We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning !!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caliente Tropics Resort to your Saves list
Caliente Tropics Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warning !!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

They will never pick up the phone or call you back !!!!!
They will bill you CC over and over even tho you have paid already !!!!
The rooms are great the hotel it self is a great deal the front desk staff has no idea what they are doing.
I stayed 3 nights it came to $155 and some change. My CC was charged 5 days in a row $93, $146,$146, $53, $93 total of $531 so thats a over charge of $376 there was no damage there was no room service!!!! so now I have to deal with my CC Co. because no one will pick up the phone or call back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    251
    98
    66
    65
See reviews for
144
310
80
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located on Palm Drive just south of downtown Palm Springs. Very convenient. Lovely pool area with lounges plus palapas. Grassy area for games. Beautiful view of the mountains. People we met seemed to have that relaxed vacation attitude. New lobby entrance and fitness room since our last stay in 2011. Plentiful staff. We had a double queen suite and the rooms was super spacious. Large black marble bathroom sink in separate area from shower which was also black marble. Lots of storage space. Definitely has the old Palm Springs flair. However rooms and furnishings are in need of an update. Still a great buy for the money. One hint - book early. It was sold out when we were there and that was in the middle of the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Maritza and the staff were very welcoming. We come to Palm Springs at least once a year and will stay here again. The bar and restaurant were not open, but not a big deal as other hotels are near by. The pool is family friendly with BBQ pits too! It's a short walk to The Ace and Koffii if you like us and aren't into family pools. With the $$ we saved we went out for a nice dinner in town, a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been going to this hotel now for about 10 years. There used to be a Mexican restaurant and bar next to the pool. All of that is closed now. It keeps getting turned over to new management as I'm told. The hotel used to be well taken care of, now it's getting run down. My door would not shut properly and the key card worked off and on. The shower drained very slow, the room reeked of cigarette smoke. I used to love this hotel, I will be looking for a new place to frequent. Sad, as it could be a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not everything was in perfect working order when we arrived but everything was decent - for the price we paid we had no complaints. The room was big, clean and comfy, staff were super friendly and the pool area was nice and well maintained. Excellent location - we didn't realise when we booked but Caliente is right next door to the ACE hotel, which means if you don't mind paying their pool fee you can spend the entire day there enjoying the music, food and cocktails, pop back to your room at Caliente anytime you need and stay as late as you want without having to worry about even calling a cab. Plus Caliente is nice and quiet! There's also a supermarket and good breakfast cafe just down the road, and Walmart was a short drive. Recommended!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is the very definition of you get what you pay for. We had terrible service from ALL but 1 at the front desk. They woke us up by banging on our door at 7am!!!!! But on top of everything they offered no compensation. The manager never even bothered to get in touch with us to apologize. And by the way they make you fill out a novels worth of info when you check in so to say that they had no way to get in touch with you is an absolute LIE. This hotel is absolutely not deserving of any of your money and needs new management today.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff were polite and helpful, our room was clean and spacious and the pool area was very pleasant. We felt the hotel was excellent value for money and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliente Tropics Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.