We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caliente Tropics Resort to your Saves list
Caliente Tropics Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“Best Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a good place with a low budget. Taking a chance at a place this cheap was a gamble but we came out winners! As soon as we entered we were greeted by a very personable desk employee named Stephen. He was very friendly and very knowledgable about the town. He was very personable and made our weekend great by pointing us to all of Palm Springs hot spots. The pool and Jacuzzi were great! decorated with tiki lights and small cabanas. We will be back every time we visit Palm Springs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    263
    115
    69
    71
See reviews for
152
336
85
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here during Feb. 2013 for 9 days and we were reasonably satisfied with our stay.
Good points:
- the room was clean and the staff was friendly
- lovely pool and hot tub with plenty of space to lounge
- attractive grounds
- good location for town activities

Downsides
- the phone in our room never worked even though we requested a repair on arrival
- the water was often only lukewarm when showering
- Wi-Fi was OK but a little flakey
In summary, good but lots of scope with better management
-

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

They hired a good photographer and the pictures fooled me. This is a cheap motel pretending to be a resort. Features of our room: holes in the sofa; creaky floors; dirty carpet; bath sink outside the bathroom - no privacy; no closet; noisy refrigerator; absolutely no privacy - I could hear all conversations in the neighboring room. You should be able to find a similar motel at 1/2 the price within a mile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First, one should note that this is not a hotel, and a resort might be pushing things. So expect a motel. That said, what about the price. I paid 65$ a night through a web service.

For a motel at $65 a night this was an excellent choice. Quiet room on the second floor that had been refurbished. Two large queen beds, good linen, fluffy pillows. Nice toiletries in the room.

Swimming area is large, and very clean. Good outdoor whirlpool.

Location-- maybe a 1.5 mile jaunt to the town centre, but a nice area on its own. I liked being away from heavy duty tourist traffic.

One downside. No restaurant, although they do provide coffee in the lobby and the room.

All said, an excellent stay given my expectations and price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the main road as you can. I think the second floor rooms are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the Caliente for Modernism Week and found it a convientient location, great price, quiet, and a wonderful hot tub. When we were there the weather was pretty cool so didn't use the pool, but the hot tub was perfect for size, temperature and lightly used...which was like having our own private paradise. The rooms are clean and adiquate, but would have like to see the decor updated a bit. They have maintained their Polynesian motif, which I'm not that crazy about...but is their claim to fame so can't blame them for sticking with it. I would recommend the Caliente.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A friend and I visited Palm Springs for "Modernism Week" a celebration of the mid-century modern architecture so well represented in Palm Springs. We spent three nights at the Caliente Tropics Resort which is one of the historic hotels of the modernism era (thus it is not a new property) Our stay in the hotel was excellent. There have been obvious refurbishments (nice stone shower, granite maybe, for example) quite decent furnishings, and the very large pool, hot tub and garden are very nice. There is a newly upgraded fitness room. Some reviewers experienced noisy guests but our experience was quite the opposite - very quiet. This is a great location in Palm Springs. Close to downtown, near restaurants (we loved Manhattan in the Desert for breakfast and Thai Smile for fabulous Thai food downtown. Staff on the desk were friendly and efficient. Thanks Sadie and Maritsa. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everything very old in this Hotel, and i mean very old. They still have tube TV's, beds are old so are the bathrooms. Save your money and stay at the motel 6 next door. Will not come back unless they remodel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliente Tropics Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.