We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO-so Mexican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mirasol

El Mirasol
140 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8822
760-323-0721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Since opening in the Spring of 1985, El Mirasol Cocinca Mexicana has built a reputation for consistently serving piping hot plates of artfully prepared Mexican regional cuisine and tangy, flavorful Margaritas. Both El Mirasol locations feature a singular focus on wholesome, fresh food with house specialties like Chicharron en Salsa, our rich aromatic Mole Sauce and hand made Corn Tortillas made fresh daily. Expand your Mexican food horizons with regional selections like Shrimp, Scallops or Chicken in Pipian Sauce, Spinach Enchiladas in Chile Verde or enjoy traditional favorites like Carnitas, Carne Asada and Chiles Rellenos. The Castaneda family welcomes a chance to serve you at either of their award winning El Mirasol locations, or we can provide catering for your event from small to large at your home, your event venue or host it at our very own Los Arboles Hotel!
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“SO-so Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A little shabby interior, but not expensive food. It's at best just OK. The crowd is usually a fun crowd, though!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    108
    56
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good Food and Better Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoy this restaurant and have been here many times. Food has been consistantly good and we have always had excellent service. Prices seem a little high but overall a recommended Palm Springs restaurant.

Chicken burrito is my favorite. Very generous with the chicken.

Recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

cozy, casual atmosphere, great waitress (Lily), inexpensive and tasty. 5 min. walk from Hotel Desert Riviera

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for the kind words about El Mirasol and Lily ... we love her too!

¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I love this place! Have eaten numerous meals at El Mirasol and never had a bad one. It's nice to see a number of the same staff are there every time I go back and they always make me fill at home. The chips and salsa are the best - I could make a meal out of that alone! Great service - I always say I judge a restaurant on how well they keep my iced tea glass filled - El Mirasol is the best! The new El Mirasol on the other side of town is also very good but I like the 'old standby' and rarely miss a visit when I'm in town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moorpark,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent margaritas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this place! It can be really crowded at night but the drinks and food are great! I ordered the blended margaritas and they were great!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirasol also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to El Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mirasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.