We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be perfect ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearfoot Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bearfoot Inn to your Saves list
Bearfoot Inn
2.5 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   888 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Could be perfect ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice room with real comfy bed (double queen suite). Nice pool, jaccuzi .. nice bagels and coffee for breakfast.
Need to be changed... metal sliding doors are very noisy and the downsrairs room hears every step made upstairs... this makes it hard to sleep inn... The place is generally clean but a bit dusty... maybe the manmaid should not use sunglasses to clean :)
The owners did not seem happy ... is business not going well? Are they fed up with their project? They seemed a little bitter and this creates a strange atmosphere. The people we met were very nice. Pricey compared to other hotels around.
But do not overrate the criticism. .. it is a very nice place and we had a very nice relaxing holiday there... beds pool and jaccuzi are great.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments... we have made several upgrades to the property but we felt that the sliding doors, which are from the original construction were worth keeping, since they are quite large, work impeccably and help make the aesthetic of this 1956 mid-century modern building what it is.

We can assure you that our cleaners do not wear sunglasses indoors when cleaning, but yes, the desert is dusty... beware white gloves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
21
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My partner and I flew over from the East Coast for Pride. We really enjoyed our stay here. Glenn was a great host and very friendly. Our suite with king bed and kitchenette was very comfortable with everything we could need. The pool and hot tub were great, with the pool being warm enough to swim in, even during the cool evenings. Enjoyed being able to relax on the back porch and put the umbrella up when needed and it was a great place to dry our towels. There was plenty of parking and we met some great folks also staying there. I also enjoyed that fact that we could walk to where the parade was taking place and it was a very short drive to the Aerial Tramway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay for Pride. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Lovely little complex with a lush pool and cosy hot-tub. My only critique was the list of what we COULDN'T do. The other issue, we & all other guests were told to be silent basically after 11pm, due to the fact the hotel is built 6 inches from homes next door....slightly annoying as when you are on holiday you want to be able to kick back and have fun, especially in PS. Rooms were big and bed was very comfy. Very tight with the shower gels/soaps/shampoos for a 5 night visit, and the floor cleaner smell after the maid had been would literally take your breath away. However otherwise no complaints.

Room Tip: We had room 8 & 9, connected out back with private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We try to promote a friendly atmosphere and hope that our guests are able to enjoy themselves at all hours of the day, but as with any hotel, we request that noise levels be reduced (not silenced) after 11pm. We encourage everyone to have fun, and many of our guests are settled in by this time so this usually does not present a problem.

We do hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The resort itself is super clean and close to town! I was concerned about the "clothing optional" aspect of it, but found that it was not a big deal. We stayed in the King Suite upstairs that had a great view of the pool and hot tub and a full kitchen. Great for entertaining or for a quiet night in!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We do try to make everyone feel comfortable, like a home away from home. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

my friend and i rent a room w 2 bed and we got a room w one bed,we will never go back the owner will walk right in to your room not announce bed host would not supply you any basic shampoo shop extra. room dirty
all the time we had to clean are self.Do Yourself a big favor and do no even think about it. The owner will ruin your stay and your vacation - he is the worst hotel host i ever meet in my life - all other guest that were there were complaining about the same issue about the owner.
he will play the nice person for the first day when u checking in - to get you money first and then he will treat you like a garbage , he wont look at you when you ask for something and he will ignore you right in your face - he will not leave daily shampoo and body wash - we booked the room for a week and the floors never been washed - me and my friend did it ourselves.
the sheets never been washed, Wifi never works there i had to pay extra for data on my phone.
i travel once a month all over the wold and i have never experience something like that before.
the owner lives there and will verbally abuse you and will tell you to take your stuff out and leave.
there are so many gay resorts there, it was my first time in PS and now i will know for sure where to go.
BE CARFUL FROM BEARFOOT INN !!!!

Room Tip: i would stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are extremely disappointed when someone feels that their experience at our establishment did not live up to their expectations. The guest was made aware that our Queen Suite was unavailable for the first two nights of their stay. They were offered a refund but decided to take a King Suite instead, and were given the two nights in the King Suite free of charge. When the Queen Suite became available, they informed us that they were comfortable in the King Suite and stayed there... however they asked for yet another free night. As it was the guest's choice to remain in the room, we did not offer a free night. Knowing that our guests demand reliable wireless internet access, we recently upgraded to wide band service, so we can only assume that any issues this guest had with internet access was the result of their device(s), as this did not seem to be an issue with any other guests. We understand that a guest's expectations may be beyond our capabilities but this review is completely inaccurate and we are disappointed that we have to respond in such a manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights mid week and really enjoyed our visit. The location is good, just a few minutes from the main strip in Palm Springs where all the good restaurants and bars are. It's quiet and discreet, but close enough to everything. We had one of the upstairs King rooms which was very spacious, the bathroom and kitchenette were great and the bed was enormous and so comfortable. Towels were provided (pool and bathroom) as well as continental breakfast, wifi and the other facilities you would expect. The pool area is nice, plenty of loungers, nice sun and shade, nice hot tub.

Glenn was very friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I just got back from six days at this bear-themed resort and all I can say is that I can't wait to go back. During the week the resort is quiet and relaxing, so if you just want to spend hours bobbing like a cork in the swimming pool, you can certainly do that. Glen (the owner) is the perfect host, unobtrusive but always there if you need him for anything. As the weekend approaches, the resort starts filling up and the atmosphere gets livelier. We met a charming couple from SF that we ended up bonding with, and the other guests were very friendly. The resort is clothing optional, but I would say only 50% of the guests indulged. The rooms are nicely appointed and just the right combination of comfort and class. Some gay resorts can be intimidating, marketed to the washboard ab set, and we did see some guests like that, but truly it was a mix of ages and body types that make it unintimidating (is that a word?) for all. The Bearfoot Inn is a wonderful discovery.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We don't think we could have said it any better. It is our guests who make the atmosphere so relaxing and friendly. With that said, we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearfoot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearfoot Inn

Address: 888 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearfoot Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bearfoot Inn is a clothing optional hotel resort for gay men, bears and their admirers. Located in the historic Movie Colony, flourishing Uptown Design District of Palm Springs, Bearfoot Inn is your oasis in the desert and home away from home. Casual and elegant, yet masculine, this mid-century modern resort for men has been faithfully restored and upgraded so you can relax and be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Bearfoot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearfoot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.