We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Place, clean and close to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Springs Tennis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Springs Tennis Club to your Saves list
Palm Springs Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Huge Place, clean and close to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

It's a great place. The place is a bit dated but overall is very clean. The service is great and the staffs are very helplful. Every Thursday evening there will be activities on the main street. You can find almost anything you want from the street vendor. It's worth to pay a visit. The only thing is don't go to palm spring in summer. It gets very very hot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
81
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

stayed here twice and think i prefer the main building after finding scorpions { twice} on the patio !! still a great place !

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I visited Palm Springs for the first time with friends over July 19-21, 2009. After reading the reviews here on tripadvisor, we chose the Palm Springs Tennis Club. We each wanted to have a separate bed, and the 2-bedroom suites were perfect. They were huge, full of storage drawers and cabinets, and lots of room to move around.

We stayed in room 363 (I think...) and it was a very nice, large apartment. The main living area had lots of seating, including a queen-size fold-out couch (didn't try it but it's there if you need it!) and a fireplace. There was a full kitchen equipped with dish liquid, dishwasher soap, a wide assortment of Corelle dishes, 3 or 4 different types of glassware, and misc. pots and pans. There was a coffee maker, a blender and full-size fridge, and a toaster. We were able to make our own delicious breakfasts and lunches, and then could splurge a bit on dinner!

There were two decks, a queen bed in one room with it's own TV and private bathroom (shower), and the room across the hall had two twin beds, it's own tv and a shared bathroom (tub) down the hall. The beds were comfy and the room was VERY peaceful. Yes the garbage collector showed up at 6am one morning but if you don't stay there on trash day, which is apparently Monday, you'll be fine :). The front desk will loan out free movies (one at a time) and there is free laundry service. Laundry baskets are provided in the room if you need them. Yes the rooms are dated, a bit 80's chic, but they're VERY clean, and it was nice to wake up to a little basket of fresh toiletries and milano cookies on our doorstep. Nice! Parking is under a covered carport which makes a difference when it's hot.

I had only a few problems with the room: There are stairs going up to it and it is a tiring climb with heavy luggage in 118º heat.

Also, the building our room was in was a distance from the pool. We drove just because the heat was exhausting. If you don't visit in the summer, you could surely walk, but bring a coverup and some flip flops... it's a bit of a hike. There are cabanas there for use, but only a few so if you're there in the popular winter months get there early. They were all locked and we had no idea how to get the key so we didn't go in, but they looked like a fun poolside retreat.

As for the adult pool itself, we were so excited when we arrived-- it looks just like the pictures posted here. The hotel is nestled against the mountains, and the views are spectacular. The pool is huge and inviting and we jumped right in... only to discover the water was very warm. It was almost cooler to get out of the water than be in it. We still enjoyed the peace and quiet at the pool area, but were really disappointed it was so warm (dare I say hot?). We hesitated to venture over to the family pool-- this was a girls' weekend away from our kids and we weren't too keen to surround ourselves with screaming children again ;)-- but we did, only to discover that it felt 20º cooler!

We asked the front desk about it. Apparently pools in Palm Springs need 'chilling units' to keep them cool, otherwise they're solar heated and become very warm. Makes sense, but for a hotel this nice they should have one of those in both pools. We were told the family pool unit was donated but they haven't got one for the adult pool yet. We still felt gypped. it's a beautiful adult pool area, but if you're looking for nice cool water, you're stuck going over to the kids pool. Bummer.

It was still a wonderful trip. The hotel is very accomodating and the staff is friendly. Especially the front desk clerk named 'Ceasar' (sp?). Funny guy who made us all feel single again! I highly recommend the hotel and would definitely come back again, but probably when it's cooler so I don't mind the tepid pool.
******
One more thing.... for dinner, eat at Las Casuelos Terrazas... just down the street from the hotel. Incredible mexican food, great margaritas, and the friendliest servers in town. Just EAT EARLY! Seems like everything was closed by 9pm. Maybe just a summer thing?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed for a week in one of the cottages and had the best time. We loved the room.......plenty of space, very clean, modern and 5 steps from our patio to the pool. Lots of drawers and closet space, kitchen stocked with plenty of appliances and utensils and the shower is immediately hot without having to wait. We were next to the ice machine but it was still not noisy :) Not far from downtown and dining....plenty of places to eat. We were hooked on the pool table in the main building! Complimentary dvds and vhs movies provided at the front desk and you can even check out board games! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE AND WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I'm almost afraid to talk about it. I was with my 18 year old sister and we had a blast. Short walk from center of town. The hotel is older but extremely well kept. I mean...pristine! Decor is dated, so if you're a snob, then look elsewhere. But if you want an old-school place with lots of relaxing peace and quiet, then this is THE spot. The Adult pool was outstanding, the grounds were pristine, the parking was underground, and Spencer's Restaurant was top notch. I will come back to this place over and over for a relaxing stay in Palm Springs. It's definitely a place for grown ups, although I'm sure there were kids somewhere, just not at the adult pool. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybones
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed just for a quick weekend getaway, and had a great time. Yes, the room decor is a tad dated, but it was clean and spatious with a comfortable bed. We stayed in the main hotel in one of the smallest rooms - which was still plenty big. The high point was the adult pool which is lovely, clean, right up against the mountain, which is beautiful. Plenty of poolside lounges and shade.

Also, the location is great. It's a 10 minute walk to the center of town (I counted exactly 12 minutes from walking out of our room to walking into our dinner restaurant). All this and a good value. If you're looking for trendy, fancy Palm Springs, go to the Parker. If you're looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing, clean, budget vacation - go to the Tenis Club!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Stay away from rooms near Spencers and Adult pool area. At 6.45 am the staff gather and make a lot of noise .At 7.am they loudly roll out the garbage bins. At 7.15 they fire up lawn mowers and then the garbage truck arrives. This goes on most mornings even thought we wrote a report ,tried to talk to the staff directly and even phoned the front desk.
They fail to understand that people may want to get some sleep on a holiday

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Springs Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Springs Tennis Club

Address: 701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Springs Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular desert and mountain views, practice your tennis, relax by one of 3 swimming pools and spas or play a round of golf at any of the many nearby championship courses. At night, guests can take advantage of the wide variety of restaurants, including Spencer's on-site. The Tennis Club is ideally located within a short distance to art galleries, discount shopping outlets, casinos, theatres, and restaurants, and walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Palm Springs Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Springs Tennis Club Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Tennis Hotel
Palm Springs Tennis Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Springs Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.