We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paton dining at its finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vallauris

Le Vallauris
385 W Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5647
760-325-5059
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Vallauris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 271 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $50 - $65
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Palm Canyon Road
Description: Specialized in Groups and Weddings
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Paton dining at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A glorious evening with very fine friends and wonderful food. Presentation of dishes, the table service and the ambience made for a lovely repast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    56
    18
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food and Patio was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Came here for my girlfriends bday dinner and I have to say, this was by far the best restaurant we ate at all week... by far! She had the Duck, I had the lamb and both were done perfect! The staff were on top of their game as well. We had dinner in the patio... the weather made for a perfect night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Overrated a Great Disappointment!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked this restaurant online several weeks before our arrival in Palm Springs having picked it because we wanted somewhere special as it was an anniversary which we pointed out on the reservation.
So, suitably dressed up, we arrived and had our car valet parked.
So far so good but it was downhill from there!!
There was a queue out onto the parking area with nobody really knowing what was going on or bothering to tell us if they did. Another couple arrived and walked past the queue and into the restaurant so we decided to do the same. When the maître d' came he asked for our name and without further ado guided us towards an empty dining room. I pointed out that we had booked a table in the patio area and was told it wasn't available because they had a large group of surgeons in from a conference. Again I said that we booked a few weeks ago asking for the patio but again was told very firmly that it wasn't available.
Our mood got worse as we were told that it was this empty room or nothing but we decided to stay hoping things would get better.......
They didn't!! We must have sat at the table for 30 minutes before anyone came to take our drinks order. Finally, after sitting there ignored apart from our drinks and a bit of bread was served, we noticed that one of the waiters, serving in the patio area, was gesticulating to the manager in our direction and it seems that he was then directed to serve us.
Well he almost saved our night by being helpfulness personified whilst taking our orders etc.
As for the food, well I'd rate it as ok but certainly no more and not worth the price by any stretch of the imagination.
It's true that Palm Springs really lacks good up-scale restaurants and I think this one is suffering from the "big fish in a small pool" syndrome. It badly needs a dose of competition.
We won't be going back EVER.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been here many times over the years-I think this is our favorite restaurant in the area. First of all, the staff is professional and caring. In fact, a server we had last year recognized us and vice versa. He greeted us warmly. The owner of the restaurant, Paul, always dapperly dressed, talks to everyone at their tables and seems genuinely interested in our experience. The decor is singularly beautiful and then there's the food-as good as ever. I had a first course of a duck trio which consisted of smoked duck breast, duck mousse, and duck pate. For the main course, my husband had the duckling with cherries and I opted for the white fish with mustard sauce. For dessert, we shared a chocolate mousse. Superb in every way. I find it hard to understand the few negative reviews. Yes, it is not cheap, but one gets what one pays for. Again ,highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta,Ca
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A VERY FINE PLACE TO EAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Eight of us ate here on a Saturday night. The food was excellant overall. The service(just our waiter) left a little to be desired.
We expected better service in a restaurant of this caliber.
I highky recommend you try this restaurant and be sure to request patio seating ofr dinner-it is quite charming as is the restaurant owner.

On a side note we valet parked and that parking is very tight. We witnessed a car in the valet parking area back up into a beautiful black SUV and then the car drove away. The valet seemed unconcerned about the incident and we reported the incident to the restaurant owner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vallauris also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Le Vallauris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vallauris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.