We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Wine and Fresh Appetizers...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tinto

Tinto
1800 East Palm Canyon, Palm Springs, CA 92264
+1 760-322-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 271 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sunrise
Transit: Sunset/E. Palm Canyon
Description: Tinto (red wine in Spanish) is a wine bar and restaurant from Iron Chef Jose Garces inspired by the culinary-renowned Basque region of Northern Spain and Southern France. At Tinto, Garces presents his modern approach to traditional pintxos (Peen-chos), or Basque tapas, and a deep selection of area's premier wines and native cocktails.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spanish Wine and Fresh Appetizers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The wine list was impressive and the appetizers were fresh. We had a variety of the vegetables. They were seasonal and seasoned well!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    11
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good small plate dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After several months of debating whether to try Tinto or not, my wife and I chose to do so. We were held back by some of the reviews on this site. We chose a Saturday night to see what service would be like. We routinely search out small plate dining for the variety one can experience in a given meal. The kitchen and staff must be running at peak efficiency to turn out the number of dishes required during a busy night. In regards to the staff on this night, everyone was friendly and did their best to make things run smoothly. We had no complaints about the service. We ordered 8 dishes which our server, Michael, divided into 4 course presentation. The arrival of the courses was well timed. We finished one course, had several minutes to enjoy a discussion of the items and the next course arrived. Dirty dishes were bused rapidly. Water glasses were constantly refilled.
We had idiazabal cheese, marcona almond stuffed dates, arugala salad, pork belly montadito, chicken brocheta, white asparagus, scallops and secreto iberico. Recommendations made by our server were spot on. Each dish was well prepared and the complexity of flavors was a real treat, especially the secreto iberico, chicken brocheta and scallops (there are only so many things you can do with scallops - these were great despite being a bit over cooked).
The wine list is primarily Spanish wines. Prices vary within an acceptable range. Once again, our server discussed our interests and recommended a garnatxa which was perfect with our meal.
We were never hurried despite the restaurant being full.
The only wait came for the bill. We waited about 10 minutes longer than we would have liked as two very large parties, that had arrived simultaneously, were being served.
One must expect to pay more for small plate dining given the increased expenses needed to prepare and serve such items. The price was not out of line, the portions were more than expected for some of our choices and neither of us were left hungry in need of a desert.
Overall, a very enjoyable experience which we will have no hesitation to revisit (definitely better than a 4 rating so it gets a 5).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Yummy Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Friends & I went for my birthday (Feb. 15th) last week & it was delicious! The manager on duty (might be the bar manager, sadly can not remember his name) was Great! He took our order, checked back with us, class act. The bartenders were ok not very personable, but they did make a Great French Margherita! All the Tapas we had & we had a lot...were worth having again, so I might have ordered the pork belly more than once:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“FAB❗”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great brunch/lunch! Knowing it was a JG restaurant it would be great.
From the service to food it was outstanding. The cafe is from ROJO's in Lambertville, NJ. Every dish was creative and the mix of flavors was spectacular. Sat outside where there were heat lamps. Can't wait to go back❗

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a party of 7 go to Tinto on New Year's Eve. We were originally seated at a crappy table but I think they felt sorry for us and moved us to a great table. It was a tapas place, we had lots of small courses. We had one vegetarian with us, and another who can't eat a lot of different things, so we were a hard group to please. The server really worked with us to try and make everyone happy. The only thing we didn't love was the fact that since they brought us so many different courses, there wasn't enough of each course for everyone to have a taste. So there were a couple of courses that I never got to taste. But overall, an interesting concept and the food was good. By the end of the night, I think we were all full and happy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Tinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.