We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply and Always the Very Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simply and Always the Very Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our 4th stay this year and the Renaissance Palm Springs simply is the very best. From the prompt check-in, always with warm greetings from the doorman, the airport shuttle drivers and the front desk personnel. Even a few words of welcome from the General Manager Mr. Greenwood. How ever front desk manager Aaron Alexandar really stands out as the real source of hospitality at this fine property. Warm, welcoming, and professional, with the deepest desire to please the guests. Do order room service as we did often, always delivered in 30 min or less and always perfectly presented with fresh flowers. The pool as always is beautiful and the thickly padded lounge chairs are always welcoming. The bar and pool attendant staff, that we have gotten to know, are always at hand to offer something to keep you cool in the beautiful desert sun. About Date Restaurant, as we travel often, hotel restaurants while they can be quite good rarely wow anyone, well this hotel restaurant rates very high with us. The food is always fresh and delicious and beautifully presented. We even tried the buffet twice this trip, and we are not big fans of buffets, but we loved the fresh offerings with a wide variety to please anyone's tastes. In short look no further. This property offers a great location with only a 5 minute comfortable walk to downtown, a complimentary shuttle to any restaurant you want for dinner, stunning views (get a room facing the west) and very comfortable rooms with excellent bedding, excellent on site dining, combined with probably the finest staff we have ever encountered at a resort. Return often as we do, due to the staff, it just keeps getting better and better. Thank you Mr. Greenwood (General Manager) and especially Mr. Alexander (Front desk Manager) , under your guidance, it's no wonder this resort is a favorite of celebrities, dignitaries and our grateful family. We can't wait to see you December.

Room Tip: This was our 4th stay this year and the Renaissance Palm Springs simply is the very best. From the p...
See more room tips
Green Features: Request a room facing the west for a picture perfect view of Palm Springs and the surrounding mountains. Beautiful Sunrises reflect off the mountain and fabulous sunsets.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay with us. We love the positive comments and the great comments regarding our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives on our guest feedback and we will be sure to share with the team!
We look forward to your return in December!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    341
    143
    53
    42
See reviews for
179
314
45
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our 4th stay this year and the Renaissance Palm Springs simply is the very best. From the prompt check-in, always with warm greetings from the doorman, the airport shuttle drivers and the front desk personnel. Even a few words of welcome from the General Manager Mr. Greenwood. How ever front desk manager Aaron Alexandar really stands out as the real source of hospitality at this fine property. Warm, welcoming, and professional, with the deepest desire to please the guests. Do order room service as we did often, always delivered in 30 min or less and always perfectly presented with fresh flowers. The pool as always is beautiful and the thickly padded lounge chairs are always welcoming. The bar and pool attendant staff, that we have gotten to know, are always at hand to offer something to keep you cool in the beautiful desert sun. About Date Restaurant, as we travel often, hotel restaurants while they can be quite good rarely wow anyone, well this hotel restaurant rates very high with us. The food is always fresh and delicious and beautifully presented. We even tried the buffet twice this trip, and we are not big fans of buffets, but we loved the fresh offerings with a wide variety to please anyone's tastes. In short look no further. This property offers a great location with only a 5 minute comfortable walk to downtown, a complimentary shuttle to any restaurant you want for dinner, stunning views (get a room facing the west) and very comfortable rooms with excellent bedding, excellent on site dining, combined with probably the finest staff we have ever encountered at a resort. Return often as we do, due to the staff, it just keeps getting better and better. Thank you Mr. Greenwood (General Manager) and especially Mr. Alexander (Front desk Manager) , under your guidance, it's no wonder this resort is a favorite of celebrities, dignitaries and our grateful family. We can't wait to see you December.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing west for a picture perfect view of downtown and the mountains. Stunning sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay with us. We love the positive comments and the great comments regarding our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives on our guest feedback and we will be sure to share with the team!
We look forward to your return in December!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Staying at the Renaissance in August is like having our own personal piece of paradise. There are few people and the service is outstanding. The hotel is close to downtown for restaurants etc and the view of the mountains is spectacular.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Donald,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in ensuring all of our guests have a spectacular stay and we are glad you had a great experience with us. We look forward to your future visits with us!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times,each time the service got worse.
We would often have to ring housekeeping and ask to make up room,not funny when you have been out for day and come back to find not done.
We were locked out a couple of times,and owing to fact no house phones in passages,had to leave my wife in a corridor,and walk a long way to reception.
On second to last stay,we complained to rooms director,please ring me next time you are coming,I will make sure everything goes well for you.
So after 3days tracking him down,he made the reservation.
I wished we had kept our promise to ourselves and not listened to him
Nothing had changed.i do not go on holiday to constantly remind hotel staff of the shortfslls
In their service,so made up,our mind never to return to this poorly run hotel.
Marriott should dissasociate themselves from this hotel.
We still visit Palm Springs every year,but Renaissance, NO THANKS.

