We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,Clean & Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Springs Tennis Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Springs Tennis Club to your Saves list
Palm Springs Tennis Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice,Clean & Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and stayed at the Tennis Club in June 2012. We stayed in one of the Suites. It was clean and in a quiet location. We stayed there during the off peak time of the year. Parking , laundry, and internet wifi was free. The staff was helpful ( Mark,& Jake) and very friendly. The Tennis Club is close to downtown and some of the local events. I would stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Visit during the off peak times. Unit can be noisy if it attracts a lot of young people. Suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Palm Springs Tennis Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you so much for submitting your comments about your recent stay at the Palm Springs Tennis Club. We also appreciated your kind words about Mark and Jake – both gentlemen are fine examples of the “service minded” attitude we try to foster throughout our organization. It is our hope that we have made a good, lasting first impression on you, and we cannot wait for you to come back and spend time vacationing with us again!

-Palm Springs Tennis Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    56
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this establishment the last week of May, 2012. We were on the second floor furthest away from Spencer's restaurant. We traded through Interval International for a 1 bedroom unit. It was not a 5 star (based on Interval's rating) but I was pleasantly surprised, and would DEFINITELY go back to this facility. They had light maid service every day (emptying of trash and exchange of all towels) and a midweek cleaning. The location was great, the pool, though small, was quiet and very scenic. No kids - which we liked! Plenty of shade if that is what you desired. Note - we did not stay across the street in the units. We were in the facility that backs up to the mountain. The staff were pleasant. There was free coffee every morning. The workout facility was quite and nice with ample machines and tv's. It would have been nice for the facility to provide headphones when working out on the machines, but luckily I brought my own. The were bikes to use - FREE of charge, as well as helmets. The location is quiet, so we were able to ride bikes around the facility on the different quite side streets without having to worry about cars, as there was no traffic. There were hundreds of movies to check out, again, FREE of charge. There was an underground parking garage that made it very convenient. The only complaint was the air conditioners in the units. They were not very quite, and they did not keep the units as cool as I would have liked to be comfortable. And I am not one that needs a lot of air conditioning. Other than that, we really enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Palm Springs Tennis Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We appreciate very much you sharing your experiences with us. We were very pleased that you took advantage of many of the resorts’ amenities, and we were most pleased to learn that you found the staff to be pleasant. We apologize for the noisy air conditioner unit, we are having the unit you stayed in inspected to make sure everything is ship-shape. Unfortunately when the mercury approaches the century mark (100 degrees Fahrenheit or greater)in the desert, the target temperature for the a/c unit is in the range of the upper seventies to the lower eighties - it is surprising what a difference ten degrees or so in the ambient temperature can make. We look forward to your next visit with us!

-Palm Springs Tennis Club Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Don't know if we had a horrible room location or it was the time of year, the week of Easter, or thats how it is all the time. Second floor, overlooking Spencers and the trash dumpsters was not a good area of the hotel. The noise from the trash being picked up I can take a couple of times for the week, but the screaming and running from uncontrolled children was unbearable. From early morning till late at night, the noise was constant! These units are not sound insulated well enough.
That ranting aside, the room was nice and well equipped. We were very pleased with the hotel location. Could not have been a more beautiful site against the mountain. Easy walking distance to anything downtown. They do have an adult pool to avoid any more noise. Free laundry facility is available with your own detergent. The staff was very helpful and friendly, including maintenance and housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at Palm Springs Tennis Club, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
I would like to take a moment to apologize for any inconvenience this guest may have experienced during their recent stay at our Resort during the very busy time, Spring Break. Everyone seems to be in “Party Mode” during this holiday, but this does not excuse disrupting behavior. We do have personnel continuously touring our property day and night in an effort to alleviate any issues before we get complaints, and respond immediately if issues are brought to our attention. Spring Break in Palm Springs has always been a time that many children visit with their parents or grandparents, as well as others taking a break from school or work. We will continue our quest in assuring that The Tennis Club remains the first class resort it has always been for all concerned. Again, I apologize for the issues this guest experienced. I am happy to hear that this guest found most of the staff and accommodations excellent. We look forward to your next visit.

