We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds might as well be wooden boxes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Palm Spa and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ivy Palm Spa and Resort to your Saves list
Ivy Palm Spa and Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beds might as well be wooden boxes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

The beds in this hotel must meet the absolute minimum standards for a rectangular object to be called a "mattress" We stayed here two nights, figuring we'd give it a second chance, but it became obvious that these 'beds' are not for sleeping on. We go camping and have a great time sleeping on the ground (with adequate padding), but these 'mattresses' made it impossible to sleep through the night, and ruined the next day by giving us sore backs.
Everything else about the hotel is great - nice breakfast, good pool, free internet, friendly staff, quality blankets. Unless you bring your own blow-up mattress or padding, consider that the beds are no better than the floors. This hotel is not for someone looking to get a good night's sleep.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    40
    33
    35
See reviews for
47
69
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

They have a new large pool with 2 large jacuzi's. Can not figure why they built new one, but old one out of service for repairs.

We needed 3 rooms for our group. We got them all together on the ground floor. Outside door access. Only 10 steps from our car. Beds are really nice. All have pillow top mattress's.
Place needs a bit more cleaning care, but not really objectionable..

No airport noise. Only about a mile from the downtown area. Found some neat outdoor eating places down there..

  • Liked — soft beds
  • Disliked — old pool out of service. had to go through that area to get to new pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Ramada had a 20% off 3 night special which cost $66/night. It was the best bang for the buck in the area. I would have preferred Priceline with Hyatt or other hotels but they were booked up that weekend.

The Good:
Free parking, free Wifi, free continental breakfast -- bagels, bread, apples & bananas, Raisin oat bran and frosted flake cereals, some pastries and OJ and coffee -- super quiet (no party folks and can't hear next door), and 5-10 min drive to downtown.

The Bad:
For Asians or anyone else who loves hard beds, this is the place for you. I'm asian, and I'm used to sleeping on the floor. This bed gives the same feeling with a 2 inch cushion. It's also a regular double fullsize beds, not queens. They're easily the most hardest mattress I've ever been on, and I want one for my home. For the rest of you folks, stay away.

Overall, at that price, I wouldn't mind coming back here.


For those not renting a car, you can take either the Sun bus (Line 24) which is half block west of the airport entrance. It will take you within 1 block of the hotel. Or if you're a late arrival past 8:35PM, it's a 15 min walk to the mall for the Line 30 then transfer to the Line 111 to get within 1 block of the hotel. The bus cost $1 versus $30+ for the taxi. There's no hotel shuttle service.

Within walking distance is a Pizza Hut south of the hotel and Del Taco north of the hotel, both are about 5-10 min walking. Both are opened late. If you have a car, I recommend driving to Spa Casino and eat at the buffet there since they're opened late. It's the best bang for the buck in Palm Springs.

  • Liked — Price/quality
  • Disliked — Small size beds
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Our party booked 5 rooms last weekend. They were kind enough to get 4 of the room all next to each other.

The rooms had beds with extra cushion pads on the mattress so they were comfortable. There was also a working mini-fridge. The TV had plenty of cable channels. My only problem with the room was that the lamp had a dangling bulb which didn't look safe.

Some of our group used and enjoyed the pool and we all enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning. I wish they had waffle makers like other hotels we've been to recently. We all used their free WiFi until it shut down late Saturday night.

Parking was a little hard since they appear to be doing construction in on their lot. I think they are resurfacing the parking lot.

They didn't have an elevator although the building is only 2 floors. In my opinion the stairs are poorly spaced apart. It would be nice to have two sets of stairs on the face of the building but it's not a big deal.

The location was good. It was just minutes away from downtown Palm Springs and minutes a way for fast food joints. Morongo Casino was 17 miles away but it was a simple and quick drive.

We almost paid more for a ugly looking hotel across the street. I'm honestly glad we found this place. Overall it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Everything was fine except the bed. I'd have been better off sleeping in my car and saving the money. If you like sleeping on the floor, you'll love it.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I thought the hotel was nice. I have to agree that the bed was a bit hard, but nevertheless I slept like a log. They had one of the better continental breakfasts I've had. The room was clean. It's in a safe area and has a nice restaurant Billy Reeds, next door to the property . I would stay there again. I've stayed at quite a few hotels, being that I was a travel agent for 24 years.

  • Liked — Continental Breakfast and location
  • Disliked — Hard Bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

We stayed at the Ramada Palm Springs in December 2007 using one of the dockets from the travel voucher magazine. The lady on reception was fantastic. It looks like the hotel has been upgraded. We had a big room overlooking the pool. Everything we needed was in the room - lovely comfy chair and computer desk. Good breakfast in the reception area. The hotel is on not far from the centre of Palm Springs. The lady on reception recommended a restaurant almost next door to the hotel - Billy Reeds - it was great, so good in fact we went there 3 nights in a row!!! Would recommend this as a great place to stay, not too expensive, nice pool area and no problems at all.

  • Liked — Fresh looking, close to town, friendly staff, clean accommodation
  • Disliked — internet connection
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Palm Spa and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Palm Spa and Resort

Address: 2000 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivy Palm Spa and Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ivy Palm Spa and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Palm Spa and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.