We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is still a favorite of ours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Olivo

L'Olivo
333 N Palm Canyon Dr, Suite 105, Palm Springs, CA 92262
(760)327-0382
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 271 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is still a favorite of ours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We return to this great Italian spot every year on our vacation because the food is always consistently good and they served us another great meal last night. Our group of four were raving about the Capellini, Risotto, Bean soup as being outstanding but we fought over the bread - never even had it this good in Italy. We will be back here a few more times before the holiday ends. Service was great and enjoyed the delightful waitress from Tuscany.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just Wounderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

L'Olivo is a charming family run Italian Bistro with great food and service. Ask the owner to play the piano.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family owned Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just stopped at the first sidewalk restaurant we came to after we parked and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the service and food and the reasonable price. The waitress was the owner's wife and she was very friendly. We went back after a day driving around Joshua Tree National Park and just wanted a quiet meal and a nice glass of Italian wine. They upgraded our wine choice and it was excellent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True Italian Food In The Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

For many many years I have tried to find decent Italian food in Palm Springs & this task seems more daunting then finding streams of water in the desert. Then on our last trip we discovered L'Olivo the owners Chef Ruggero & his wonderful wife Magie sure know how to make a fellow starving Italian feel at home. From the minute the bread was brought out I told my wife we are in for a treat as I could smell the starter used in this bread which was brought back from Europe by Ruggero who stems from Milan.
Too many Italian restaurants in U.S. over cook the pasta, even when AlDente is requested. You have to have the nerve to take the pasta out of the water before it is Al Dente so by the time you mix it with the sauce & plate it it will then & only then be cooked perfectly. This is like a religion in Italy and any Italian would be appalled that the pasta in U.S. is often pre-cooked then dipped back in the hot water to revive. The dish is pasta with sauce not sauce with pasta & here Ruggero serves those mottos well.
We also had a delicious Pizza made with that special dough that he makes his crusty bread from. Try the pizza as we ordered it, cheese pizza, lots of fresh garlic, lots of oregano, cooked well done with lots of fresh basil added after it comes out of the oven. For an authentic Italian meal served by two sweet people in a loving setting we highly recommend L'Olivo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“An Old World Pizza in the Heart of Palm Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The owner of this lovely Italian Bistro is also the cook. His breads and pizza crust are so delicious they almost do not need olive oil or sauce! Ask for his special blend of olive oil, garlic, and spices for your bread. We ordered two small pizzas one with pepperoni and one vegetarian with homemade sausage. We usually take some home for the next day - not this time. We sat there and ate both of them! The owner also makes his own salad dressings and it is the best Italian dressing I have ever had. They also have an adjacent Vietnamese restaurant and food can be ordered from either menu. The service was wonderful and they even loaned us a couple of chairs to place road-side to watch the Palm Springs Parade of Lights. This restaurant will become one of our "go to" places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Olivo also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to L'Olivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Olivo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.