We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, healthy food in a sidewalk cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zin American Bistro

Zin American Bistro
198 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262
(760) 322-6300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zin American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arenas
Description: Zin American Bistro is an attempt to modernize and Americanize the traditional French Bistro concept. With Zin recently receiving 3 ½ stars and a review of “quite possibly the best food for the money in the Coachella Valley” from author Peter Osbaldeston’s Palm Springs Dining Bible, Chef Nicolas Klontz and wine director Mindy Reed have indeed raised the bar of casual fine dining in Palm Springs. Zin has over 200 wines on their list and has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 5 years. With choices from the Kobe Style Beef Burger ($16) and Mussels & Frites($18) to the Rabbit ($25) or a Prime Hanger Steak ($26) there is something for everyone. Be sure to save room for some house made desserts and a glass of port for a perfect finish. Attentive, friendly yet unobtrusive service with Wine Director Reed available to guide you thru her carefully selected wine list and Chef Klontz greeting diners personally between courses make dining at Zin a night to remember.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy food in a sidewalk cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and love this little gem, located on Palm Canyon in downtown Palm Springs. We enjoy sitting at the outside patio tables and enjoying a leisurely lunch.

The food hear is very good, with a healthy bent. Ingredients are always fresh and many are locally sourced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    112
    37
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“tapas heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We always eat here at least once during our annual trip to Palm Springs. They have a great selection of Tapas that my wife and I share. This trip we also visited them for Sunday breakfast and the potato omelet was delicious and very reasonably priced. They also have outside dining in the heart of downtown Palm Springs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Interesting Dinner Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I and friends ate here recently on the recommendation of a local friend. We were there on a Monday night which is usually a slower night which was what we were looking for as groups of less than six are not guaranteed reservations. Unfortunately, a very large party was expected shortly after we arrived.

We opted for the tapas menu and ordered a number of different dishes as well as a pizza. Some of the selections were very good (the beet salad with green beans and goat cheese was really terrific) while others were not so good (sausage stuffed calamari). The biggest problem was that the food came too fast - I mean that too many of the dishes came at the same time. I assume this is because of the big party - we sort of got the impression they were trying to get us fed and out quickly so they could concentrate on the large party.

Having said that, the service was friendly and we certainly were not discouraged from ordering desert and we all enjoyed an excellent cheese plate.

It would definitely have been a much more enjoyable experience if the food had come out two dishes at a time, say, rather than almost all of them at the same time. I should add that even with a bottle of wine we were amazed at how inexpensive the meal turned out to be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Outdoor Seating Looks Good But The Food Is Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Drawn in by the outdoor seating and white table clothes, we ventured in for a sunday brunch. The bloody mary was excellent and the service was very good. But the food was a huge disappointment. The "Fried Bread" breakfast was a pile of sliced sausage and ham with croutons, oddly seasoned potatoes and two fried eggs that were over cooked and hard to cut with a knife. We also ordered the veggie omelette which was a disaster. The cooks forgot that vegetables give off water which made the omelette a liquid mess. And it too was served with the same oddly seasoned potatoes. I'm sure there are other items on the menu which are better prepared but we have decided not to try this place again. We were also served a basket of warm bread but noticed that some of the bread looked toasted and other slices just warm. And if you judge a restaurant by the cleanliness of the restroom, then this place fails again. The restroom is like a tiny closet, co-ed and dirty. Had we used the restroom first, we would not have stayed. My apologies to the owners. This is a good location which probably keeps tourists coming in but there are far better places to eat in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE - May be one of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you don't where would you like to go in PS, you have the place.
Zin is open for a long time now and the quality is stil one of the best in PS.
The menu is interesting and the quality of the food is really excellent. No surprise if you are looking for a top restaurant. The service is always excellent and it is a good value for the quality.
I go there everytime I visit PS and I've never been disappointed.
Zin is a great value!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zin American Bistro also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Zin American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zin American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.