We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway

Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway
1350 Ladera Circle, Palm Springs, CA 92262
760-322-1192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 64 Attractions in Palm Springs
Type: Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I were looking for something to do for a few hours one afternoon and came across this on Trip Advisor. We phoned and were told there was a tour at 1:00pm. We showed up at the private residence and were welcomed in to the home. There is nothing roped off and you are welcomed to sit on the furniture, lay on the bed, sit in the tub and so on. You are led through the house by a gracious Priscilla look a like. She was amazingly knowledgable and funny. Our tour ended up being 3 hours and was well worth it. At the end, she told us how to get to a couple of Elvis's favourite spots to eat. Cost $25.00/person and worth it. Thanks to Darlene our hostess for a great tour and not asking for tips at the end. It just kept the tour classy. There were only 8 people in our tour. They keep the tours small.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun! Elvis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Whether you're an Elvis fan or are into mid-century architecture, (or simply want to be entertained for two hours in air-conditioned splendor), this is the tour for you! The guide is a very knowledgable and engaging Priscilla Presley (circa 1967) look-a-like and she does a FABULOUS job of bringing history to life. The tour is $25/person and worth every penny. Loved it!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The ultimate tour of Elvis & architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you stay for just one day in Palm Springs, as we did, this is the one thing you should pick to do here. It combines the two things that Palm Springs stands for: great modern architecture from the fifties and sixties and the fact that stars from that era lived in them. The house that Elvis lived in before and after his marriage with Priscilla was designed by star architect Robert Alexander. This house is his starpiece in which he lived in with his wife before Elvis lived in it.

What made this 2 hour (!!) tour so special is the enthousiasm of the guide, Darlene, she tells you great stories on both Elvis, his honeymoon and the architecture of the house. We were not great Elvis fans, but nearly became fans because of this tour. Compared toGraceland this is far more personal. For Elvis fans this must be heaven: you can sit in Elvis' bath, be in his fab kitchen, etc, etc.. You even get to see personal video footage of Elvis, Priscilla and friends and family in the house.

One piece of practical advise if you are like us not from the US. if you leave a voicemail message, Darlene cannot call you back as she isn't able to call international phonenumbers. So book online or try to get her on the phone by trying again! We were very lucky to pass by the house and meet other tourists, that had booked a tour at that time. So we were very lucky to experience this fantastic Tour! Thank you Darlene, for making this such a special and personal event!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must-do Tour in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I decided on a last minute whim to tour the Elvis Honeymoon House. He has always been a fan and I love the architecture in Palm Springs. At first, we thought the price was a little steep for a "house tour," we were expecting to kind-of just wander through the house on our own and be done in 30-45min. However, that quickly changed when we were greeted at the door by the lovely Darlene, our Priscilla look-alike, we realized it was so much more than just a walk-though tour, and the price was quite reasonable. It was a 2 hour tour! Completely full of all sorts of Elvis history and trivia as well as interesting did-bits about the original owner and designer, Robert Alexander. Darlene was so passionate about Elvis and the history of Palm Springs and the home itself...I felt myself get completely swept away in her stories. What a fantastic surprise in the middle of Old Las Palmas Palm Springs. I highly recommend!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best tour I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I called the Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway on a whim late on a Sunday night and were shocked that the lovely tour guide, Darling Presley, not only answered the phone but was so pleasant and welcoming we could not resist booking a tour for the next day. And were we glad we did - Darling is absolutely wonderful and an amazing PTA (Priscilla Tribute Artist). Now my husband and I both like Elvis, but we are not fanatical about him so we didn't know what to expect. From the moment Darling opened the door we were impressed not only by her knowledge of Elvis history but also by her knowledge of the house itself - a midcentury modern Alexander masterpiece. This tour is so entertaining I highly recommend it for anyone visiting Palm Springs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elvis Honeymoon Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.