We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calla Lilly made our vacation fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calla Lily Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Calla Lily Inn to your Saves list
Calla Lily Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   350 S. Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Calla Lilly made our vacation fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2006

We booked a room at the Calla Lilly based on reviews we saw here, and it did not disappoint. Rod and Charlotte make you feel like a guest in their home, and their attention to detail is evident everywhere, from the landscaping to the accessories in the rooms. Having this place as "home base" while we explored Palm Springs made our vacation. We would spend the days exploring, hiking, taking in the sights, and would come back to this wonderful retreat to sit in the hot tub and relax. The location is perfect, with many restaurants and sights within walking distance. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2005

I stayed at the Calla Lily Inn in Nov 2005. The location is excellent and parking is no problem. The landscaping is very lush, and it has a very nice pool. My room was much nicer than I could have ever hoped for, with a huge bed and a separate living room. The room looked right out onto the pool and I had a nice covered sitting area outside. Very quiet and relaxing. I highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2005

We recently spent four nights at the Calla Lily at a recommendation from close friends. The Calla Lilly is a wonderful retreat when you need to get a way from work or everyday life. Rod and Charlotte are the perfect hosts and made you feel welcome as soon as you call for a reservation! The rooms are decorated beautifully and very comfortable. The landscaping is beautiful, the pool sparking and the view of the mountains breathtaking. It is definitely a place to recommend to your friends and family. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

After teaching all year and working another job all summer, I was looking forward to the the only four days of vacation I'd have before the school year began again. We decided to go to Palm Springs, because we enjoy the downtown area (shopping, dining, and entertainment options are plentiful), and we've had good luck finding charming inns within walking distance of downtown. We tried to reserve a room at the Desert House, but they said their pool would be unavailable during the days of our visit. In 105 degrees, a pool is mandatory. So we asked for recommendations. They enthusiastically directed us to the Calla Lily Inn--just a half block from Palm Canyon Drive (the main artery of the downtown area). We looked at the Calla Lily's website and were impressed, even though we were aware of how much better hotels usually look on the web than in person. We made our reservations and headed south.
From the moment we saw the Calla Lily, we knew the website had not lied. It was obvious that the owners were meticulous and attentive people. Every detail of the exterior was immaculate--from the thoughtfully planted vegetation to the babbling fountains to the spotless windows--and the Calla Lily had the look of a place that was freshly scrubbed and perpetually organized. This was not a mistaken impression, as it turned out. The owners, Rod and Charlotte Callahan, are experienced travelers, who have faithfully implemented into their inn the amenities they most appreciated in their own travels. Those amenties, and the Callahan's unflagging attention to every detail, made us feel we were staying at a special place.
Our room was large and replete with touches of elegance and thoughtfulness at every turn. The kitchen area (yes, it had a small but well appointed kitchen) had everything we could have wanted. There was bottled water already in the refrigerator (with a Calla Lily label), coffee on the counter, and all the utensils, glassware, and appliances one could need. Everything was spotless and in perfect condition. The tiled floor was beautiful and the wicker furniture was perfect for the room. Two very large pool towels were neatly rolled on the bed, and a single calla lily lay artistically across the satin spread. The bathroom was noteworthy for its good condition and luxurious, way-above-average towels. The citrus-scented soap was excellent, and the assortment of shampoos, lotions, tissues and other beauty accoutrements was terrific. The large, flat-screen television had VHS and DVD players--and a good selection of channels. The table in the front nook of the room was arrayed with an assortment of magazines and guides for the Palm Springs area. Rod and Charlotte had compiled their own collection of menus from many of the local eateries, so it was convenient to order by telephone and eat in the nook or by the pool (we did this one night). Our room had a back door that led onto a patio with a table and two chairs--a private area not shared with any other room. Of course, this area was as scrubbed and manicured as the rest of the inn. You get the feeling that these are owners who sleep fitfully if their inn is not in perfect shape.
The pool area was an inviting playground of plentiful lounges, chairs, and floating devices, and the hot tub was nestled in a garden and covered by a canopy. There was even a perpetually-filled ice machine nearby. The Calla Lily is a place that tries hard--very hard--to rise above ordinary. Every night, as we sipped complementary cognac and nibbled on chocolates, we would raise our glasses toward Rod and Charlotte's quarters. I wanted these nice people to know how much we appreciated their considerable efforts to create something special. It's really just a matter of time before the word gets out about the Calla Lily. I just hope they have a room for us next time we head down to Palm Springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

My husband and I just returned to Virginia last night from a trip to Palm Springs. We do travel quite a bit just to let you know we have stayed in a lot of places all over the country. While there we stayed at the Calla Lily Inn for 4 nights. I cannot begin to say enough about the wonderful hospitality shown by Rod and Charlotte, the proprietors. We were welcomed with smiles and an attitude of wanting to do everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Needless to say it was wonderful. Everything was perfect. Immaculate room, peaceful setting, friendly atmosphere, a place we will definitely return to. We highly recommend the Calla Lily Inn and hats off to Rod and Charlotte! Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2005

There is a fine line drawn in the world of small inns. It runs between the innkeeper that is boorish and unattentive to the guests needs, and the innkeeper that is so friendly and over-the-top with their need to force feed great service that they become the central feature of the guest's vacation. The Calla Lily Inn manages to acheive that rarest of middle grounds: Hosts that know and meet your every need....without sacrificing your need for peace, quiet and personal space! Rod and Charlotte, the Inn's owners and hosts, are suitably unobtrusive and yet so effective in giving great service that you will believe you are in a 5 star resort.

