We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like the boutique hotel vibe...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skylark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Skylark Hotel to your Saves list
Skylark Hotel
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1466 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92662   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
1 review
“If you like the boutique hotel vibe...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

...Skylark's the place for you. The room was clean and spacious (though the toilet was on the small side). Really enjoyed the hot tub and steam room as well. In general the pool area is an awesome place to hang out at, with a great view of the mountains to boot. Also, the location of Skylark is fantastic - really near Palm Canyon Drive.

Some downsides - unstable wifi connection, and chalky tapwater.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed in here in low season (mid-July) with a large group; we booked the entire hotel for a weekend event. That sort of circumstance might necessarily change one's experience but I can't imagine anyone, knowing Palm Springs for the mid-century thowback it pretends to be, would be disappointed here.

First the basics: Located in Palm Springs about a mile north of downtown, it's a pleasant longish walk or an easy quick drive into the heart of town. (I walked most everywhere -- I enjoy walking -- but I can see how some may prefer to drive.) A 1950s motel built around a central courtyard with a pool and spa; a common room sits at one end of the courtyard with seating, a flat screen TV and a continental breakfast served until 11:00. The rooms are large and spacious with wide single pane picture windows facing inward toward the pool. The bathrooms are smallish with shower stalls and no tubs but done well. The air conditioner is a little loud. Don't expect the Ritz or the Four Seasons; the Skylark doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is: A 1950s motel well restored and well maintained with luxury flourishes.

But knowing what it is? It's fabulous. Bedding was clean, soft and luxurious, pool towels were large, thick and plentiful. Rooms were simple but clean, well designed and well maintained, and the size of the property felt intimate and welcoming. And frankly, that's where the Skylark shined.

Their staff is fabulous.

I was unintentionally the "nightmare guest." First asking a ton of questions when making the reservation and then, even after changing the reservation to add an additional night, apparently miscommunicating my dates and arriving a day late. I locked myself out of my room well after the front office people had left for the day and then had to call the emergency number posted on the office for lock-outs. I even experienced a medical issue creating issues for the staff and through it all every single one of the staff members I dealt with were consistently and sincerely polite and eager to please. Helpful, giving, courteous, genuinely caring about not only our group but me as an individual guest. I cannot rave about the staff enough. Every single individual I interacted with was unusually pleasant, competent and professional.

If you're looking for the Ritz, the Four Seasons or even for that matter, the Hyatt, move on. The charms of this place will be lost on you. But if you're interested in successful mid-century restorations, in local boutique hotels with a sense of intimacy, in small, clean, well maintained properties staffed by genuinely gracious, generous, kind people who care about you and your stay, you can't go wrong here.

I'm looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms, not directly on the pool, can be a little quitter and a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Skylark is a hidden gem in Palm Springs. Rooms are really spacious, bed really comfortable and the staff will do pretty much anything to make you feel welcome. Continental breakfast is offered as a courtesy. And the pool and the jacuzzi are open 24h. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Cool ,restored Mid Century hotel. We stayed here while we enjoyed some Modernism Week festivities. Great location. We really enjoyed the pool and sauna. Recommend a top floor room so you can enjoy the mountains.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nothing about this out of the way, roadside place has anything to recommend it. You might as well be on the Jersey Turnpike with palm trees.
Try many other places that are more exotic and have pride of place and feel that you're really away.
Vince NYC10003

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I were staying at a 'premier' hotel in downtown Palm Springs, but had to switch properties mid-stay. I scoured about and found the Skylark Hotel...uptown aways, but still close by car to the downtown activities. We arrived with low occupancy. The attention to detail by Ron, Gordon and Norma to name but a few was exceptional. As the facility filled up with Stagecoach fans, the courtesies and hustle about the facility by staff remained perfect. The rooms were clean, the morning brunch was excellent. The pool has perfect temperature and sunlight. The colors and furnishings are perfect mid-century. We highly recommend the Skylark Hotel...kudos to Ron for exceptional management. Great value, Great service

Gary/Mary Jo

Room Tip: Rooms to the south end toward Indian Canyon side are closer to parking, breakfast. Rooms toward Palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I was just in Palm Springs for a festival, and happy to see the desert is booming! Lots of new projects underway, people on the streets, and glorious sun overhead. I found Skylark because I wanted to be within walking distance of downtown, and my usual places were booked or had sky-high weekend rates.
Easy check in, free parking, updated grounds and room, free wi fi, good hot water in the shower...even a sparkling wine in the included breakfast!
Skylark hotel is a pleasant spot to stay at and I hope your stay will make you smile.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Address: 1466 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92662
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skylark Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skylark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.