We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class of the field” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Hills Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Hills Hotel
Save
You added Desert Hills Hotel to your Saves list
601 West Arenas Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Class of the field”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Of all of the hotels located in the tennis club area of Palm Springs, Desert Hills is the clear winner. We stayed for several days and attended the file festival. Many venues were an easy walk from the hotel. Unlike other higher ranked properties on this site, Desert Hills has nicer grounds, bigger rooms, a quieter location and an unrivaled ambiance of mid-century charm.Stay here once and you will never leave. Some guests we talked to have been regulars for 20 years or more. Karen Brown is right to rank this hotel as one of the best.

  • Liked — Its quiet location and grounds
  • Disliked — marginal breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
63
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Islands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

When you book a room sight unseen, you're always a little leary of the results. No problem here, though - we couldn't have been happier with our stay. This place has it all -- great location, friendly, accommodating staff, happy guests, cozy beds, beautiful grounds --- all the superlatives you can think of. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay next time!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our road trip round California. We were looking for a place with old school cool factor and we certainly got it at Desert Hills. The building and room decor is very in keeping with the whole Frank Lloyd Wright era and really made us feel like we had stepped back in time. We opted for the studio and it was great for cooking your own lunch, and the gas grills outside are perfect for dinner. The pool area is well maintained and the views of the mountains and desert are spectacular. The hotel owner was very friendly as were the other guests (mostly repeat weekenders). On the downside the breakfast is only a yogurt/muffin and juice/coffee but all in all we had a very relaxing few days here and I would highly recommend this hotel to couples on a romantic getaway or families on a group holiday.

  • Liked — The architecture
  • Disliked — robes and towels could do with an upgrade, the breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

We were looking for a quick get-a-way. The idea of taking a step back in time in Old Palm Springs. We picked the right place. The room was mostly clean. comfortable bed with wonderful accouterments. The bathroom was a little funky (very awkward and shabby ie moldy molding and flaking caulk) The grounds were very secluded and well maintained. We spent an hour in the spa and never saw a soul. 3 blocks from downtown nearby all the wonderful restaurants and pub's the main drag. The morning "breakfast" was poor. Pre-packaged danish, Yuban coffee and powdered creamer. Still, it was food and the price of the room was adequate. Next time we will choose something different but it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

Stayed 3 nights at Desert Hills Hotel during Thanksgiving break. The hotel is quiet and solidly built so you don't hear noise from other guests in other rooms. It's close to downtown Palm Springs (4 blocks), but far enough that you don't hear the street noise. The only negative comment I have is on one of the mornings of our stay, at 8AM, the lawn crew was trimming and cutting the grass in the courtyard, using loud gas powered equipment. This occurred right outside our door. At 8AM in a hotel, this is disrespectful. We were on vacation and wanted to sleep in.

  • Liked — Solidly built rooms, nice decor, quiet area, good location
  • Disliked — Proximity to early morning garbage collection by garbage trucks, early morning lawncare right outside our room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

great location and grounds
excellent staff
rooms large, great decor
quiet
cannot be disappointed
price excellent

  • Liked — location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

I just returned from a welcome stay at Desert Hills. Perfect for a girls weekend! Desert Hills invites relaxation with its beautiful pool & hot tub nestled near the scenic San Jacinto Mountains. The charming retro 50s style adds to the ambience. The staff are very friendly & accommodating. Being within walking distance from downtown Palm Prings is a plus. Can't wait to book for next year's trip!

  • Liked — I enjoyed the coziness & 1950s retro charm of Desert Hills.
  • Disliked — not a thing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Hotel

Address: 601 West Arenas Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hills Resort Hotel, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1957, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Old Palm Springs. The 14 room hotel retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.