos. The Castaneda family welcomes a chance to serve you at either of their award winning El Mirasol locations, or we can provide catering for your event from small to large at your home, your event venue or host it at our very own Los Arboles Hotel!
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Mexican in South Palm Springs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The service was great the food was okay. They have outside seating which can be hot even with the misters. There are better places in Palm Springs but for the money the place is good. It's also nice as it's near the Curve Hotel so we could walk there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    164
    101
    49
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Just popped in here for a bit of low key dinner and was pleasantly surprised. Quick service, amazing Margaritas, and decent quality authentic food. Would go again for sure, try the pork special dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good food overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Been there several times, overall very good food. Seems to be quite popular, sometimes we had to wait, and never seen many empty tables.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Try it you'll like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ordered the Skinny Margarita...was the best I've ever had.
Also ordered a Cheese and Chicken Enchilada. The chicken was white and good quality. I will for sure return to El Mirasol.
I would say it is the best mexican restaurant in Palm Springs. I live in PS and have tried others to compare. Keep up the good work El Mirasol!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about El Mirasol Bikini Baby ... we really appreciate the great support we get from the local community.

¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

El Mirasol has been a favorite for at least 15 years. Over the years we meet friends here for dinner and take out of town visitors for lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirasol also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to El Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mirasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.