We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Restaurant that will not Disappoint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Costa's Ristorante

Johnny Costa's Ristorante
440 S Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-7304
760-325-4556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: We won the Best of the Best for Italian the last 3 years by the Palm Springs Life reader’s choice awards.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An Italian Restaurant that will not Disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

A friendly place with large portions of good Italian food. Not fancy, more like the kind of food you might get at an Italian friend's house (and thats meant as a compliment). Good wine selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    70
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old School Palm Springs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We called ahead, got a booth and had a large-portioned tasty Italian meal. It's not fancy, but it is delicious. It felt very much like a locals place, which was perfect.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“On the downhill run”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

It's sad to watch a restaurant slide downhill. Kinda like watching an old dog limping around in misery. The crew seems hypnotically detached from reality, moving around in a trance. What can I say about the food - pretty ho hum, average. Risotto was crunchy and flavorless, cooked in water, not stock. The accompanying lamb shank was tough, under cooked, and cold. I will say the sauce was very delightful and full flavored, however. The atmosphere is a wierd mix of 1980's coffee shop and New Jersey Greek Diner. Nothing fit together. The climate control was on the hot side, causing me to think about dozing off. I don't think we will be back. There are too many choices in Palm Springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were really hungry for Italian and we were celebrating my birthday and this was a good choice for a nice romantic dinner. I thought it was quite elegant, the service was great. We had appetizers, escargot, a salad which was mixed greens, and additional veggies, soup, minestrone a pasta dish and a dessert plate of assorted goodies. Everything was good. We had a very nice evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average food and tired decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is an old stand by that needs some resesitation. The inside is largely banquettes with oyster shell backs. Nothing exciting but looks like its right out of the 80's.

The menu is quite extensive but totally predictable. Nothing innovative.

We ordered the house salad consisting of chopped ice berg lettuce a quartered tomato mixed with oil and vinegar. Way too much vinegar. I could have done a better job on my own and I can't cook.

The wine list was not cheap. A glass of Washington state Riesling was the same price as the whole bottle in a box store.

Entree was chicken parmigiana. Tasted like what you would get in a diner in the 1980's ok, but nothing special.

The pistachio ice cream for dessert was chewy and gummy and overly frozen.

Our waiter was very knowledgable and attentive.

If you want very basic Italian food at above average price this place will deliver it to you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Costa's Ristorante also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Johnny Costa's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Costa's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.