We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dine and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Canyon

Painted Canyon
Palm Springs, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 65 Attractions in Palm Springs
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A variety of colors paint the rocks here, giving this unique location its name.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“dine and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

best view in the valley
food is great and reasonable before mid afternoon for best experience
if you golf do it early and relax after

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little slot canyon - easily accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We love slot canyons, and this one is nice. You can drive right to the beginning of the canyon (the last couple of miles is dirt, but our rental car had no trouble). Walk the dry wash for a bit and watch for the stone arrow or brown park sign for the left into ladder canyon if you want to start that way. We didn't have a lot of time, so we took the ladder canyon branch and walked until we left the slot canyon portion and then doubled back. This worked fine, but be aware the ladders can be a little bit of a challenge to navigate (we're 47 with only average fitness, but managed ok) - the ladders might be a problem if you are heavy or afraid of heights. It is probably easier to go up the ladders than down (i.e. go left into the slot canyon instead of staying right in the wider box canyon if you are doing the whole loop). If the ladders are too much, the rest of the canyon is still worth seeing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

It's a drive from Palm Springs...but a great hike. Not a leisurely stroll, hike but a real adventure hike. With some light rock climbing, ladder climbing, cool slot canyons, desert vistas.

The loop will take you about 3+ hrs and once you commit you need to complete the loop, so bring PLENTY of water. The trail is nicely marked with arrows made by other friendly hikers using rocks. (Which is a good think...because just as you think you are lost and going the wrong way, a friendly arrow points you in the right direction.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hike! Fun....remote area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in Palm Springs during Spring Break and it was by far the best Hike of all. The Canyon is situated about 45 miles south east of PS. When you get to the Canyon road, you will drive about 3 miles on dirt and sand. We had a Kia Soul and we made it without much trouble. It took us about 1 hour to get to the top of the Canyon (about 2 miles). You have to climb about 4 or 5 ladders. I have to say I was worried at first as my kids are 6 and 8 years old. We took our time and enjoyed very much the hike. We came back the same way we went up. You can actually do a loop around but it is another 4 miles. Coming down was a little more challenging. It is pretty steep to go down those ladders so be extra careful. Again, my kids have been on hike so many times they know what to do and can handle 4- 5 miles without any trouble. I would not recommend this hike with children less than 8.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even the Teenagers Liked It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Trying to get my teenage sons to go "hiking" is like trying to get them out of bed on a saturday before noon. They just don't see the point. However, this hike was more like an adventure and my curious little boys were back, crawling up the ladders and snaking through the slot canyons, listening to the echo of their voices and imagining all sorts of weird apocalyptic video games and movies that should be filmed here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Canyon also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Painted Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.