We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nostalgic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruddy's General Store Museum

Ruddy's General Store Museum
221 South Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
760-327-2156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 100 things to do in Palm Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A re-creation of a general store during the 1930s and early 1940s, this unique museum displays the original fixtures, hardware, medicines and products of that period.
Palm Springs, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I took my cousin there when he visited me, and we had a ball. No one else was there at the time, so the lady who manages it had time to chat. My Cuz and I were literally teary as we remembered 60 years back when we used to go to the little store on the corner and buy so many of the things that now lay displayed before us. Teabury gum! Dots! We must have spent an hour there, but pretty soon, others came, so we moved on to the next exhibit. And all for $.95, like a handful of change. Great stroll down memory lane.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Worth the 95 cent admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited here last weekend. Warm welcome upon arriving when the store opened. Very informative, part of a collection accumulated for over thirty years. It's a short stop among a few historical places next door. The items are just as you see in the pictures.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“interesting, but go in with the view that it is set-up as a museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited in March 2013; this attraction is located in a little square just off of South Palm Canyon Drive in Palm Springs; it is part of a collection of small historical sites all located in what is called the Village Green area. It does only cost .95 to get in and contains a number of artifacts such as you would find in a general store of the 1930's era. Take the time to speak with the volunteers and you will get more out of the visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real neat displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had to go back twice to see it and glad I did. Some odd hours but well worth the return trip to get inside. Authentic 20 - 40 general store supplies, most original and in the box. Shows what a shopper could get. Not original to PS but collected from all over this General store really is worth a stop.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Well worth the 0.95 cent admission!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

When in Palm Springs, you have to check out this little time capsule. Reproduction of a general store, with products from the 1910's-1930's. Apparently everything is one person's collection and nearly all products are still inside their original packaging, unopened. For 0.95 cents/person admission, why wouldn't you go?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddy's General Store Museum also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Ruddy's General Store Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruddy's General Store Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.