We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it's all it's cracked up to be!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bill's Pizza

Bill's Pizza
119 S Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6603
760-325-5571
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 250 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: They are located in "The Plaza" right across Tyler's which has been on your list for a long time. They make an incredible pie and the service is really friendly. PlPlease let
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Yes, it's all it's cracked up to be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Pizza was great! The pizza was a four for one of us, a five for the other. We weren't crazy hungry so split a small salad and a 10" pizza. Unfortunately, there's no middle option between an individual 10" and a large 18" and that 18" will be way too much for 2..... But, back to the pizza. We had Bill's sauce, which is a combo of pesto and tomato and that was too yummy - we'd do that again! The Sicilian sausage was excellent, we probably didn't need the roasted garlic with the pesto, couldn't taste it. The salad feta/almond/cranberry salad was fine - nothing exciting, but green and healthy, a small was large enough for the two of us, with dressing on the side. Loved the happy hour all night on Mondays - wine/beer for $2 (or thereabouts). Service was a bit slow, but it was really crowded - a wait for inside tables, but who wants inside when there are heaters outside?? Will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    140
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you are craving pizza this is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times and never disappoints, just great pizza and salads are good here too. Not a fancy place but comfortable and clean. Really if you want pizza there is no better choice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Return visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Whilst we were back in Palm Springs called into Bills again (on 2 occasions). Once again pizza was delicious - the best pizza we have had.
This time we had the smaller pizza between the two of us with a side of ceaser salad which was just enough (had to leave some room for frozen yogurt for dessert!!!). Have had a few different flavours and all been excellent.
Monday night was really busy and had a great atmosphere, beer was 75c for first drink then $2 each one after and wine was $2 a glass - excellent value. Even though it was busy staff were great.
Be back again April 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely GREAT Pizza from a friendly, service oriented shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is one of the best pizzas we've ever had! Gloriously, we were offered a sample on the street one evening while walking in Palm Springs...that's all it took! When we shared this with a member of the staff they laughed and said "that's the only advertising we do!"

You can't go wrong with this one!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Place if you are in a Rush--but get it to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We rode our bikes from Palm Desert to Palm Springs 14 miles to see Marilyn Monroe's statue and rewarded ourselves with a couple of slice of cheese pizza at Bill's before riding back.

This place is 2 blocks from Marilyn and across the street from Hard Rock Hotel.

Cheese pizza is good at $2.50 a slice. We did not try anything else--we had to run.

Tips:

--Pizzas are not cut with a mold--they "eye ball" the cut so some slices are larger than others some have more cheese than others. Make sure to point out the slice you want to avoid getting the one no one wants.

--Watch Out for the dried out slices that have been sitting for a while.

--When you wait on line at the front they try to trick you sit down and order with waiter service which will kill your touring time because now you are in for desert turtle service. The girl at front keeps asking: "Are you eating here, do you need a table, do you need a chair, want to sit down?" over and over and over and over. One Yes from your trap, and you just blew an hour or more of your great day to get a slice. A yes, and they won't let you stand and direct order from the pizza maker anymore. You will be banished to a table looking around helplessly for service.

If you are in a rush, even if you need a seat, just tell them "to go," pick your slice, drink, pay immediately, and sit down with it outside--you will be eating within 5 minutes my friend!

But if you have 45 min to an hour or more--take a seat. If you take a seat, you give up the right to choose your slice from the glass case most likely, and you could get stuck with the old one. (I would only take a seat if I was ordering my own pie fresh made for the table.)

--If you order two slices for you and your mate to go, Bill will default to one plate to save money--make sure to tell them 2 plates if you are eating separately and you will avoid burnt cheese on your hands and a pizza falling on the floor.

If you never had pizza before--you will think this is the best pizza in the world. It is not, it's very good and at 2.50 a slice it's a fine place to grab one and go and get on with your touring day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Pizza also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Bill's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.