We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santiago Resort
Save
You added Santiago Resort to your Saves list
650 San Lorenzo Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Poolside Lunch Daily
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Felton, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have stayed in a few places in Palm Springs, but once I stayed at the Santiago, I realized there is no other place for me. I just love the friendly hospitality of the management and the staff, the beautiful landscaped pool area and view of the mountains, and the amazing serenity I find just floating in the pool. When I think of a relaxing vacation, the Santiago comes first to mind. I recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: Select a room by the pool for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    33
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
113
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just spent a wonderful week at Santiago. David, Ken and Octavio are the best and always make me feel welcome. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The grounds are lovely and the pool is the largest at any guest house in Palm Springs. Rates include a very complete breakfast and a great lunch from a nearby sandwich shop. I would highly recommend anyone going to Palm Springs to stay here. The only bad thing about this resort is having to leave it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset nj & NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

From the greeting at the front door to the departing "we hope to see you again" the guys that run this wonderful men's resort were welcoming and warm. The room was extremely comfortable, 2nd floor king which had both a view of the pool and mountains could not have been any better! Very clean with tasteful decor and luxe bath products Oh and they had robes. Breakfast and lunch were inclusive offered many choices to please anyone. The pool area has mist or not depending on your seat. Highly recommend this place - we are very traveled and have found few to match Santiago.

Room Tip: Finally a men's resort that did not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I discovered Santiago over a decade ago when another property close by had become less compelling. Santiago has only gotten increasingly better over the years.

The grounds are kept immaculate and the service is great. Ken (groundskeeper) and Octavio (housekeeping) do a fantastic job keeping the place in shape, and Ken often surprises guests with a little afternoon libation. David, the manager, makes sure it all runs smoothly and does it with a relaxed style. Get to know him a bit and you'll appreciate his sharp wit.

You can expect a consistently pleasant experience that includes a great Continental breakfast till around 10 and, around 1 pm, a choice of nicely done catered boxed lunches (request it until 11 am). Few places offer both.

If you're the kind who likes to lounge around the resort all day, you have plenty of reason not to leave: Wonderfully large pool, well-appointed deck and comfortable furniture, and plenty of sunny and shady spots to relax, eat, drink, play cards, read, etc. The grounds are nicely manicured, and the view to the west (mountain) is great, particularly at sunset. The rooms, all of which have been remodeled over the past several years, offer comfortable beds, nicely appointed bathrooms, refrigerators, Wifi and the usual amenities one would expect from a moderately-priced venue. Prices are competitive year-round but if you like it hot, Santiago provides a particularly good value in from 1 July though 31 August when rates fall considerably.

Santiago is a place where I never fail to meet nice people from all over. I haven't once been there where my stay was spoiled because the mix of people didn't gel. Age range and proclivity to nudity and fun is all over the map — but it's always respectful. So if you're looking for Romper Room, look elsewhere.

Santiago is always my first choice, and it's a good value for your money.

Room Tip: Fitness center is not rated because it does not apply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Splurged and spent a week holiday at the Santiago. From the cleanliness of the entire resort to the personnel, all facets of my stay exceeded my expectations. Including both a breakfast and lunch in the daily rate is a great bonus as both were exceptional. Pool is large and has all-day sun. Grounds are impeccable and have several tables where one can dine and have a beverage. Second floor rooms are tastefully appointed, have a great view of the surrounding mountains and many overlook the pool. In my opinion, the Santiago is a class act! My most heartfelt thanks to David, Ken, and Octavio for making my entire stay so relaxing

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We thought that Santiago was an excellent facility. Nice rooms, beautiful pool area and grounds. The breakfast is better than what you get at similar resorts. But we just could not get past the sour manager -- he had a very unfriendly manner and did not appear to like his job or us. Another desk staff person was far friendlier to the opposite extreme...overly familiar. It's strange that the property is so, so nice, yet the staff is so unprofessional. It was a good value, though, and we enjoyed the other guests. Many of the other guests were regulars and loyal, so maybe we inadvertently did something to anger the manager...I don't know. Also a couple of other down-sides compared to other Palm Springs resorts: no fitness room, and the grass is AstroTurf. Ick.

Room Tip: Definitely get an upstairs room. We were downstairs and could hear every step the guests above us t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My partner and I have been coming to Santiago for almost 10 years now, and it's never been better. We always meet friendly and interesting people, and the service is fantastic. Thank you Ken for the afternoon treats and to Octavio for making us feel so welcome and taken care of. Santiago's rooms are comfortably furnished and the breakfast and lunch options are just right. Highly recommended if you're looking for real people to relax with and a staff that treats everyone with respect and friendliness.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santiago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Resort

Address: 650 San Lorenzo Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private, swimsuit-optional escape for gay men resting at the foot of the San Jacinto Mountains, Santiago is a place where the stillness and serenity of the desert infuse everything. Where the bubbling spa, rustling palms, and singing birds become your personal soundtrack. Where your only commute is the one from your room to the pool. And you look forward to it. Santiago's professional staff effortlessly provides attentive service while allowing you just the right degree of solitude. It's a combination that creates a tranquil atmosphere of casual luxury unmatched anywhere in the desert. So come step through our gate. Exhale. And smile. You made it. Amenities: Expansive, heated swimming pool (largest in any gay PS resort) Outdoor spa Outdoor mist cooling system Complimentary continental breakfast Complimentary "Stay n Splash" poolside lunch (specialty sandwiches, salads, wraps) So-close-you-can-almost-touch-them mountain views Free Wi-Fi with high-speed Internet Privacy fence around entire property for ultimate seclusion and relaxation Meticulous grounds featuring native plants, cacti and palms Luxurious, extra-large rope hammocks (2) strung between the palm trees Twenty-three spacious, comfortable rooms Central air conditioning King-size beds (some rooms feature two queen beds) Flat-screen TVs with DVD players Luxury bath products Refrigerators, microwaves, irons, and in-room electronic safes ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santiago Hotel Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.