Tom Doyle
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

What a wonderful timeshare resort....those who own here can be proud of their property and the staff that maintains it. Each night we went to sleep in a quiet, comfortable bed and awoke to the music of the birds. We had a one bedroom/one bath casita by the "quiet" pool. It featured a small but well equipped kitchen (even baggies and foil), a small patio with a table and 4 chairs, 2 tv's.... there are free DVD's at the lobby, a free laundry room, bbqs, free bikes, lush gardens with many pools and spas, tennis courts and so much more. Althought our room could sleep 4 - it was more suited for only 2. During our stay they celebrated their 75th Anniversary with a beautiful fireworks display and complimentary wine. The resort was an easy walk to downtown Palm Springs, many fine restaurants, the Art Museum and Rite-Aide for basic supplies (nice selection of wine and liquor). We did not rent a car so used only taxis or public transportation. It worked well for us however if you are planning to hike the canyons, golf or ride the tram, a car would be needed. Many of us in the 80's bought timeshares - this resort reminded me of why we did so. Their entire staff, from reception, housekeeping, maintenance and grounds keepers treated us as valued guests. We have already booked our stay for next year - possibly we'll meet you by the pool.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, a casita by the family pool would be ideal. Rooms in the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The PSTC is a timeshare property close to downtown that takes tennis seriously. There are several well maintained courts and tournaments are played there. The adult pool adjacent to the courts feels upscale as does the restaurtant. The property has two sections. In the main building are one bedroom and studio rooms. The rooms could use an upgrade, but are pleasant and large. The problem is that when you pass from section to section of the building enroute to your room, the open areas are not air conditioned. This does hit you hard in the summer, but is quite pleasant in the fall. These open areas house the ping pong tables and reading nooks. Across the street from the main building are the villas that are free standing and are popular with families as are the pools there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We loved this place. We were in the cabanas which had one king sized bedroom, two bathrooms, a lovely living room with a pull out bed and two flat screen tvs and a fully equipped kitchen and a very private patio. Went to the pool behind spencers restaurant every day although there were two other smaller pools. This is a timeshare and was very clean and well taken care of. Free coffee and popcorn in the lobby game room every day. Only problem was the internet was down more than it was on. At least three people came to try to correct the situation, but it still worked when it wanted to.

Room Tip: loved room 341
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Charming hotel and suites set against the foot of the Santa Rosa mountains which hearkens back to the mid-century glory of Palm Springs. They have several exquisite, professional-level tennis courts, beautifully landscaped grounds in a part of town which is perfectly quiet, yet walking-distance* to downtown shops and restaurants. Suites were well-appointed with convenient access; pools and grounds are super-clean.

The lovely old-world Tennis Club District is just what we appreciate about Palm Springs: Mid-century and Spanish Revival architecture with lush landscaping, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, little traffic but very convenient to downtown Palm Springs. This is by far the best part of Palm Springs to stay in for beauty, accessibility, quiet, dining, and value.

You might enjoy the "suites" more than rooms in the main hotel, since you are staying on the adjacent grounds with multiple pools and spas. These rooms come in varying sizes, but most have well-stocked kitchenettes. The upgrade can be as little as $10 more than the hotel rooms, but worth much more. The main hotel does have access to free parking in the building out of the sun, and is closer to their on-site restaurant; but the suites may be more pleasing to your party overall.

Note that the suites are very close together, almost two arms apart; it's generally quiet but has a crowded feel. One huge negative for our stay: When we were checking in we heard a tremendous racket from across the street - screaming that sounded like a football game - we thought there was a fight going on - and when we finally got our room and walked over, we saw why: a family of about 20 people had taken over the family pool and weren't capable of speaking, only screaming. This went on for several hours until "quiet time". I didn't feel comfortable using the facility and I saw nobody else was, either. At least our room wasn't near this area, and I'm sure the people trying to have a quiet weekend were miserable. The large spa had 10 people crammed into it, so that wasn't an option. There was an empty spa tucked around the corner, empty and beautifully landscaped, so I was able to enjoy that one in relative peace (I could still hear the screaming echoing around the place.)

Some reviewers noted a rude staff, and I must say when I walked in, they all looked up with sour expressions and "oh no, I have to help someone" written all over their faces. I didn't get a welcoming vibe at all. Later though when the room was ready (not until 4 pm), the fellow helping us was relaxed and charming, but I wouldn't say 100% of the staff is 100% friendly.

I will for sure try them again, but I'll be more picky about where they put us (closer to the pool, not right on the farthest corner facing the street; our patio had cars going by.)

If you're a tennis fanatic, though, you already know about this place with its world-class courts, and you may already be familiar with the "adult pool" set right against the rocky mountainside with lush landscaping. Great place to hang out.

I actually upgraded this back up to 4 stars from 3 (based on the staff doing nothing about the noise level.) I realized later this was probably a fluke. I'd say 3.5 is more accurate, depending on your expectations - you could do a lot worse in Palm Springs; just don't expect a trendy crowd in this area.

*Downtown is walking distance for someone who is fit, not disabled, and not when it's over 80 degrees. Your best bet is driving, there is plenty of free parking one block west of the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Springs Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Springs Tennis Club

Address: 701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Springs Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular desert and mountain views, practice your tennis, relax by one of 3 swimming pools and spas or play a round of golf at any of the many nearby championship courses. At night, guests can take advantage of the wide variety of restaurants, including Spencer's on-site. The Tennis Club is ideally located within a short distance to art galleries, discount shopping outlets, casinos, theatres, and restaurants, and walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Springs Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Springs Tennis Club Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Tennis Hotel
Palm Springs Tennis Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Springs Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.