We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The planets are in alignment at the Orbit Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orbit In

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orbit In
Save
You added Orbit In to your Saves list
562 West Arenas Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Granada Hills, CA
1 review
“The planets are in alignment at the Orbit Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I spent last weekend at the Orbit Inn. This was our fourth visit to this property. It was perfect from the second we arrived until the second we left. I can't decide which part of our stay was the best! The room was clean, the amenities were amazing, the "Orbitini hour" was a great way to socialize with other guests, the pool was warm, the breakfast was delicious, the rooms were quiet, the A/C worked very well (it was 105 degrees outside), the owner and his wife made us feel like we were guests in their home.

If you are looking for a perfect weekend getaway, look no further than this beautiful little Inn. My only apprehension in writing this review is that other people will find out about our little secret. Of course, with a 5 star rating and a #1 ranking in Palm Springs Inns, I think people have figured it out!

The ONLY negative this weekend was that we had to leave. To ease the pain, we made reservations for our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
253
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed the Orbit in so much we booked another vacation there the day we got back. Palm springs is wonderful. The staff at the Orbit was very friendly, helpful, and made sure you knew where to go in town. Centrally located a short walk from palm canyon road with good restaurants nearby. Room was in excellent condition and as described. Everything was very well maintained. We liked the record player and the records you could borrow from the office and the bikes you could borrow. Orbitini hour was a nice touch. As another reviewer said, we hated to leave and go back to reality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hideaway this past spring, 2013. We love this place! Every aspect of our stay was all we had hoped for & more. Extremely cool room & amenities with attention to detail & nuance without being over the top. The staff are great people who see to your needs without being in your way. The MCM look is understated yet completely cool and avoids those kitschy elements that might cheapen the effect. I could go on about the breakfast, the common room, the pool, the Orbitini Hour, etc. A wonderful experience that we can't wait to have again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Dino's Den & loved it. Would probably choose a different room next time just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a three night stay over Memorial Day weekend and have to say this was one of the most spot on properties I’ve been in. I’ve stayed in fancier ones, but everything here was just “Right”! As per my title, you felt more like you borrowed your very cool friend’s apartment that happens to come with caretakers more than “just checking into a hotel.”

Bill and Elaine and the housekeeping staff were true hosts over the weekend and were right there if you were looking for something, nor if we didn’t want to be bothered you were left alone without any unnecessary checks to see if you are “ok”. The way they run the place, especially the Orbitini hour, you will quickly relax and get to know your neighbors and have a fun time.

The restoration to the rooms is spot on to the timeframe, and the area is nice and quiet but still very convenient for wandering around the city. The record players in the room are a fun touch, we even hit a few estate sales to round up some appropriate tunes for the weekend to get that mid-century hit list. (and Bill has a good selection on hand as well) And the pool is great, they actually have a chiller on it so it doesn’t turn into a pot of boiling water like many of the area pools do once the temps start climbing.

Overall a very peaceful & friendly vibe made for a very relaxing weekend. You really hated to leave and go back to reality.

Room Tip: The rooms are in cool themes based n design, each one is neat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the end of June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. What came across to me was that the staff and the owners make a real effort to make the place feel as unique as it looks - highlights for us were the orbitini hour, the pool and the free breakfast. The property itself looks just like the photos and is beautifully maintained - loved the decor and the feel, and the views in the background. It is a five minute walk to palm canyon road and all the restaurants and shops - the staff were really helpful as well in terms of recommendations and advice on what to see. Would definitely recommend a stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Location, amenities, rooms and atmosphere for the perfect low key mid century escape in Palm Springs. Elaine, Jade and Bill are wonderful. The daily orbitini happy hour is a great way to unwind, relax and get to know other guests. A gem and we will be back.

Room Tip: Atomic paradise has a king bed, great mountain/pool views from the room and a fantastic mid-century...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights and it was terrific. Highly recommend staying. Having just stayed in a hotel in LA that had hidden charges everywhere it was a great to have so many treats available and as Elaine makes it very clear - they are all included. Great happy hour - we had a blast chatting with the other guests about what they were doing and we ended up going to dinner w another couple - very fun. Good location - you can walk or take the bikes they have and never drive while you stay there. We had the albert Frey room with outdoor shower it was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orbit In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orbit In

Address: 562 West Arenas Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two acclaimed, intimate settings near the mountain in downtown Palm Springs. The restored mid-century modern realm inspires leisurely poolside bliss while friendly staff oversees diverse clientele who enjoy spectacular views and vintage tunes. Wake up to organic coffee and extensive continental breakfast then ride a cruiser bike, enjoy the saline pool and Jacuzzi, or surrender to personalized in-room massage before winding down with "Orbitinis" or wine at the Boomerang Bar. Free high-speed wireless internet too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orbit In Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orbit In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.