We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet location close to town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Springs Tennis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Springs Tennis Club to your Saves list
Palm Springs Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Convenient, quiet location close to town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed here with my adult son. We were in the area looking at studio condos for him to purchase. Palm Springs is one of my favorite places on earth to visit! The historic tennis club was perfect as it enabled us to each have our own bedroom and bathroom. The room rate was extremely affordable and there is no additional resort fee that even the local hotels charge. Our unit was spacious with two private patios, a generous kitchen and vaulted ceilings in the living room. There was a fireplace too, although we didn't use it. The restaurant was open for breakfast 9-11 am which didn't work in our timeframe. Check out was by 11 am also, I would have liked a noon check out. The Tennis club is only a couple of blocks to town where there are numerous shops and restaurants. Oh, and a casino is within walking distance too yet the Club is in a very quiet location.
We ate at the Roadhouse which had amazing ribs, wings, and tacos for good prices.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    58
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
75
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
monster1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

i had speciffically booked here because it was a "FAMILY FRIENDLY" resort.(I HAD BEEN IN THE AREA FOR A WEEK ) the staff -especially -MARK- at the front desk helped smooth over a rough arrival for this AUNT. helped w/ pool towels etc... prior to checking in. Upon arrival to the cabana I was pleasently surprised to find that it had TWO bathrooms.... HEAVEN...The kitchen was not lacking for anything... one bedroom suite quite spacious... a little dated/no flat screens - who is in the room anyway??? pool issues need to be resolved... 18 over is posted to be in one area by restaurant... 2 remaining pools are "family" ....HOWEVER>>> went to one small pool and had issues w/ guests w/ adjacient rooms - they felt and verbally stated that this was the "QUIET" pool disreguading the signs that were promanently desplayed that thie "quiet hours" were between 10pm-7am .Also the TEN or so deck chairs for other guests would have made it clear that this was NOT a PRIVATE POOL>>>> Just a hint for the future do not BOOK a room next to a pool if you want QUIET!!! Or at a family friendly resort. . Hey, I was w/ a 5 yr and 12yr. old whom were very well behaved...BOTH parents besides myself were there ....We later moved to another pool and it was wonderful...barbecue facilities outside were great as well as the close proximety to downtown.....great walking day/night...... great place to stay

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We've stayed here a number of times, most recently over Spring Break 2010 - always in the bungalows. During school vacations, there are a lot of extended families with kids - well-behaved, not wild college kids (who now go somewhere else). We played bingo, Wii contests, tennis, swam a lot, hiked in the local mountain just behind the hotel, and walked to town every day - just a couple blocks to restaurants.

My only complaint is spotty wifi reception in the bungalows. Housekeeping staff is super-friendly and helpful. Beautiful gardens and well-maintained. If my wife and I were alone, we'd stay in one of the smaller, quieter, mod hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Had an awsome time basking in the sun,sipping Chilled Champagne,while lounging on one of the 3 patios at my disposal. The gift shops, the resturants ,delicious foods and lots of sites to see.

Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soda Springs, ID
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

This was a last minute destination for me when the other place that was booked in Desert Palms had some mold in walls issues. I was particularly pleased with the universal friendliness and helpfulness of the desk staff. They even had free bicycles and locks to use and some admirable Trek bikes. Note tho that many parts of the main drag are off limits to all bicycles except police. . .likely due to the narrow sidewalks in places.

The rooms are acceptably appointed, relatively fresh paint and carpet and impeccably clean. Only thing a bit shabby was the attempt to seal the tub with paint. The smell of the room was noticeable at first and no flat screen TV's in either the LR or bedroom.

There is constant attention to gardening and sweeping. . .even those plants that lie within the small patio of each room. The housekeeping staff, I noticed tended to start dragging their supply and garbage carts around about 9 AM.. .not a problem for me but could be for late sleepers. Othe wise is a very quiet location. The rooms that I stayed in were isolated from the office by some 100+ yards. Pools always seemed to be kept clean.

I spend many days and nites walking or biking down the 4 or 5 blocks to town and never found it to be the least bit scary. The most happening places in town are just down this street; Las Consuelas with great Mexican food and live music 6 nites a week. . .and these 4 guys can play and sing a great variety of music and the floor is often packed with revelers. Also across the street is Kenny G's, a great place to eat Italian food and listen to live music as well. I particularly like to listen to Julius and Sylvia play and sing some of the old jazz tunes. Then just down the street just a half block is another bar/restaurant where all the younger crowd hang out and listen, also, to live music.

Palm Springs definitely has a noticable gay contingent and many of the bars are geared to that crowd. I heard that one such bar has a Karaoke nite on Thursday that has as close to professional singers as you'll hear. Wanted to check out "Blame it on the Moon" but never made it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We enjoyed our weekend getaway at this hotel. It was convenient to downtown Palm Springs. We stayed in the 2 bdrm 2 bath bungalow (pls see the photos) which was roomy for 2 adults and 3 kids (14,14,11). They did not have internet access in the unit but they had 2 computers and wi-fi in the lobby and the pool areas. The unit was cleaned daily (I like the little card they have under the bed which stated that they have already looked there before I did. I'm a little weird, I guess, but I hate looking for a missing book/toy and see filth under beds and this hotel passed my test). Unfortunately, we didn't get to avail of their amenities incl the pool table, 2 pingpong tables, barbecues, free movies, etc. but we enjoyed the family pool.
The staff was courteous, grounds are nicely kept. It is a comfortable place to stay in a pretty setting.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We (two couples) stayed in a 2 bedroom + 2 bath unit - very comfortable for four and well equipped - and spent a lot of time on the spacious but private patio having extended meals, sunning, reading, watching the hummingbirds and enjoying the flowers.

The resort is perfectly located - close enough to walk or bike to downtown Palm Springs but very quiet and peaceful; also close to some great golf as well as the wonderful on-site tennis. All of the grounds are immaculately maintained, and the pools, spas and gas barbeques are spread throughout the expansive grounds so are never crowded. Spencers restaurant is on-site and provides both an excellent menu as well as a terrific Happy Hour; the best part is that you can be there in minutes and not have to bother with the car.

We really enjoyed our week at the resort and can't wait to get back for another fun, restful vacation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Springs Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Springs Tennis Club

Address: 701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Springs Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular desert and mountain views, practice your tennis, relax by one of 3 swimming pools and spas or play a round of golf at any of the many nearby championship courses. At night, guests can take advantage of the wide variety of restaurants, including Spencer's on-site. The Tennis Club is ideally located within a short distance to art galleries, discount shopping outlets, casinos, theatres, and restaurants, and walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Springs Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Springs Tennis Club Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Tennis Hotel
Palm Springs Tennis Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Springs Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.