We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita's Restaurant

Margarita's Restaurant
1000 East Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA
760-778-3500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: i am in charge of planning dinners for the over 30 volunteers ata weekend dance workshop held at the Palm Springs ConventionCenter. We have eaten here every year since we started. Thefood is wonderful, the service is excellent and Christa, the assistant manager is THE BEST!!!! We had a problem and shevery efficiently and professionally solved the problem for us.Ask for Maggy to be your server, and be sure to thank Ernesto,the owner.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The sushi chef was excellent and provided great service. Our miso soup was delicious and out in a flash, sushi tasted fresh and was very flavorful all for a reasonable price. We were there for lunch and they had specials so I'm not sure what their dinner menu prices are. We spent $40 for 5 rolls and non alcoholic drinks. The only big knock on the place was our drink service, not the sushi chef's job unfortunately. Our drinks sat unfilled for a while until we notified the sushi guy to find the waitress to refill our drinks. I'd go back there and would recommend if you're having a craving for some desert sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    37
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I married on March 10, 2013. We chose Margarita as our reception because we love the ambiance and the food. The service was excellent, the Japanese dishes were great. We love how they arranged the flowers for me and our guests. The food presentation is awesome and CLEAN! :) The price is fair enough and we got what we paid for. Great place for weddings, birthdays, and other special events. My wedding guests were so happy and satisfied.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
“Ma·ri·a·chi Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Well, three stars mean average and I feel Margarita's Restaurant is definitely average. Except the price which I would put at a little above average.

We have been here twice in the last couple weeks and both times were definitely a solid "average". My wife and I went for lunch on a Thursday. We each had a regular Margarita and I ordered a small plate of seared Ahi Tuna and a cup of Albondiga soup. Both good. The Albondiga soup is a favorite of mine which I order whenever it's available. At Margarita's it was definitely "average".

We have such a good average lunch that we decided to go back for the brunch a couple weeks later. This restaurant has a good spread for brunch with a lot of good "average" food. They have a large menu with three general categories - Mexican, Seafood Pasta and Sushi. When you put all that together in a brunch you get a lot of choices of "average" tasting food. At $25.00 per person for a Champaign brunch the cost is pretty much… you guessed it… "Average".

We had forgotten one thing about the brunch at Margarita's. The have a team of wandering minstrels to annoy the diners. This was really painful to listen to and at times a bit scary. The team walks the isles and plant themselves right next to the table of innocent brunchers. Try to get to the buffet line with a team of howling minstrels blocking your way. Not happening. All you can do is cover your ears any pray for it to end.

There was one particularly frightening moment when the singers told everyone to dance. Now we have waiters, waitresses, busboys, several small children and the singers all dancing around in the isles as the diners are trying to carry plates of hot food back from the buffet line. I didn't see and collisions and I believe everyone survived.

All in all just an "Average" brunch at Margarita's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Average to Below Avgerage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pros: Friendly service, Mexican Food was Ok.
Cons: Margaritas were overly sweet or had way to much alcohol, there was inconsistency in their drinks.

Overall I would not go back to this place, the main dishes were OK (nothing to complain about) but the drinks were not great. Also the restaurants serves Mexican, Sushi and other seafood...it was a strange combination but I did not have it in me to try the sushi. The atmosphere was causal and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great margaritas, good food. Not really a fan of mexican food, but this was very good. Then had fun music playing and it was a very busy place, so a lot people must have agreed with me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita's Restaurant also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Margarita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.