You will rarely find a more picky pair than my wife and I, picky to the point that we generally avoid all bed-and-breakfast and small inn experiences in favor of large-resort-anonymity or complete-privacy-villa vacations because we have grown so weary of the hosts! Really, we do want the service, but more than that we want to be left alone. The Calla Lily was a risk for us, and one that paid off handsomely! Rod and Charlotte think of pretty much every nicety that their guests may enjoy, and yet are so ubiquitous as to blend perfectly into the lush tropical poolside surroundings as they whisk about each day tidying up, delivering evening cordials or afternoon cookies by the pool, straightening the lounge chairs, and what have you. Seriously, you'd never know they were there. To look at the place you'd think Rod and Charlotte would be exhausted at the end of each day (and I'm sure they must be), but they make it look effortless!

And speaking of the premises, to say that they are spotless would almost be an understatement. In a town bursting at the seems with trendy re-habbed small inns (the best, like the Calla Lily, fashioned from formerly derelict mid-20th century motels), the competition is substantial. While in Palm Springs this April, we checked out about 7 other properties also in the very popular and historic Tennis District , and without question the Calla Lily was head and shoulders above the rest for spotless, gracious, and lush surroundings.

The decor is responsive to its surroundings....more "crate and barrel" tropical than the antique-mall-chic sported by many other properties in Palm Springs. It is hip in a smart, understated way, and pretty without being frilly. The kind of snappy, tasteful appointments that are still at-home comfortable!

With a sparkling pool and 24 hour jacuzzi, a private massage canopy, shaded ramadas, and plentiful lounge chairs, tables, and umbrellas, the outdoor space is more of an open-air living room (albeit one with amazingly lush greenery, swaying palms, and blooming flowers) than just a motel courtyard. We found that we left about 80% of our Palm Springs "get-out-and-do-it" itinerary undone because we couldn't bear to leave the pool!

I will point out, however, that we didn't hang out by the pool as much as we did because of inaccessability to other diversions....this inn is literally a block from fabled Palm Canyon Drive, in the heart of downtown Palm Springs! Within minutes by foot are museums, tennis clubs, golf, hundreds of shops and quality restaurants, the San Jacinto Mountains, and of course lots of great mid-century house gawking. And yet: When you sit by that pool, you'd never know anything but the mountains were nearby! Amazing.

I haven't mentioned the rooms, but they do not dissappoint. Completely remodelled and modernly appointed, but with enough original charm that you won't feel like you're staying in a McHotel (you know the ones....). My favorite feature was the fabulous original chartreuse tile work in the shower....completely and lovingly restored. I had to ask Rod if it was new or original, it looks so pristine! There is a large TV with VHS and DVD, big fluffy towels, and I have to say (as a business traveller who spent about 100 nights in hotels last year) that a regular-everyday phone that you simply pick up and dial was a small but rare joy.

One last feature: It should not go unmentioned that this sort of environment seems to draw a very distinct brand of clientele--one that seems to value peace and quiet and gentile surroundings as much as my wife and I do. This would probabaly not be a great place for kids, if for no other reason than because the adults are just too relaxed to watch the little ones!

We booked our return trip to the Calla Lily in 2006 before we even left to catch our plane, a first for us. We'll see if we can actually wait that long....

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2005

My husband and I were planning on enjoying some sun this spring so when I saw the great reviews on this website for Calla Lily Inn, I immediately made reservations. I was initially going to go to a big name hotel, so I was pleasantly surprised with the cleaniless, beauty and friendliness of this little inn in downtown Palm Springs. There are 10 rooms that surround a small pool and large jacuzzi. The pool furniture was very comfortable. The mountains are a beautiful backdrop viewed from the pool. In the morning, a paper is delivered to your door. In the afternoon, there was a tray full of sweet snacks to carry you over to dinner. In the evening, a cordial with chocolate was delivered personally by the owners, Rod and Charlotte. They were extremely helpful and never hesitated to say hello. They obviously love what they're doing. We stayed in the king suite where the bedroom is separate from the living area. It had it's own private deck with tables and chairs which we used every morning to drink our coffee, read the paper and emails. One morning, there were 2 hummingbirds flittering around! I could go on and on. You have to stay here!

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calla Lily Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calla Lily Inn

Address: 350 S. Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calla Lily Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vintage inn is located at the heart of the Palm Springs Village. The Calla Lily is a secluded inn with a tropical elegant ambiance. An oasis in the desert with lush emerald foliage, a sapphire pool, a soothing spa and dramatic mountain views. This well-appointed boutique hotel is tranquil, with a very relaxing atmosphere. It is simply exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Calla Lily Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calla Lily Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calla Lily Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.