We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel gets better with each stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hotel gets better with each stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Renaissance gets better over the years. Stay here annually each spring for a large convention, and I am happier each year. The toiletries are now one of my fav brands - Aveda, so that is a great start. The rooms are perfect for business travel - lots and lots of outlets spread all over the large room. The bathroom is large with above average light and plenty of counter to spread out. The only cons are the rooms seem a tad dark to me (kinda common for Palm Springs from my experience), and the hotel dining rooms were totally overwhelmed by conference attendees at lunch breaks. My recommendation for management is that they check to see when the adjoining Conference Center breaks are and add more staff. I felt badly for the wait staff; they were very nice but totally inundated. Location is good overall, with nice pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback and for making the Renaissance Palm Springs your choice for your lodging needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    376
    169
    67
    49
See reviews for
210
352
46
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The only thing that we did not enjoy about this hotel was not even their fault, too many ill behaved children and with poor parental supervision!! This is inside the hotel, out by the swimming pool it get s much worse! The hotel itself was very nice and clean and staff very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a pretty standard Renaissance property with recently renovated and updated rooms and lobby. The pool is large and there are plenty of lounging areas to relax in. Service is mediocre but what do you expect from this chain. There are plenty of other boutique hotels in Palm Springs I would've preferred to stay at but we couldn't get a room during the Indian Wells tennis tournament so we settled for this place. Self parking was an additional $10 and if you get there too late, they run out of spaces forcing you to park in an auxiliary lot that is not far away, but is a little difficult to get to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back after your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Really nice lobby, but it goes downhill from there. We were upgraded to two Jr suites, and we were very disappointed. The rooms were old and not well-designed. There was a desk and couch in a kind of work area, and then a typical hotel room. I could touch the ceiling in the bathroom... Claustrophobic! One sink and tub shower with curtain and no hot water early in the morning...miserable. There was no safe and minimal drawer space. Didn't find the coffee maker til check out. I was told that I had a pool view, but the view was actually of the roof of another building. This hotel seemed like a depressing Hampton Inn to me.
The pool was nothing special - had lunch poolside which was average.
I called the front desk to ask to be moved, and was told that the rooms had been recently renovated, and that there weren't any nicer rooms. Period. We immediately began calling other hotels and moved after one night to the Riviera. The bellman Mark was very nice and talkative- very entertaining! Our bills were incorrect, but after about 10 phone calls, I got them straightened out. This hotel is definitely a business hotel, which works for work but not for play!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feed back from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We will certainly discuss your comments with our staff in order to enhance the areas that we were lacking in.

We hope that you will return and allow us to try and regain your confidence.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We requested a "city view" room (and even double checked this in our written confirmation) and we got a "pool view" room instead. Also, service during this time was pretty poor.

That being said, the room itself was clean and nice and the grounds were awesome. This was a very busy weekend, so I am willing to forgive the lapses in service and the hotel itself was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you able to enjoy the amenities that we offer.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent some great days there as a family. Check in and out could have been faster, but no real reason to complain. The hotel was pretty empty these days so we could enjoy the space around the pool. Rooms are spacious and clean, with nice and comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are some computers available in the lobby to access the internet. Unfortunately parking is not for free. Would go there again, for the hotel, the lovely area and the weather…

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for making the Renaissance Palm Springs your choice for your lodging needs and for giving us your feedback.

We look forwarding the welcoming you back.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branscomb, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My Wife & I stayed here on business/pleasure last week. We really liked the whole resort feel. The pool area is awesome & the rest of the grounds are very nice & comfortable. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was spacious & clean. A very nice business desk area to get work done in the room as well. The restaurant has a tasty breakfast buffet. The variety of fresh fruit was spectacular.The staff was friendly. It was also close enough to the downtown area to walk to & from dinner out each night. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time give us your feed back and for making the Renaissance Palm Springs your choice for your lodging needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#29 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs
Triada Palm Springs
#19 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
Avalon Hotel Palm Springs
#34 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#14 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#16 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.