We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pomme Frite

Pomme Frite
256 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6312
+1 760-778-3727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you like French classics like coq au vin or boeuf flamande, you'll be happy here, and they come with great french fries. Some nice wines on the list, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    77
    33
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“food not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After the great reviews we read on line, my husband and I ate at Pomme Frite on Friday night, Jan.18/13. We sat an an outside table...very nice...and the waiter obliged us by turning on the heater. A musician played a piano accordion which created a lovely atmosphere. A great beginning.

Unfortunately, the food didn't meet our expectations. I started with the black mussels which were buried in a cheese sauce and frankly, I was unable to taste the mussels. My husband started with the escargots and enjoyed them. I had fresh fish slathered in tartar sauce for my main course. I scraped off as much as I could of the tartar sauce; still I didn't enjoy the fish. It simply did not taste fresh. Having spent our lives on the coast and having a great affinity for fresh fish, we are discriminating. My husband had the meat balls for his main course and that dish was okay. Lastly, we had the chocolate mousse. It was very good except that an enormous amount of whipped cream was piled on top. Perhaps a small dollop would have been okay, but the mousse was quite rich and certainly didn't need the cream so I just scraped mine off and ate the mousse. We were disappointed and would hesitate to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Saturday evening we returned to Pomme Frite for a dinner to celebrate a marriage anniversary. We have eaten here in the past and have never been disappointed. We started with martinis...Grey Goose since it was such a special occasion and they were like silk! We had the house salad and a trio of tasting soups for appetizers. the soups were wonderful, a potato leek (which was a little bland for my taste, but husband liked) a mussel bisque that was wonderful, and a hearty split pea. For entrees I had the mussels in the mustard cream sauce and spouse had the pork chop special. The mussels are always top notch here and these were. I would have liked a bit more mustard taste in the sauce but the celery in it was divine! The frites were wonderful, hot, crisp and with three different dipping sauces. The pork chop was cooked nicely. It came with garlic mashed potatoes which were nothing special but the red cabbage with apples and cinnamon was a very nice accompaniment. We had a Belgium beer with our entrees and ended by sharing a tiramisu. Overall, it was a very delicious meal. We were not rushed, the service by Kim was very good. We tipped the accordian player who was on the sidewalk outside...if we closed our eyes, his music could make us think we were actually in Europe. We look forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“RUDE ARROGANT PEOPLE.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

wish i could give minus stars. They not only have attitude towards you but were laughing behind our backs!
We were attending the film festival and were looking for a quick bite in between the movies. We offered to sit at the bar so that we won't occupy a table. 'cause my friend was looking to order something that comes with the fries. I was craving for a good dessert. They refused to serve us saying they don't serve dessert alone before 9 pm and they cant brake the house rules for us? And they claim to be a french bistro!!!!!!!
Having been both in france and belgium, I can say only thing french about this place is their parisian arrogance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service gone wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We reserved a table for New Years Eve at Pomme Frite which has been one of our favorite restaurants. We were a party of six expecting a wonderful Belgian dinner. Instead we were treated like American hicks visiting Paris. Two of our friends ordered one of the specials - rack of lamb - both ordered "medium well done". One was served cool to the touch and the other one, was under cooked. When our guest asked the server to have the lamb redone, the server immediately returned to the table with the plate of food stating "the kitchen staff said the lamb was already medium well". We of course sent it back where upon the "hostess" - assistant manager immediately brought back the same plate shoving it in our guests face and emphasizing in a loud, forceful, and rude manner that the food was cooked to temperature not to color, there was nothing wrong with it and our guest should eat it the way it was presented and they would not re-do it! When we asked to speak to the owner we were informed he was much too busy to be bothered with us. We have been to this restaurant a number of times and always enjoyed it. I now am reluctant to recommend them as it seems the staff lacks supervision and customer relations training.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomme Frite also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Pomme Frite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomme Frite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.