We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escena Lounge and Grill

Escena Lounge and Grill
1100 Clubhouse View Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262
7609920002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Escena Lounge and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 271 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Continental, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vista Chino, just east of Gene Autry
Description: Escena Lounge and Grill pairs delectable California-fusion cuisine with eye-popping design and a playful, retro vibe. Spacious indoor and outdoor dining areas frame majestic views of the towering San Jacinto Mountains. Voted Best New Restaurant of 2010 by readers of Palm Springs Life, Escena Lounge + Grill is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and happy hour. Hours, menus and live entertainment schedules vary seasonally; please call or check our website for current information. Escena Lounge + Grill is located within the Escena Palm Springs community and is connected to the stunning Escena Golf Club. Dining and golf are open to the public year-round. Enter from Vista Chino 200 yards east of Gene Autry Trail.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scenic Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Not only a panoramic view of the mountains and overlooking the golf course, but also a delicious outdoor brunch with attentive and courteous servers. A great way to further enjoy this amazing desert climate, and a fun place to meet friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    54
    16
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birthday place or show visitors or just a local treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We celebrated a good friends birthday. it was busy but we received good service. Those chips are divine, our burger and ceaser salad were excellent as was the chocolate lava cake. The views are stunning, An usual special spot. And one of my favourites.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Show me the chips !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our first lunch adventure here and i can tell you we will be back !
Beautiful outdoor terrace, with a view of mountains water and fairways that is relaxing and a pleasure to see, along with enjoying a meal.Delicious sandwiches and salads, all named with a golf theme,( "The Slice" a 1/4 beef burger cooked to order with cheddar cheese and caramelized onions)
I am saving the best for last. After we were served our refreshments a nice serving of fresh from the fryer home made potato chips with a side of ranch chipolte infused dipping sauce arrived. i dare you to eat just one, they are that good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good food, great patio and superb view over the golf course and the mountains. Sunday brunch is very good value and the staff friendly and efficient - book to avoid the line

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great ambiance, poor quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to this place since it opened 3 years ago ... we haven't been back for awhile since we were so disappointed the last time we dined there ... the sad thing is that this is a great venue, but they just don't get it ... they had a great thing going for Sunday brunch, but changed the menu so that you had to order their champagne brunch (pricey) instead of their regular luncheon menu ... consequently, we stopped going there last spring for Sunday brunch
... tonight we thought we would try it again for their 1/2 price bar menu (we have eaten here several times in the regular dining room but wanted something light) ... the place was virtually empty ... We did sit at the bar, and we ordered chicken potstickers ($10) for 4 of them; they were ok ... then we followed that with Shrimp Scampi ($16) for 1 (ONE) shrimp!!; it was tasty but meager ... and Calamari ($14) for a decent sized portion ... these were VERY salty, deep fried, and breaded like chicken tenders ... almost inedible because of the salt .. and we finished off with the chicken tacos ($14) for 2 of them ... again VERY salty ... so our 1/2 priced appetizers with two glasses of wine, tax, and tip came to $48 for 2 of us ... how sad when this place has one of the premier views in the entire Coachella Valley ... I write this with a lot of misgivings because this place, if run right, could be and is one of the best venues in the desert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elise A, General Manager at Escena Lounge and Grill, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Folks,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you are disappointed with some aspects of our restaurant here at Escena. We certainly want to present ourselves positively and to be a great value. I wanted to clarify some of your concerns so that hopefully you will see the value and return to a better experience.

Our appetizer menu is priced at full price then discounted half price during happy hour. The prices you mentioned in your feedback are the regular list pricing; you paid half that price on your bill. For example, the potstickers were actually $5, etc. The shrimp in the scampi portion for happy hour is one piece for the $8 price, however it is a 5 oz portion which is almost close to a regular size protein portion of 6oz on most of our regular entrees.

You can still order items during Sunday brunch without paying the $18 price, the regular breakfast menu is available as well as a limited lunch menu for the lower regular price. The only difference was that we cut down on the larger variety of lunch items offered due to the higher volume we get on Sundays.

I hope that addresses some of your concerns and if you have further concerns you can certainly contact me directly at the restaurant.

Thank you,

Elise Arouh
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escena Lounge and Grill also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Escena Lounge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escena Lounge and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.