We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the "best of the best" tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Canyons Hiking Trails

Indian Canyons Hiking Trails
S.Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Activities in Palm Springs
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Battle Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Take the "best of the best" tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We took the Best of the Best tours to Indian Canyon, had a great guide, the trails are spectacular, the Palm Canyon unbelievable. An oasis in the desert, delightful tour.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the admission price if you are going to hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

There are quite a few choices of hikes to do from this oasis. Including a hike on the Palm canyon trail that will take you all the way out to highway 74 (15 miles). All the hikes begin from a visitor center and the oasis just below it ( which is quite beautiful).
Murray Canyon
Andreas Canyon
Palm Canyon
Maynard Mine trail
Fern Valley trail
Victor trail
We took the Palm canyon trail and looped back on a trail that took us past the stone pools ( which were free of water). This hike was 9 miles but there are many trails that are as short as 1 mile.
Since we were there at the end of January it was about 70 degrees but it gets crazy hot out in the desert so lots of water,a hat and sunscreen is a highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great hiking with wonder scenic views of the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Everything. I live here and I recommend this to every visitor to Palm Springs The trails are a combination of desert landscape and small oasis with fresh water springs oozing up from the ground. You may catch a glimse of desert wild life too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Desert hiking for rookies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I'm no expert hiker so this was an excellent hike for my rookie self. I did the Murray Ridge trail at about 10 am 70 degrees on a clear day. What a gorgeous hike! So much to see and at times you really feel isolated which just adds to its beauty. The trail is easy to follow and good for beginners. Bring water!!!! The fall was going and it made for some great pics. Awesome nature hike completely worth the entry fee. Go for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Desert Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Indian Canyons allow for exploring the unique flora and fauna of the desert habitat. There is some climbing on some of the trails but well worth the effort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Canyons Hiking Trails also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Indian Canyons Hiking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Canyons Hiking Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.