We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How much do two towels cost?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Save Saved
You added Caliente Tropics Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Palm Springs
Stuart
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“How much do two towels cost?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Beware of extra charges!!! My daughter and I planned a little trip to Palm Springs. She had stayed at the Caliente Tropics before and recommended it as being a good value. I would have agreed EXCEPT for the cost of two towels being $40!!! When we arrived, i was not given towels. The next day I asked for two and used them at the pool. When we checked out, the receptionist was helping someone else check in. I saw the basket of used towels at the side of her desk, and tossed the two towels into the basket. I gestured to her that I was checking out, and had returned the towels. She gave me the thumbs up sign and off we went. When I returned home and checked my bank statement I saw the additional charge of $40 and immediately called. When I explained the situation, I was told management would research the towel charge and get back to me. They did not call me back, so I called them. I was told the charge was correct and asked to speak to a manager. More than a week later the manager called and said a refund would be issued. It is now 11 days later and still no refund.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    243
    94
    62
    60
See reviews for
143
295
77
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here for four nights when the Ace was booked out and was pretty happy with it as an inexpensive backup option. Room was a good size, pretty quiet and clean (though dated and a bit faded). It's not the classiest place in town, but it did the job. The pool was nice (and WAY less busy than some others, which may appeal, depending what you're looking for). The front desk staff were pretty helpful. Overall a good stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It's great to see a survivor from the 1960s that has been converted into another look-alike corporate chain eyesore. The room was clean and had nice bedding. For me, the pool is the best feature. Check it out at night with the torches ablaze. The front desk person was friendly and welcoming. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned a stay-cation in our home valley and chose this hotel. It was kitschy and older, but our room was clean and well-portioned--but the carpet needs replacing. We received great customer service and enjoyed our stay. The only problem was that the bathroom door didn't open all the way due to toilet placement. Other than that, good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have stayed at this property many times, but no more! The pool area and grass are great. The bed is comfortable. BUT----- Room type requested with advance reservation not provided and so-called "upgrade" was anything but. Room falling apart, shower not draining, blinds not working, hooks broken, toilet seat falling off. This property needs a serious overhaul. Management and front desk staff frequently missing in action. Billed for incorrect amounts on wrong credit card. On and on....

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting a specific room type -- you probably won't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Chaz took care of our concern with the first room assigned to us. He was professional, friendly, and offered suggestions for things to do in Palm Springs. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool was inviting, plus the have a lift chair for people in wheel chairs at the pool.

At check out Caroline was very pleasant and stated she hope to see me again. Friendly vibe.
Will visit again.

Suggestions: face towels needed. Otherwise it was perfect.

Room Tip: Nice size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

MY worst hotel experience ever. It is old and run down, the air conditioner is as loud as a train, the pillows are completely flat, and worst of all the bedbug bites. We were so lucky they didn't come home with us. The whole town was booked up for golf tournaments and we ended up here. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#28 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliente Tropics Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.