We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid century modern bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway
Save
You added The Hideaway to your Saves list
370 West Arenas Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
amsterdam
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“mid century modern bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Palm Springs is heaven for those who like mid century modern architecture. The Hideaway is one of the many jewels of it, especially the Dino's Den room which offers a selection of cd's and dvd's of the era. Every detail is authentic. The smaller rooms also have all you need, beds are good, showers somewhat shaky (authentic), but it is excellent value for money.
The living room in the center part of the building offers (organic)breakfast and during the day there is free use of the content of the fridge, soft drinks, yogurts etc. Sometimes a beer.
Bikes are for free as well, so you can start your stroll around Palm Springs architecture right from The Hideaway. It's wise to check the bike lock in case you want to park your bikes somewhere. Town center is very close, yet distant enough not to be bothered by its noise. The pool in the middle is all right, the garden and the lawn offer shade. Bill, the manager makes restaurant reservations as well as reservations for the (highly recommended!) architectural tour around PS. We felt that The Hideaway has a more luxurious feeling than its 'sister hotel' The Orbit Inn, just a few meters away.

Room Tip: Ask for Dino's Den
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went for a 3 day getaway and loved this place,lots of 50s charm.very small and intimate beautiful pool and fire pit area.beds were comfy furniture was funky and was very quiet area being a block or so from the strip.free use of bikes which was nice,continental breakfast was handy ,the onsite kitchen and livingroom(lounge) area was nice for a latenight snack or drink.love the vibe from the mid century architecture in the area.next time we are in Palm Springs we are going to the hideaway

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms our first day there since we were the only ones booked that night,all a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay,B.C.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day stay at this cool property. We loved the mid century modern decor and clean lines of the landscaping. The continental breakfast and coffee were a nice way to start the day. We took advantage of their cruiser bikes to check out the great neighborhood. For the price we thought the amenities could have been much better but with that said we really enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I was getting overwhelmed with my trying to make a decision on where to stay in Palm Springs, I happened to find The Hideaway right before booking another (which, it turns out was overpriced and far away)
Bill was the person who took the booking and he was such a help. We messed him around because we almost had to cancel, but he was so accommodating.
I could go on forever about how much I enjoyed this trip, but I'll nutshell it:
1. Quiet and intimate, if you're a loud kinda person, best not to book this place.
2. Feels like your own vacation home, it's right off the main strip, but on a residential street.
3. It's vintage in all the right places. Fabulous key pieces, but you don't feel like you're stuck in a time-machine and it doesn't smell like mothballs!
4. The staff are all so helpful and knowledgeable.
5. The bed was so comfortable I thought someone had slipped us a Mickey! We slept sooo good.

None of the other hotels compare. In the words of the Terminator, 'I'll be back.'

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is perfect. A quick walk to downtown Palm Springs. The grounds are great and well kept. Very cool pool area with plenty of seating and a cool lounge area with a kitchen attached. Plenty of books and movies on location. And the service from all of the staff is great who are from the Orbit In and you should go down there for the Happy Hour to meet the other guests who were all interesting to talk too. This will always be my first choice in a visit to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here recently and were more than pleased! Its name says it all - it is a quiet hideaway, right in Palm Springs. It is walking distance to all the places you want to go! The architecture of this building is elegant and beautiful! It's the sister property to the Orbit In. So, the people who run it are more than concerned about your comfort and happiness, which is great. But, this property is amazing. There is a fire pit you can turn on at night, by the turn of a dial. A pool that is always at the perfect temperature, and a breakfast, and common area tailored to just what you need. We will stay here every time we come to Palm Springs in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

More private than the Orbit In but has more classic Mid-Century style, has salt water pool.

We had a wonderful stay, the room was impeccable! Service was excellent. We are definitely returning. Our experience at the Hideaway has added to our love of Palm Springs MCM.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: 370 West Arenas Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.