We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sat night ritual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mirasol

El Mirasol
140 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
+1 760-323-0721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 281 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since opening in the Spring of 1985, El Mirasol Cocinca Mexicana has built a reputation for consistently serving piping hot plates of artfully prepared Mexican regional cuisine and tangy, flavorful Margaritas. Both El Mirasol locations feature a singular focus on wholesome, fresh food with house specialties like Chicharron en Salsa, our rich aromatic Mole Sauce, thickening the sauces using flax seed, and hand made Corn Tortillas made fresh daily. Expand your Mexican food horizons with regional selections like Shrimp, Scallops or Chicken in Pipian Sauce, Spinach Enchiladas in Chile Verde or enjoy traditional favorites like Carnitas, Carne Asada and Chiles Rellenos are gluten free. The Castaneda family welcomes a chance to serve you at either of their award winning El Mirasol locations, or we can provide catering for your event from small to large at your home, your event venue or host it at our very own Los Arboles Hotel!
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sat night ritual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

we had to visit El Mirason for saturday evening margaritas and tacos. Always a good crowd and good food. Eveyone knows and appreciates this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We appreciate your patronage and your nice review Frances ... ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    119
    57
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have traveled to Palm Springs for the last 12 years and I discoverd El Mirasol early on and never have gone to any other Mexican reastaurant since for authentic Mexican food. The service is always friendly, efficient , and deliver you a great meal for very reasonable pricing. It is always busy and they never rush you and if you have to wait ten minutes for a table it is well worth it. It is conveniently located near downtown and parking is in front or around the corner on the street. if you haven't been there you owe one visit to see for yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your support Claudio ... we really appreciate the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Local Mexican at it's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have eaten here several times, and if I lived here this would be my go to Mexican Restaurant. I like the laid back atmosphere, but the prompt service. This is the kind of restaurant where, you are not seated, served and please move on. We relaxed with, as others have said, great Margaritas, The dishes we had were excellent, with large portions. One night we couldn't order an entree after the appetizer. Dinner can be busy, but worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brokind
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Try the chicken with mole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent Mexican food with good and very fast service.
They have chicken with very good mole which is not always that easy to come by. Good Margaritas - But a warning there - They do not go easy on the Tequila!
We liked it so much that we had dinner there both evenings that we were in Palm Springs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosArbolesPS, Owner at El Mirasol, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks Christer ... Pollo en Mole is a favorite among the staff at El Mirasol too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great meal at El Mirasol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We always have dinner here when we visit Palm Springs and the food last night was as good as ever. We sat on the outdoor patio and apart from one couple complaining about a small dog barking (wasn't bothering us or anyone else!), it was a good atmosphere out there. We'll still keep going back for more!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirasol also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to El Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mirasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.