We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great city escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Palm Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pura Vida Palm Springs to your Saves list
Pura Vida Palm Springs
589 South Grenfall Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great city escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decided to take a first trip to Palm Springs in April. This boutique property with a cozy 8 rooms provided a sunny and homey city escape. The resort was reasonably close (a healthy walk) from the main drag, but there are two bicycles available for guests to use and we utilized them for lunch runs often. I thought the bikes were a nice touch. The resort staff were all helpful and welcoming. Every morning a breakfast spread (bagels, fruit and cereal) was available. Pool side happy hour every evening gave guests an extra chance to mingle. I am happy to have found such relaxing getaway

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpvps, Owner at Pura Vida Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are really pleased that your first visit to Palm Springs was a good one and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll come back and if there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thanks again! David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
31
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Been going back and forth to Palm Springs from the east coast now for over three years, had my regular place, top of the line., but wanted to try a new place, wanted to see if there was a difference, and boy what a difference, the rooms were appointed with the highest quality finishes, great space, great design, and maintained to perfection, true pride of ownership..The owners and employees friendly, concerned, caring and went above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and one of the family.. Outdoor space, pool and hot tub, maintained to perfection.. Continental Breakfast and Cocktail Hour everyday..This is a must go to, when you visit Palm Springs. Be back in June.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were invited here by friends for a quick getaway. We loved the hotel and needed a few more days there. Will definitely return to this secret place. Great pool, perfect rooms and the happy hour was nice too. Always a great day here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had such a nice time at Pura Vida. It's intimate and yet also warm and welcoming. The space is absolutely beautiful. Newly built (or redone), it's very modern, with a desert/southwest feel. The courtyard is so tranquil and stylish, with a large pool and jacuzi/hotub. The rooms all very beautiful. Super comfy bed. Great, bright space. Very cool showers, fixtures, etc. Very luxurious. Floating in the pool at night was so much fun. They've got candles all over the courtyard, lot's of beautiful palm trees, really cool furniture, feels like another little world. Lot's of good photos on their site.

The owner and other employees were all so engaged and helpful. Always ready with input and advice on things to do, ready to be helpful and go the extra step. It's not far from Downtown Palm Springs, where most of the action is, maybe a 4 minute drive. We'd definitely like to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muiden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in January. We were really impressed with this small hotel--it was even nicer than it appeared to be on the internet, and that's unusual. The rooms are big, beautifully and comfortably furnished and immaculately kept. David and his team are very hospitable and warm. It was a bit too cool to use the pool, but it is a great place to sit and read in the sun. Again, beautifully kept. Breakfast every morning was very generous. I would certainly recommend Pura Vida and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arrived on a Wednesday and we were the only guests in the small 8 room resort (small but very nice). We were treated like kings the entire day and that continued as other guests arrived during the week. The room was top notch with tile every where and a wonderful shower located on the ceiling. Each room has a fireplace to set the mood. There is a happy hour every day with drinks and snacks (cheese & crackers). The staff is there for whatever you need... kudos to Greg for all of his help and knowledge of the area. The owner David was also great along with his partner Peter. All you need to do is ask and you will probably get whatever it is you want. The pool was good size and very clean. We also enjoyed the hot tub with coffee in the morning and drinks before bed. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever been in at a hotel, like I said it is all top notch. The location is perfect, we even walked home from the bars one night. Cabs are available also and the cost is cheap since everything is so close.

Would recommend this hotel to all of my friends and would definitely stay again on my next trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.... from the standard room to the deluxe. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena, california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

When conversation turns to excellent men's hotels in Palm Springs, Pura Vida isn't the first name to come up, or even the second. In fact, before I booked, I didn't really realize it was there, tucked into the corner beside the Hacienda, that grand dame of PS boutique hotels.

So they're in good company now. It's the little things, truly, and a hotel either understands that, or they don't. This place understands. The owners have completely transformed a bedraggled midcentury hotel into a lovely little resort and their convivial hospitality is offered at reasonable prices. (Especially if you can catch one of their specials, like I did.)

Pura Vida is nicely outfitted -- it's comfortable, elegant, and relaxed all at the same time. It's quiet and private. The lights are in the right places. The beds are luxurious. And the walk-in rainshowers -- perfect water pressure and placement. And a tip of the hat to the cleanliness of it all -- it's spotless. And I spent at least 20 minutes fiddling with the programmable LED fireplace in my room, trying to decide if the flames should actually dance to the music (yes, they really can do that) and be mostly blue-purple or if the yellow/red flames, not synched to music, were more peaceful. I opted for the latter.

Combine all that with the staff's (Greg and Kirby) welcoming affability and the whole experience is a total home run. Kirby makes a mean martini, so brace yourself for cocktail hour.

Room Tip: Their premier suite has its own outdoor jacuzzi on its own patio, and may well be the most romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pura Vida Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Palm Springs

Address: 589 South Grenfall Road, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida is a premier 8 room gay men's boutique resort hotel that redefines the meaning of a luxury stay in Palm Springs and Warm Sands. New, intimate, unique, and sophisticated, our resort for men combines exceptional guest service with luxurious and striking accommodations to offer guests a extraordinary experience. Awarded the coveted Five Palm Award for being "The most stylish and modern gay guesthouse in all of Palm Springs" and SF Bay Area Reporter writes "One of the most upscale and modern gay resorts in the world". The renovated rooms have the male guest in mind with custom furnishings, layouts, amenities, and private patios. Rave guest reviews on social media sites have helped make Pura Vida the place to go for those in the know who want a luxury concierge experience, spectacular views, and daily complimentary evening cocktail hour pool side. We offer complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon poolside cocktails, resort wide Wifi, and other services. Our selection of rooms all feature custom furniture, fireplaces, flat screen TVs, crisp linens, Molton Brown amenities, and private patios. We invite you to come and experience all we have to offer. When making your plans, make Pura Vida your choice. Check out our ever-changing Specials Page for Seasonal Deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Pura Vida Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Palm Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.