We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So well Maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Isle of Palm Springs

Save Saved
You added Desert Isle of Palm Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desert Isle of Palm Springs
2555 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
San Bernardino, CA USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So well Maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A beautiful property with spacious accommodations. Grounds are immaculate and employees are very friendly and helpful. Located conveniently to Valley highlights. In fairness, I used to own a timeshare here but property is better now than before since room renovations

Room Tip: all rooms recently renovated with high quality appliances and beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
29
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Desert Isle is a very comfortable vacation spot in Palm Springs. The condos are well appointed and the grounds are immaculate. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The central location is great with great restaurants and shopping close by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

By the time we reached Palm Springs, we had been on the road for 2 weeks, having started in San Francisco, and gone as far east as Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon. This resort was exactly what the 5 of us (2 adults, 3 children aged 11, 8 and 6) needed, so we spent 3 days relaxing by the pool. The check in staff were awesome (we had been on the road over 7 hours by the time we arrived at the resort), let us inspect the room first, and let us extend from the original 2 night booking when we decided we really didn't want to leave! Great shopping centre across the road that had everything we needed. The resort was lovely and quiet, the sofa sleeper very comfortable and the rollaway bed was good too. The king bed in the bedroom was also lovely. Fully equipped, complete with BBQ and outdoor furniture, it was just what this tired family needed. We would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived early and we were able to check in right away which was bonus. We were given a map to the room and pool towels by the friendly front desk man.
We had a spacious 1 bedroom unit on the ground floor. The place is old but the condos are totally updated. The kitchen had excellent cookware and anything you would need to cook with.Large bedroom with comfortable king size bed 2 closets and dresser , flat screen tv and ensuite bathroom. Large sectional couch in living room and another flat screen tv as well as another bathroom off the living area. Dining area beside kitchen which had table and chairs for 4. Outside patio area had 2 loungers and small table as well a an umbrella table and 4 chairs and a bbq.
The pools were clean and the ground were beautiful. Never a problem getting lounge chairs by the pool. Location is great as there is a Jensens supermarket in a mall next door as well as Walgreens. There is also a Jewish deli, restaurant and bakery to the right of the resort with good food and deserts that are awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at Desert Isle and we were very happy with our stay. Very nice, quiet resort with well kept rooms, landscaping and amenities. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Next door was a great restaurant - Manhattan of the Desert and across the street was a shopping center with everything convenient.
We loved this resort and would definitely return for future vacations.

Room Tip: Room 29 seemed to be the best with a view of the mountains, view of the pond and fountains, and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are looking for a large, expansive, upscale, world-class resort with lots of activities, fancy restaurants, large chandeliers, enormous pool, etc. this is definitely not it (you should go stay at the Marriott Desert Springs instead). If you are looking for a quiet, tucked-in-a regular neighborhood, adult condo with no stairs, you will like the Desert Isle. Our one bedroom condo was very spacious for a one bedroom, and there were no stairs in our section of the property. Perfect for people over 50 with achey knees. The property was very quiet -- entirely adults when we were there -- and the sound of the pond fountain was quite relaxing. The convenience to shopping of all kinds couldn't be better, but it was a little odd to be so close to a strip mall. Parking was right outside our front door, so lugging in groceries was effortless.

The one-story buliding looked circa 60s or 70s, but were completey renovated inside (I'm guessing based on the layout -- not "open concept"). Granite countertops, pecan cabinetry, whitewashed wood, and painted brick with berber carpet greeted us when we entered through the Dick Van Dyke show home-style double doors. The unit spept four, but it is big enough it could have accomodated 5 or 6 easily, and there was a rollaway bed in the closet, in addition to a perfectly comfortable sofa bed. Flat screen tvs and a sauna-shower updated the look. The king-sized bed was very comfortable (I think it has a memory foam pillow-top), and the sofa pull-out was surprisingly doable. The living room has a large sectional, which is also comfortable. If we had brought all three of our young adult children (which we didn't), one could have just slept on the sectional.

The balcony off the back was very useful, and our teenage son used the private barbecue daily. The grounds have lovely landscaping, but the whole property is not very large. From the pool area, you can easily see the next door neighbors -- a PetCo, a Walgreens, and a TJ Maxx.

This complex has the feel of a residential condo or patio-home neighborhood, rather than a resort, and the lack of activities for families would have been a deal-breaker when my kids were little. There is no activities director, no concierge, no calendar of events, no miniature golf, no arts and crafts or movie nights, no cheesey marketing gimmicks, no Sunday donuts and sales presentation, etc. Now that my kids are in high school and college, and we are long past the "let's tour a new condo development" stage, the peace and quiet was kind of nice.

The pool is nothing fancy, but clean. The hot tub is in a separate enclosure and neither are crowded. Both have lifts for people who are mobility-impaired, if you ask the front desk. My 18 year old son loved the tennis court. The ping pong building was always too hot, he said.

The restaurant on the property is an impressive, full-service, authentic Jewish deli called the Manhattan Restaurant. Authentic motzah ball soup, black-and-white cookies, pastrami on rye with sourkraut, blintzes, chicken liver, rugelach -- you name it, they've got it. The average age of people on this property, and in the restaurants, is easily 65. Easily.

I would recommend this complex for people over 50 who just want to relax. A multi-generational family (grandparents, kids and little kids who just want to play in a pool) might also really like it. This is a place your Bubbe and Zaide will love. In fact, they would probably just want to buy a unit and live there permanently.

Room Tip: Get a one story with a barbecue if you want easy in and out to the pool and private parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

OK so I never been to Palm Springs before and to be honest I had an elderly aunt with me and thought where the hell should I stay. Finally decided to give Desert Isle a try, booked 1 night via Booking.com and got a good rate. Anyway prior to arrival we decided to stay for two nights and had to call the resort to try and get a 2nd night, I advised I had an elderly aunt with me and straight away ‘Jacki’ said she would ensure we got a good unit located on the ground floor for both nights. Well when we arrived, after some 4 hours on the I10 in the rain (big mistake – take the I210 if travelling from LA) we were greeted by a really nice gentleman whom went out of his way to make sure we knew where we were going and also ensure to put some fresh coffee on for us.

This resort is located at the east end of town, not that far but far enough to be away from all the hustle and bushel of town. It is a beautiful place. We stayed for the two nights in a very large one-bedroomed unit (#24). The room was immaculately clean, spacious and very well-maintained. It was very comfortable for us both and the convertible sofa in the living room was one of the best I ever stayed on. The outside areas were immaculate and very well kept. Each condo had a patio, chairs, loungers & BBQ which was really great.

On checkout the gent (not the one that checked us in) was the only grumpy person we met in all the staff. Would have been nice to be asked ‘how are stay was’ but he let the resort down with his gruff manner, not just to us but others checking out before us also.

I would highly recommend this place to all and like other reviewers don’t miss the Thursday Market – great food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ideally a ground floor units would be easier for the patio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Isle of Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Isle of Palm Springs

Address: 2555 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#29 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Desert Isle of Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Isle Of Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Desert Isle Palm Springs
Palm Springs Desert Isle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Isle of Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.