We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern- Bring your own Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #34 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Clean and Modern- Bring your own Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding October 27th and 28th. Room was modern and comfortable, very clean and bright. We had the buffet breakfast which was really complete and good about $20 for the full buffet which is fairly standard for these types of hotels. I loved the juicer with pre-cut veggies and fruits, that made the buffet something special. The pool area was really well-designed, with a heated pool, un-heated pool, zero-entry, and loads of lounge chairs. Service was great- we needed a sewing kit for a last minute thing and they sent one right up. Valet parking was EXPENSIVE ($25!) for being 20 minutes outside of Palm Springs, but they really hustled for the car, you never had to wait more than 3 minutes.
I had a facial in the Spa and wished that I had more time to spend in there- It had all the amenities of a modern spa with Steam room, sauna, showers, relaxation. The Facial I got was top notch- I was really pleased that they could handle me coming in straight from the pool and right out to a wedding and they did just what I asked for--a true custom service.
The views from the pool area are great, but our room view was not that great, it was the roof of another part of the hotel. I liked that all the rooms have balconies however- nice feature. There was a nightclub in the hotel which looked like it could be fun if you had a group of people you were with, but as a social scene I wouldn't count on the hotel as it seemed not very happening at the club or the bar (just kind of half-full).
The hotel is a lovely place to stay, but I don't think it is a good destination in and of itself-- just a respite from other activities in the Palm Springs area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time give your comments regarding your stay with us and for sharing your thoughts and for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Palm Springs. We will celebrate your comments with our staff.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return.

John Daw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    291
    121
    44
    34
See reviews for
160
275
40
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is top of the line! It is a little spendy but so worth the extra dough! The lobby is gorgeous and modern, the staff is so nice, the rooms are clean and comfy, and the pool....WOW. The pool is the best part of this hotel....with a beautiful view of the mountains, plenty of comfortable seating and servers roaming the area taking drink orders, this place is pure paradise in the middle of the desert. The transportation to and from the airport is very reliable and the drivers are incredibly friendly. There is a lot to do within walking distance of the hotel including hiking, shopping, restaurants and bars. There is no free breakfast and even the bottled water comes at a price but I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples, family and business!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Very friendly attentive staff and although a large hotel it felt very personal.
We had an upgrade to a suite which was very spacious and nicely appointed. However it had a view of the car park which meant that we didnt use the balcony which was a shame. Also quite noisy with coming and going at unsociable times. A pool view would be recommended.
Only one criticism of the room. An electric point near the mirror in the dressing area or a mirror near one of the other points would be good as the only place to dry your hair is in the bathroom which is a pain if more than one of you at a time is trying to get ready to go out at the same time.
Pool area was lovely with green and orange furnishings and very good pool service for food and drinks. Pool menu is lovely and not overly expensive.
Excellent location. 7 mins walk to downtown Palm Springs although there is a free shuttle in the evenings. Some more lights on the road outside the hotel would be good as it is particularly dark but it felt safe.
Lovely areas to have a drink in the evening around open fires which is welcome as the temperature in the evening in October gets chilly.
Would not hesitate to go back and would highly recommend

Room Tip: A pool view nicer and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It was with delight that we read your very comprehensive review of our hotel and services; thank you for sharing your thoughts and for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Palm Springs. We will share your comments with our staff.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Most breathtaking views - wonderful staff - Food was fabulous - no need to leave this establishment for great meals. Pool side bar was great fun ! Enjoyed the spa - massage was BEST I've ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Pool view will give you view of mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read comments from guests like yourself.
We look forward to your return visit.
Rochelle Chandrasena
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for a convention being held at the Palm Springs Convention Center. This hotel was super convenient! It has also been spruced up since the last time we stayed here 5 or 6 years ago, when it was a Wyndam. The hotel is very clean, nice rooms, nice beds, great amenities. We had one negative experience. Went to breakfast in the hotel restaurant. After we were seated and asked for menus, the waitress told us that they only had a buffet, and we had already signed up withg the desk! Well, o.k., we don't mind the buffet. And it was o.k. - typical steam table scrambled eggs - nothing cooked to order. But the price! $27 per person + tip and tax. I felt as though we had been misled. It was our only negative experience. For the other three days, we ate just up two blocks at Sherman's. Great breakfast place - anything you want, freshly cooked for 10 bucks, with awesome service. Would definitely stay there again - but will skip the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your staff, however, please accept our apologies for the miscommunication regarding the breakfast.
We look forward to your return visit.
Thank you
Rochelle Chandrasena
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On a whim we decided to spend a few days in the warmth of Palm Springs after a change in the weather on the central coast. After on line research we selected the Renaissance, although some old obsolete reviews were unflattering prior to a complete makeover. On arriving early, traffic had been no problem, we were checked in at 12:30 pm by the extremely helpful Deanna, and as Marriott members were given an upgraded pool view room. The room was well decorated, clean and with a perfect location and the bed was very comfortable. The pool area was clean and well maintained and the poolside help was attentive. We had very tasteful and nicely prepared lunch dishes on two occasions, service was friendly and efficient. On the day we were departing we scheduled spa treatments for noon, check-out time, and the hotel registrar, again Deanna, quickly extended our check-out time to 3:30 pm to give us time for the treatments and lunch without having to rush. The entire staff was friendly, smiling and helpful. The location to the center of the Palm Springs restaurant and night life is two blocks of easy walking away. WE WILL BE BACK SOON.

Room Tip: Our room was across the back side and above the lobby, quiet and great views and the sun does now hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time let us know of your recent experience at the Renaissance Palm Springs as it is from comments from guests like yourself that help us evaluate our guest needs. Regarding the breakfast buffet, this will be addressed with the appropriate department managers.
We look forward to your return visit.
Rochelle Chandrasena
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous property, great food - great variety and plentiful. Great room, view, and entire property. Great for a conference, or a get-away. Highly recommend this property/facility. Staff was silent but very effective and friendly. lmost didn't notice they were in the crowd serving food and drink

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Admin at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and services and for sharing your thoughts. We are happy to note that the Renaissance Palm Springs was your choice for your lodging needs while attending a conference in Palm Springs.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.