We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Paradise in the Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caliente Tropics Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caliente Tropics Resort to your Saves list
Caliente Tropics Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Tropical Paradise in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spent a weekend here with a group of friends. Wow, what a great experience. Sadie and Maritza were fabulous meeting all of our needs. There is no restaurant or bar, but you can bring your own food and drinks to the pool area. The large grass area with BBQ's is perfect to make your own dinner and to meet other guests. There are plenty of tables and chairs and an indoor seating area where the bar used to be, so you can have your entire party in one place. Bring plastic glasses for your beverages, as no glass is allowed by the pool. The rooms are modest, but clean. The price is excellent and you can't beat the pool under the palms. A taxi ride into town is about $10.00 one way with tax, so be prepared if you want to party in town. It's not bad when split with friends.
If you want coffee, walk to the nearby koffi for a delicious light breakfast & coffee.
Be sure and check out the tiki theme throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the upstairs room by the pool. For a few extra dollars, choose the deluxe room, especially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    268
    117
    69
    71
See reviews for
154
341
87
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you go with the right expectations, then this is a decent place. The room was clean, but dated. Old tube TV's and linens, thin towels, thin walls, etc. The two worst parts of the place are that you have to check out pool towels from the front desk. In a pool-centered part of the world as Palm Springs, why don't they have pool towels at the pool? Also, there are no curtains in the window, just mini-blinds. You can't quite close the blinds enough to block out light and get real private. It just felt weird. The pool was nice, but it's just okay.

The restaurant is long out of business. So, you can't get food or beverage here.
The front desk isn't very helpful or smart; so do your own research.
The WiFi sucks; like really sucks. So, bring your smart phone, don't plan on using your lap top.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice room although seemed to be sloping - it was the end room of the building. Was worried it might drop off. Room was clean and wel maintained with 2 queen beds for the4 family members in our party. Location on the main road but not that close to facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This isn't a review of a one-time hit or miss kind of stay. I've been working on a project here in Palm Springs off and on for the last four months and just keep coming back to this great hotel. Talk about consistency...the service is outstanding regardless of the hour I check in. Steve at the front desk always hooks me up with a great room for an unbeatable price in a super efficient and friendly manner. The entire staff is always friendly and helpful. I've hunted around and you can't find a better value in town from even just a cost perspective. Now factor in the great service, updated rooms with comfortable beds and really nice linens and blankets, great pool and hot tub, AND the outstanding location...regardless of your budget staying anywhere else is just a waste of your money.

Room Tip: The suites are inexpensive and perfect if you're traveling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked the Caliente Tropics Resort the night before we arrived, after reading the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. We needed somewhere to stay after a change in travel plans, and were not disappointed with Caliente at all. The staff on check-in (Maritza and Trey) were friendly and accommodating. Things were a little slow as Trey was training, but this was not a problem at all. We were upgraded 'for our patience' which was a lovely gesture. Our room was quite large, with a lounge area, bedroom and decent bathroom area. The Polynesian theme extends into the rooms, even the tissue box cover was a tiki face!
The grounds are really well kept, with a great pool and spa area, lounge chairs, and loungers in covered huts. The mountains are amazing to wake up to, and the area is great.
The price for Caliente is really good, especially considering many of the other options in Palm Springs. This was our first trip to Palm Springs, and would highly recommend the Caliente Tropics as a great base. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Don't waste your time wondering if you are going to get more bang for your buck somewhere else. I have stayed at them all; from Motel 6 to the Ace next door, those "clothing optional resorts' or the Westin. Caliente Tropics has all the creature comforts and surprising upgrades you hope for but seldom get at other budget/mid-priced motor inns. They have taken an old school mid-century property and added modern touches while staying true to the fun, polynesian theme for which it was named. The rooms are clean and well-apportioned, the beds are extremely comfortable and there's a large swimming pool with a great mountain view. This place is perfectly located close to everything. Reminds me of the Standard in West Hollywood except with campy tikis, torches and tropical architectural elements minus the pretentiousness and $12 bottles of Voss water. I always check this property first for availability when I come out to Palm Springs. Gay, Straight, Family with kids, whatever you are, I recommend this place if you want to save some money and still feel taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinon hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I checked in two Handicapped people & received excellent service from your front desk. I would like to personally thank Maritza & Lydia their concern in making check in go so smoothly. GREAT HOTEL & LOCATION. & oh yes the pool, spa & cabanas

Room Tip: all the rooms have great views of the pool & spa. great for parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliente Tropics Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.