Room Tip: Go nextdoorbto Go to Hyatt next door.
See more room tips
Green Features: No comment,when dogs are sat on sun beds around pool area.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Penangman,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry to hear about your stay not meeting or exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to ensure all our guests to have a pleasant and memorable stay with us and I sincerely apologize for the experience you had. I assure you that this is not the norm or the standards we have set for ourselves, please forgive us. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, within 5-10 walk from main restaurants. It is quiet and has a lovely courtyard where you can eat meals or relax, and also has a great pool area. The rooms are good for purpose, the downside is no free wifi in the rooms, otherwise a good stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were put up here by United due to a flight delay. The shuttle service and front desk check in were efficient but it was downhill from there. We checked into our room, dropped off our luggage and headed out to downtown for dinner. We returned at 10pm to find our room was 78 degrees, although it was set to 70. We called the front desk who were very nice and sent a guy up to help. Unfortunately he did not help at all - he turned the a/c down to 60 and left. We gave it 15 minutes and nothing changed so we asked for another room. A guy came up and took us to another room. This room was 80 degrees. He assured us it would get cooler. We waited 30 minutes and the temperature came down to 78 degrees. We called the front desk - I was getting upset now - we were tired and wanted to go to sleep. They told us they would move us again and that the side of the hotel we were on was "hot". They moved us to another room that was 75 degrees. We decided to cut our losses and stay in that room. It cooled down a little. After all this we did not get an apology. No manager contacted us at any time.

Also notable is that the there was only one set of elevators. To get to our room was a very long walk. There were stairs right next to our room, but a sign on all stairwells that said "emergency use only". Since we were only on the second floor, taking the stairs would have been a much more efficient option since they were right outside our door (of our third room).

A flight delay stay seems like a great opportunity for a hotel to showcase itself to potential future customers. It certainly didn't feel like the Renaissance cared about or valued our business given inconvenience we suffered and the lack of management followup. While we appreciate their efforts, moving us to a second and third room to get us to an air conditioned accommodation, they did not seem to understand how painful it was for us late at night to have to go through this. We would not stay at or recommend this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Get one that has air conditioning.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem to be trying to save the environment by not having working air conditioners.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your review. I am sorry to hear about the maintenance deficiencies you experienced during your stay, please forgive us. We can only improve or change with your feedback and thank you for sharing.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went to the hotel for our 5th wedding anniversary. We arrived at 4pm and our room wasn't ready so we were upgraded to a jr. suite! Check in was a breeze and we were able to spend some time at the pool. The service at the pool was quick. We went for a couples massage at the Spa Del Sol and it was FANTASTIC. The ladies in the spa were wonderful and made us feel really well taken care of. After, we spent some more time at the pool. There were plenty of chairs in the sun and they always had fresh towels out to use. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was great. The valet was very quick and helpful, too!

My only complaint was for room 2165, the air vent to the bedroom section of the suite did not seem to work very well. The other side of the room, where the couch was, was very cool, but the side with the bed didn't have much of the A/C, which made sleeping a little uncomfortable.

All in all, a wonderful stay, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are dlighted to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We look forward to your future visits with us!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.