We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Springs Renaissance Hotel - mostly great - watch out for the buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #31 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Palm Springs Renaissance Hotel - mostly great - watch out for the buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for a convention being held at the Palm Springs Convention Center. This hotel was super convenient! It has also been spruced up since the last time we stayed here 5 or 6 years ago, when it was a Wyndam. The hotel is very clean, nice rooms, nice beds, great amenities. We had one negative experience. Went to breakfast in the hotel restaurant. After we were seated and asked for menus, the waitress told us that they only had a buffet, and we had already signed up withg the desk! Well, o.k., we don't mind the buffet. And it was o.k. - typical steam table scrambled eggs - nothing cooked to order. But the price! $27 per person + tip and tax. I felt as though we had been misled. It was our only negative experience. For the other three days, we ate just up two blocks at Sherman's. Great breakfast place - anything you want, freshly cooked for 10 bucks, with awesome service. Would definitely stay there again - but will skip the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your staff, however, please accept our apologies for the miscommunication regarding the breakfast.
We look forward to your return visit.
Thank you
Rochelle Chandrasena
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    262
    105
    37
    29
See reviews for
139
256
38
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On a whim we decided to spend a few days in the warmth of Palm Springs after a change in the weather on the central coast. After on line research we selected the Renaissance, although some old obsolete reviews were unflattering prior to a complete makeover. On arriving early, traffic had been no problem, we were checked in at 12:30 pm by the extremely helpful Deanna, and as Marriott members were given an upgraded pool view room. The room was well decorated, clean and with a perfect location and the bed was very comfortable. The pool area was clean and well maintained and the poolside help was attentive. We had very tasteful and nicely prepared lunch dishes on two occasions, service was friendly and efficient. On the day we were departing we scheduled spa treatments for noon, check-out time, and the hotel registrar, again Deanna, quickly extended our check-out time to 3:30 pm to give us time for the treatments and lunch without having to rush. The entire staff was friendly, smiling and helpful. The location to the center of the Palm Springs restaurant and night life is two blocks of easy walking away. WE WILL BE BACK SOON.

Room Tip: Our room was across the back side and above the lobby, quiet and great views and the sun does now hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Office at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time let us know of your recent experience at the Renaissance Palm Springs as it is from comments from guests like yourself that help us evaluate our guest needs. Regarding the breakfast buffet, this will be addressed with the appropriate department managers.
We look forward to your return visit.
Rochelle Chandrasena
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous property, great food - great variety and plentiful. Great room, view, and entire property. Great for a conference, or a get-away. Highly recommend this property/facility. Staff was silent but very effective and friendly. lmost didn't notice they were in the crowd serving food and drink

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Admin at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and services and for sharing your thoughts. We are happy to note that the Renaissance Palm Springs was your choice for your lodging needs while attending a conference in Palm Springs.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Renaissance is a beautiful property with wonderful food, but a very limited menu. Our room and view were excellent and we loved the location. That is where the good stuff stops.
We stayed for 5 nights and our suite was never made up before 3:30 p.m. We are early risers so that was not the problem for the housekeeping staff. The charge for a 12 oz. bottle of water in the room was $5.00. Water from the tap was white, foamy and foul. Our stay was for business and the charge to use the en suite WiFi was $13.00 per day. We have 4 electronic devices and had we used their service the cost would have exceeded $250. Any charge for WiFi seems to be a thing of the past and they are not keeping pace.In all neighboring hotels it is included in the room cost. Every wait staff person we encounted during our stay was brand new and did not have a clue how to manage their station. It took forever for our orders to arrive and then it was next to impossible to find someone to pay when you had finished the meal. We did not get what we had ordered, but accepted what was brought to us, as we had no time for another wait and mixup. Our AC did not function correctly and we heard several other guests discussing this issue. The TV went off several times and we were told someone would arrive soon to fix it, but we had to wait till the following day for it to work again. We are not complainers, but this will be our last visit to this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Admin at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We appreciate your choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Palm Springs and for sharing your review. We will review your comments with our operations to make improvements. We are always seeking to improve the experience of our guests and thank you for taking the time to detail them.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return should you visit Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good hotel with good facilities, if you are there for a while as i was then there is a car park to the left of the property where you can park and not have to pay the $15 a night, tight i know but we was there for a fortnight and becomes another cost. The hotel run a shuttle and will take you into town, about 15 mins walk back, depending how much of the california spirit your in.

Room Tip: All pool room views are good, the suites are well worth the extra, look out for deals on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Admin at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel and services and for sharing your thoughts. We are pleased to note that the Renaissance Palm Springs was your choice for your lodging needs while in Palm Springs. We will celebrate your comments and appreciation with our staff.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have stayed at this property a few times, but it had been 6 years since my last visit.The facility is very nice, and the location is good as well. But perhaps the most amazing thing about this hotel was that, from airport shuttle pickup to checkout, virtually every staff member I came in contact with was cheerful, helpful, and genuinely friendly. I'm not kidding, everyone I ran into had a smile on their face and went out of there way to say hello.

I was attending a rather large convention during the second week of October, and the hotel was packed, but the staff seemed to handle it very well. From housekeeping to front desk to restaurant/lounge staff, these folks were on their game. Not surprisingly, I noticed the upper management on site during long hours making sure things ran smoothly. I had the pleasure of meeting the general manager in the lounge, and he made sure everyone was enjoying themselves. Service was excellent.

OK, enough gushing about the staff.....the hotel itself was nice. I think it had a major upgrade in the last five years or so, and it shows. The room was great, with plenty of outlets for charging. The fitness center was particularly nice, with a good mix of machines. The pool was great as well. And the hotel is connected to the convention center, so if your are attending something there this is the perfect location.

Thanks to Joe and everyone on his staff for a wonderful time. Try this place, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle C, Executive Admin at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and services and for sharing your thoughts and for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Palm Springs. We will celebrate your comments with our staff.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for 11 days after finding a superb deal online.

We drove down from Las Vegas and arrived at the hotel at around 4:30pm. Parking is $10 per day which at least is an upfront charge that you are aware of. We parked up and dragged our cases in, we were offered assistance by two seperate members of staff which was nice.

Check in was a speedy affair with a very nice gentleman who explained the ins and outs of the hotel etc...

Off we wandered to our room which was a junior suite. We had a pool view though this was over the roof of the restaurant so not great. I went back to reception and was served immediately by the same gent who couldnt have been more helpful. I was more than happy to pay extra for a better view of the pool (afterall I hadnt booked a pool view) however we were switch rooms immediately to a full pool view and much prefered this. 10 out of 10 for the reception staff (this was the same for the duration of our stay, very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and infomation.)

The room itself was pleasant enough and was clean. The style of decor wasnt my choice however was functional and in good condition. The office/sitting area could do with some extra light, the bathroom was nice, clean and well stocked. The bed itself was actually superb, large and with good quality bed linen. The room had a balcony though I would have liked a light on the balcony so we could have sat out at night. Room servicing was a little hit and miss. Some days we had fully renewed soap and toiletries, other days we didnt. One day we only had one towel left but I would put this down to an oversight and not an actual complaint. One thing the room really lacked was a safe. Bear this in mind. The rooms seemed to be random for noise. We once heard someone coughing/sneezing and sometimes in the mornings the maids could be heard hoovering. This didnt appear to be consistent though.

The pool area was superb. Comfy loungers, as many free towels as you could want, clean toilets and the pool itself was large and cool which was key as it was +105 degrees everyday! Im surprised to learn that some people found it hard to locate towels, though i agree there are no signs but the large blue towel rack wasnt hard to find. Also surprised that people couldnt get service at the pool, our experience was a continual supply of "pool girls" asking if we were ok, wanted drinks/food/ice water etc... these guys were great and seemed to be about 99% of the time i was looking for a beer ;)

We also had an almost daily stop from what I beleive to be the hotel manager/assistant manager who always asked how we were, if things were meeting our expectation and he even bought us a drink one day. A really nice touch from the chap and really not something I would have expected.

The hotel is really well located in Palm Springs and is a short walk to the main street where this are a large number of restaurants and bars. We had a great time walking along and back at night after a meal and drinks. Ill hopefully get around to reviewing a number of the places that we ate in as there are some real gems Lulus and Peppers Thai spring to mind.

The food in the hotel seemed good. On days we couldnt be bothered going out we had the continental breakfast buffet and for $10 for as much as you could eat inc your drinks was actually really good value. The selection was good as well. Food at the pool was good and as always slightly overpriced but thats standard the world over for pool fare you can eat at your bed so no complaints.

The main bar Rocks is really nicely kitted out, outdoors has fire pits and comfy chairs. Service here though was hit and miss. When we got service the servers were like the rest of the staff, nice, welcoming and seemed happy to recommend drinks etc... however the bar itself seemed understaffed so you could be waiting sometime for the waiter to return for your next round. Not their fault really as there was to few staff and to serve the amount of guests.

The hotel has a very busy function area. This actually added to our holiday as you always get some conventioners having one to many drinks and can make for some mild entertainment at night!

Overall we had a great stay and would use this hotel again if we return to palm springs in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It was with great delight that we read your very comprehensive review of our hotel and services; thank you for sharing your thoughts and for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Palm Springs. We will celebrate your comments with our staff as well as coach on the areas you noted we could improve.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.